Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Girl in the Flower Dress Review - Mania.com



Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Mania Grade: B-

37 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Girl in the Flower Dress (Season 1, Episode 5)
  • Starring: Clark Gregg. Ming-Na Wen, Brett Dalton, Chloe Bennet
  • Written By: Brent Fletcher
  • Directed By: Jesse Bochco
  • Network: ABC
  • Studio: ABC Studios, Marvel Television, and Mutant Enemy
  • Series:

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Girl in the Flower Dress Review

Skyes secret is revealed

By Tim Janson     October 23, 2013
Source: Mania.com


Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Review
© Marvel Studios
So far, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has swung back and forth between comic book superhero action and espionage thriller.  “Girl in the Flower Dress” strikes an effective balance between both genres and gets back to some of the plot lines seen in the pilot episode.  A street magician in Hong Kong named Chan displays the ability to produce fire from his hands.  He’s approached by Raina (the woman in the flower dress of the title) who entices him enough that he takes her back to his apartment.  There she reveals her less than innocent intentions as men in fireproof suits capture Chan.

Coulson is contacted by a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent in Hong Kong who informs him that Chan’s whereabouts were leaked by the hacker group Rising Tide.  Suspicion immediately falls on Skye do to her ties to the group however she volunteers to try and track down the source of the leak herself.  Chan awakes in a laboratory where Raina offers to help him control and increase his powers, even giving him the nickname “Scorch” in true comic book style.  However Chan is little more than another experiment for the Extremis serum as the sinister group continues to try and stabilize the forum so its subjects do not explode as Mike Peterson did in the pilot.

As Coulson plans a rescue mission to free Chan, it’s exposed that Skye has been involved with another member of the Rising Tide named Myles Lydo, her past lover.  Skye’s dual loyalties are discovered and she and Lydo are taken into custody by Melinda May.  When interrogated, Skye divulges that her involvement with The Rising Tide was due to her searching for information about her parents for whom S.H.I.E.L.D kept a secret file.  Coulson agrees to help Skye locate her parents but also fits her with a bracelet this acts as an electronic tether but also prevents her from using electronic devices.  After the final break we see Raina meeting with a man in prison, telling him to make contact with someone known only as “the clairvoyant”.

This episode certainly was not aimed at the kiddies after “Scorch” uses his power to burn a woman alive turning her to ashes in seconds; didn’t quite see that one coming, at least to that graphic of a degree taking into account the 8:00pm time slot. After a few mainly self-contained episodes we get back to the Extremis/Centipede device.  While still not revealed as HYDRA it would seem to be leaning that way.  The reference at the end to the “Clairvoyant” could be any number of people in the Marvel Universe who have psychic powers, unless of course it turns out to be an original character.  My vote would go to Mentallo though since the character has S.H.I.E.L.D. and HYDRA connections.  And could the man in prison be The Fixer?  The Fixer was allied with Mentallo and he did bear a resemblance to the comic character.

Skye is continuing the proud tradition of the parents of characters in the Marvel Universe often having more shadowy backgrounds than the main characters themselves.  I thought Skye playing to Coulson’s sympathies about her parents far too contrived.  Why not just disclose this from the beginning?  Doing it earlier versus doing it now doesn’t give her character any more depth.  If she truly didn’t have any ulterior motives for wanting to join S.H.I.E.L.D. then this merely setup unneeded trust issues with the team.  Also a bit contrived was Chan’s transformation into a quiet, nice guy street performer into a crazed pyromaniac murderer.  I suppose you can chalk this up to the effects of the Extremis formula but it happened just too quickly and for the sole purpose of a climactic battle.

In short, the episode definitely advanced the show from point B to point C, but did so by hitting several potholes along the road.

Follow Mania on Facebook and Twitter. If work has you blocked out, download our app on iTunes for your iPhone and iPad.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 37
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
invisioner 10/23/2013 9:49:16 AM

Hydra, or A.I.M? could be either...

I am starting to get restless with this series, its just not grabbing me, and, while I am glad to see a review for it, where the HECK is the WALKING DEAD REVIEW????

Cimmerian666 10/23/2013 9:56:41 AM

 You guys can get as obscure and wishfulthinking as you want but none of these characters are going to have any connection to Marvel comics characters (oh, wait, Graviton...rushes to wikipedia to find out who that is...) . And I was wrong, Chitauri tech isn't the meteorite rocks of this show, any super power granting item featured in a Marvel blockbuster is.

ObiWannaJones 10/23/2013 10:48:29 AM

Not to be puritanical, but Disney/Marvel went a bit too far with Skye's romp in the sheets and gratuitous Victoria Secrets scene.  Who is this show being marketed to?  Obviously it is not families with young comic book fans.

I half expected the Angel collection commercial at the break, like they did with the Verizon commercial, which occured right after the really blatant brand insert.  The only thing the forgot was the on-screen arrow pointing at the verizon logo. .

fft5305 10/23/2013 11:04:38 AM

It was a bit gratuitous, but I don't think over the top. You didn't witness the romp or tons of flesh. Just a bra strap going over the shoulder. I was a bit surprised given the 8pm time slot, but there's far worse in other TV shows and commercials all the time.

My guess would be that Centipede is related to or a subsidiary of A.I.M.

I like the continued connection to the greater Marvel universe (the Extremis formula, the Steve Rodgers/Capt. America name drop). They mention it, but don't beat you over the head with it.

Btw, suspicion immediately falls on Skye due to her ties, not "do" to her ties... Just sayin'.

Cimmerian666 10/23/2013 11:06:01 AM

 That's because the corporate machine thing believes that sex and idiocy are the path to profit. It wasn't aimed at children and casual viewers as so many here wanted to believe. They genuinely think that simplistic storylines, a little sex, and references to summer blockbusters will secure an audience or at worst serve as commercials for for upcoming Marvel flicks. It's time to admit that this is crass marketing at it's worst and hope that Marvel disavows itself of it quickly and that Phase 2 and 3 don't have this ethos and continue to be director driven. I think Thor 2 and especially Cap 2 will be indicators of that. At the end of the day Marvel can blame it all on tv and write IM3 off as a fluke as long as the other movies get backon track.

monkeyfoot 10/23/2013 11:20:58 AM

I think Chan was extremely dumbass to stay in the lab with some people who forcibly kidnap him just for the promise of fame. But the flaws in his character also become self apparent when he went power mad and slaughters people in shocking incendiary style.

I was....very pleasantly suprised at the undies & hook-up scene as well. I also thought such things might not happen blatantly in the 8:00 family friendly style the show has so far been. But then I recalled that Disney also runs the ABC Family channel and both things often occur on that channel in the same time slot as well. So they actually didn't do anything more shocking than usual. Skye and Felicity from the Arrow show certainly prove each week they are the hottest female computer hackers on TV.

Each episode for me is better written than the last IMHO. More interesting character development and personal anguish was displayed in this one than any before. I've also wanted the series to become more mature in style and action and this episode has finally started on that path. With that and the unfolding Extremis/Centipede plot this is the first time I actually am looking forward to the next episode.

DarkXid 10/23/2013 11:45:24 AM

Chief demographic is 18-49.  We like a little sex, action and plot in our stories.  

Disney has become less prudish over the years and I'm sure this trend will continue.  I'm not saying it's okay...just, that seems to be the trend.  

I am starting to like this show a little more, but it's been rocky and the name dropping can get a little old.  This show needs to come into it's own despite the movie universe, and I don't hate the tie-ins as long as it follows in the plot of what is going on and the occasional showing up of 'bigger' names can be good -but too much and then it becomes "what's the point?"

For instance, Sam Jackson?  Yeah, he's awesomej but for the wife and me he was the only bright spot of the episode he showed up in -and becuase of that his appearence felt forced.   

We are hoping the episodes just get better and they lay down a thick tapestry of awesome so this show can have a life of its own.

Kaziklu 10/23/2013 11:59:39 AM

 This did seem more like a 10pm slot episode, but I enjoyed it. Again less involvment from Joss' brother. As long as Jed and Michelle stick to a behind the scenes role the show should hopfully pick up, if it's ratings don't fall too far. They dropped another half million viewers last night. 

almostunbiased 10/23/2013 1:08:09 PM

I thought it was pretty PG and nothing bad, though I too was surprised, but maybe more so that the character di that.  Episode was fine.

hanso 10/23/2013 1:30:29 PM

 I wasnt even going to watch it till u guys mentioned bras & panties.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS