Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: The Bridge Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 17
1 2 >  >>  
monkeyfoot 12/11/2013 1:48:36 PM

This was one of the best episodes. The other two that come to mind that I really liked was the Asgardian staff one and the exploding Chitari disease. As most of us ave figured or hoped, the show has been finding its legs and has gotten better over the half season with this one tying into past sub-plots bears good fruit.

OMG! Skye is Coulson and May's love child!!!!! Well the actress Chloe Bennett is part Asian. :-)

Wiseguy 12/11/2013 2:38:16 PM

So Centipede knows that Coulson is something else. Great episode

Looking forward to see where it leads

ElBaz13 12/11/2013 5:44:21 PM

Damn May is hot!

Still kind of wish Peterson was an established Marvel character. Can't use Cage now but could have been someone like Rage.

jimvo99 12/12/2013 3:52:56 AM

My guess is Coulson is some sort of android and his memories got transferred, and both he and May are that girls parents.

Dazzler 12/12/2013 4:05:45 AM

You should downgrade the rating for missed opportunities from the Marvel U.  At least the Avengers showed up this time...in toy form.  I guess the whole series is about WTF happened to Coulson when he died.  Which seems to be working but still this feels nowhere like a Marvel show.  Might as well be another run of the mill CSI or other crime/cop show.  

marcd30319 12/12/2013 5:04:45 AM

 Rememeber the Moonlighting from the 1980s?

That show was largely built around the single premise of when uptight ex-model/detective agency owner Maddie Hayes and smart-ass detective David Addison will "go horizontal." After three fun and higly innovative seasons, they finally did the dirty deed, and the series limped along for one-and-a-half seasons to its cancellation.

Now we have Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., which is hardly innovative or ground-breaking but is tied into the greater Marvel Cinematic Universe. This tie-in function includes references to previous or current MCU films, as well as product placement. However, except for quickie cameos by Cobie Smulders and Samuel L. Jackson, it is highly unlikely that Robert Downey, Jr., Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Scarlett Johansson or Jemeny Renner will be slumming on the series.

The series is built around two premises. One is the mysterious ressurrection of Phil Coulson last seen mortally wounded in Marvel's The Avengers. The other premise is the rather mundane mystery about who are the parents of hacker-turned-probational agent Skye.

Of course, since this is a Joss Whedon production, like Firefly and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, you get a bickering team of quirky characters spouting snappy Wheson dialogue and acting our their own hidden agenda in conflict with the team's ongoing mission.  However, this will be you only so far

Like Moonlighting, once the underlying premises are resolved or teased intermittingly to the point of indifference, then what the point of Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. except to the only a MCU tie-in or hour-ling MCU product placement TV program?

If Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is to survive, it needs to step up its game, including stunt casting involving MCU actors.  

Regarding The Bridge episode, while well done, my reaction was, if you have a super-soldies problem and a major conspiracy, why not field the A-team super-soldier, Captain America?  Maybe tying it into the upcoming Winter Soldier film.

Ditto F.Z.Z.T., given the crisis onboard the aircraft, either Ironman or Thor could have rescued Jemma rather that Ward.

We TV viewers deserve better.

 

 

monkeyfoot 12/12/2013 7:27:03 AM

Marcd, The two premises you state are more like continuing mysteries in the show. If Skye's origins are revealed I don't think a major reason for the show's existence will be gone. Coulson's death and return is a more prominent one but even when its solved the show will go on. The premise of the show is  mainly to be an MCU tie-in with the format of an NCIS/CSI type show.

It does need to step up its game IMHO in terms of more intriguing plots and interesting subplots that carry through many episodes, such as the mystery of the Clairvoyant. I do think it has slowly improved since it began as the show finds its footing and decides how its going to execute its purpose.

My main complaint has always been its too kiddie friendly and light and needs to be more gritty and not only tie in some more Marvel stuff but also deal with real world sitiuations in a comic book style show format.  The way SHIELD is portrayed in the recent Captain America 2 trailer for example.

I don't think we deserve better. It's only a TV show. It's not like decent housing and education. But we can want better and I hope we get it.

gammenon 12/12/2013 8:55:22 AM

Yeah Marc30319...your post is similar to what I wrote a few weeks ago about the series up to that point.  I was talking to family members during Thanksgiving and we were all wondering why this show was made.  I mean, if I wanted to watch Heroes, I'd buy a few seasons of that on iTunes...or buy X-files episodes...or Buffy the Vampire Slayer stuff.  The good ratings of MAoS I feel are still part of the "Avengers" effect (the same goes for Iron Man 3).   The longer we get from that movie, we'll see which movie/series franchise can stand on its own merits.

With all of that said, I do think that this week's episode was pretty decent. 

dojen1 12/12/2013 9:56:22 AM

Of course it got poor ratings...it was the best episode of the show to date. NOW they have a story arc going that viewers can get invested in. Just who ARE Skye's parents? (I think May is her mother, personally) Where is the "thing" between Melinda May and Agent Ward going? What is the truth behind Coulson's resurrection? what do the bad guys seem to know about that that Coulson doesn't? And HOW do they know? This is just starting to get good.

Couple things: did anyone else enjoy seeing Simmons getting hot over Mike Peterson, and Fitz obvious jealousy? I wish people would stop complaining that Thor, Cap or Iron man don't swoop in during episodes. When the show was announced, we were told it took place in that universe, but wasn't going to feature a lot of Marvel superheroes. 

My advice is to quit bitching about what the show isn't, and try to relax and enjoy it for what it IS. If that's unacceptable to you...change the danged channel.  

dojen1 12/12/2013 10:07:09 AM

Of course it got poor ratings...it was the best episode of the show to date. NOW they have a story arc going that viewers can get invested in. Just who ARE Skye's parents? (I think May is her mother, personally) Where is the "thing" between Melinda May and Agent Ward going? What is the truth behind Coulson's resurrection? what do the bad guys seem to know about that that Coulson doesn't? And HOW do they know? This is just starting to get good.

Couple things: did anyone else enjoy seeing Simmons getting hot over Mike Peterson, and Fitz obvious jealousy? I wish people would stop complaining that Thor, Cap or Iron man don't swoop in during episodes. When the show was announced, we were told it took place in that universe, but wasn't going to feature a lot of Marvel superheroes. 

My advice is to quit bitching about what the show isn't, and try to relax and enjoy it for what it IS. If that's unacceptable to you...change the danged channel.  

1 2 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.