Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Girl in the Flower Dress Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 37
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
invisioner 10/23/2013 9:49:16 AM

Hydra, or A.I.M? could be either...

I am starting to get restless with this series, its just not grabbing me, and, while I am glad to see a review for it, where the HECK is the WALKING DEAD REVIEW????

Cimmerian666 10/23/2013 9:56:41 AM

 You guys can get as obscure and wishfulthinking as you want but none of these characters are going to have any connection to Marvel comics characters (oh, wait, Graviton...rushes to wikipedia to find out who that is...) . And I was wrong, Chitauri tech isn't the meteorite rocks of this show, any super power granting item featured in a Marvel blockbuster is.

ObiWannaJones 10/23/2013 10:48:29 AM

Not to be puritanical, but Disney/Marvel went a bit too far with Skye's romp in the sheets and gratuitous Victoria Secrets scene.  Who is this show being marketed to?  Obviously it is not families with young comic book fans.

I half expected the Angel collection commercial at the break, like they did with the Verizon commercial, which occured right after the really blatant brand insert.  The only thing the forgot was the on-screen arrow pointing at the verizon logo. .

fft5305 10/23/2013 11:04:38 AM

It was a bit gratuitous, but I don't think over the top. You didn't witness the romp or tons of flesh. Just a bra strap going over the shoulder. I was a bit surprised given the 8pm time slot, but there's far worse in other TV shows and commercials all the time.

My guess would be that Centipede is related to or a subsidiary of A.I.M.

I like the continued connection to the greater Marvel universe (the Extremis formula, the Steve Rodgers/Capt. America name drop). They mention it, but don't beat you over the head with it.

Btw, suspicion immediately falls on Skye due to her ties, not "do" to her ties... Just sayin'.

Cimmerian666 10/23/2013 11:06:01 AM

 That's because the corporate machine thing believes that sex and idiocy are the path to profit. It wasn't aimed at children and casual viewers as so many here wanted to believe. They genuinely think that simplistic storylines, a little sex, and references to summer blockbusters will secure an audience or at worst serve as commercials for for upcoming Marvel flicks. It's time to admit that this is crass marketing at it's worst and hope that Marvel disavows itself of it quickly and that Phase 2 and 3 don't have this ethos and continue to be director driven. I think Thor 2 and especially Cap 2 will be indicators of that. At the end of the day Marvel can blame it all on tv and write IM3 off as a fluke as long as the other movies get backon track.

monkeyfoot 10/23/2013 11:20:58 AM

I think Chan was extremely dumbass to stay in the lab with some people who forcibly kidnap him just for the promise of fame. But the flaws in his character also become self apparent when he went power mad and slaughters people in shocking incendiary style.

I was....very pleasantly suprised at the undies & hook-up scene as well. I also thought such things might not happen blatantly in the 8:00 family friendly style the show has so far been. But then I recalled that Disney also runs the ABC Family channel and both things often occur on that channel in the same time slot as well. So they actually didn't do anything more shocking than usual. Skye and Felicity from the Arrow show certainly prove each week they are the hottest female computer hackers on TV.

Each episode for me is better written than the last IMHO. More interesting character development and personal anguish was displayed in this one than any before. I've also wanted the series to become more mature in style and action and this episode has finally started on that path. With that and the unfolding Extremis/Centipede plot this is the first time I actually am looking forward to the next episode.

DarkXid 10/23/2013 11:45:24 AM

Chief demographic is 18-49.  We like a little sex, action and plot in our stories.  

Disney has become less prudish over the years and I'm sure this trend will continue.  I'm not saying it's okay...just, that seems to be the trend.  

I am starting to like this show a little more, but it's been rocky and the name dropping can get a little old.  This show needs to come into it's own despite the movie universe, and I don't hate the tie-ins as long as it follows in the plot of what is going on and the occasional showing up of 'bigger' names can be good -but too much and then it becomes "what's the point?"

For instance, Sam Jackson?  Yeah, he's awesomej but for the wife and me he was the only bright spot of the episode he showed up in -and becuase of that his appearence felt forced.   

We are hoping the episodes just get better and they lay down a thick tapestry of awesome so this show can have a life of its own.

Kaziklu 10/23/2013 11:59:39 AM

 This did seem more like a 10pm slot episode, but I enjoyed it. Again less involvment from Joss' brother. As long as Jed and Michelle stick to a behind the scenes role the show should hopfully pick up, if it's ratings don't fall too far. They dropped another half million viewers last night. 

almostunbiased 10/23/2013 1:08:09 PM

I thought it was pretty PG and nothing bad, though I too was surprised, but maybe more so that the character di that.  Episode was fine.

hanso 10/23/2013 1:30:29 PM

 I wasnt even going to watch it till u guys mentioned bras & panties.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.