Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Turn Turn Turn Review - Mania.com



Agents of SHIELD Review

Mania Grade: A-

61 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Turn Turn Turn (Season 1, Episode 17)
  • Starring: Clark Gregg. Ming-Na Wen, Brett Dalton, Chloe Bennet, Elizabeth Henstridge, Bill Paxton, Saffron Burrows
  • Written By: Jed Whedon & Maurissa Tancharoen
  • Directed By: Vincent Misiano
  • Network: ABC
  • Studio: ABC Studios, Marvel Television, and Mutant Enemy
  • Series:

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Turn Turn Turn Review

Was this the Game Changer ABC Promised?

By Tim Janson     April 09, 2014
Source: Mania.com

***WARNING SPOLIERS***

The spoiler warning above is more sarcastic than anything because unless you placed yourself in the dome of silence this past week (and extra points if you GET that reference) you know it was damn near impossible to avoid spoilers about this week’s Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.  With the release of Captain America: The Winter Soldier, the internet and social media has been abuzz with rumors and spoilers regarding the tie-ins between the latest Marvel Comics film the latest episode of MAOS.  So was it the “game changer” that ABC promised or just a lot of hype?

This week picks up where last week left off…Agent May is being held at gunpoint by Coulson after her secret phone line was discovered by Fitz.  May discloses what we all suspected, that the line was a direct connection to Nick Fury so she could monitor Coulson and report back.  When Coulson has her call Fury though, a voice on the end tells her that he is dead!  Ward is locked up aboard the plane under suspicions that he might be working with the Clairvoyant and their plane has just been hijacked by remote control by Victoria Hand who orders her agents to kill everyone on board except for Coulson when the plane lands at The Hub.  You had to pick-up on and listen to what Hand said very closely.  

The first half of the show was like a game of tag as we moved from one red herring to the next in the quest to find out who was the real Clairvoyant.  I was waiting for Gary Moore to come out and ask for the real Clairvoyant to please stand up (and yes that’s another old reference).  Skye cracks a communication signal which reveals that S.H.I.E.L.D.’s arch foe HYDRA is behind everything. The plane lands in the hub under fire from S.H.I.E.L.D. agents.  Coulson, Fitz, Skye, May, Ward, and Agent Garrett (Paxton) are able to slip out of the plane.  While their group now concludes that Victoria Hand is part of HYDRA, Hand implicates Coulson as the one who has flipped.  Unfortunately Garrett overplays his hand here, insisting that they shoot Hand dead on the spot which of course catapults him to the top of the suspicion list.

In typical comic book villain style Garrett shoots off his mouth too much, revealing details about which he could not possibly know.  With his cover blown, Garrett and his men battle with Couslon, May and Fitz.  Garrett is apprehended and the Hub is safe, but we learn that several other S.H.I.E.L.D. bases have been taken over HYDRA.  Hand has Garrett transported to The Fridge and Ward volunteers to accompany her…which immediately sets off more alarms.  Aboard the plane, Ward kills two agents and then puts three bullets into Hand.

So was this the game changer that ABC hoped for?  I’m not sure it changed the game but had the rest of the season been as intense as the last several episodes I dare say the ratings would not have dropped each episode.  As I write this I have not seen the ratings for last night’s show but it would be a major disaster if the ratings don’t see an upturn after all of the promotion.

Garrett turning out to be HYDRA was not a surprise and that’s one issue I had…Paxton is so used to playing slimy characters that you just expect it.  So while the writers didn’t exactly hit a home run they are on third base with no outs.  One note to be aware of is that Skye downloaded all of the top secret data from the plane onto a hard drive and gave it to Ward.  There was no mention that it was ever returned to her so we must assume that Ward still has it and will turn it over to HYDRA superiors.  There are still plenty of questions to be answered but the show is going in the right direction.  And how cool was the HYRDA logo at the end!

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 61
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
gammenon 4/9/2014 2:10:53 PM

Great episode....I was hoping Hand would turn out to be Madam Hydra.  Ward took care of that expectation.

FerretJohn 4/9/2014 3:50:12 PM

 They said it tied in directly to Winter Soldier and they did not disappoint.  Great episode, with an ending I did not see coming.  BUT.... don't relax yet, nothing has ever been what it seemed in the cloak & dagger world of Nick Fury and SHIELD.  Part of me is wondering if Wards betrayal and Hands death is really what it looks like.

almostunbiased 4/9/2014 3:51:18 PM

I wasn't too surprised by anything that happened, but I do think it was written so we didn't really know for sure who and who wasn't Hydra.  I really liked the episode though I am a little disappointed by the ending.

Muenster 4/9/2014 4:20:39 PM

This show sucks. I've tried several times to try and like it, but it just too convoluted and poorly acted to enjoy.

GreatOne 4/9/2014 4:31:24 PM

Skye lived, so that was a huge downer.  Poorly written and executed "moment" between her and Ward ("Oh, you're banging May, but you LOVE me - yes, let's have coffee" - UGH!!).  Another idiot plot point - Ward's being in custody for shooting guy thought to be the Clairvoyant, thinking that he was a turncoat, but then allowed to escort the real Clairvoyant?  So no thought is given that he might help the real one escape?  And his shooting the other guy is just forgotten?  Dumb.

If the show is saved for a 2nd year, it'll be because CA:WS saved it, and nothing more.  Could not be more disappointed in this show.  It's like Fox is behind it, not Marvel.

rogue188 4/9/2014 5:11:06 PM

 I am pretty sure Ward is infiltrating Hydra.

tjanson 4/9/2014 5:43:52 PM

 If Ward is infiltrating HYDRA then he's really doing a job considering he killed 3 agents...

And Good God GreatOne...Skye lived what a downer?  did you REALLY think they would killer her?  smh

 

tjanson 4/9/2014 5:46:02 PM

 If Ward is infiltrating HYDRA then he's really doing a job considering he killed 3 agents...

And Good God GreatOne...Skye lived what a downer?  did you REALLY think they would killer her?  smh

 

ElBaz13 4/9/2014 6:27:11 PM

I read an interview with the showrunners Loeb and Bell (post last night's episode) and they said this was planned from the get go. They were in the loop with Marvel Studios (Cap 2 was being filmed when they were starting to put SHIELD together) so they knew all along this was going to happen.

I know a lot of fans complained with the lack of a Hydra presence, well, they had to wait for Cap 2 for the reveal. So Centipede, the Clairvoyant, they were all Hydra. They just didn't want to name them Hydra to spoil the movies' big plot twist.

Well done.

And the Ward turn was planned from the beginning. Brett Dalton was out of the loop until recently which made it cooler. I could also imagine Agent Tripp (Garrett's right hand man) also take over the Ward heavy role on the team. It would also add more ethnicity to the group.

As much as some thing Ward's turn is a ruse to get in Hydra, he did kill 3 agents. You saw them get hit and Hand bled. I'm guessing they will have him as a baddie and have Agent Tripp or Deathlok replace him as the team heavy.

Oh, and they can't kill Skye. My guess is she's Jessica Drew.

GreatOne 4/9/2014 6:39:35 PM

tjanson:  Yes, God is good.  I'm hoping against hope that they do the right thing and kill off a hated character that they clearly miscast and miswrote, and stop this silly nonsense of forcing her down our throats by making her the hub of the show through which all of the other plots/characters are run through.  I  acknowledge that the likelihood of the writers/producers doing the right thing and fixing the problem instead of doubling down isn't good, but what else are talkback shows if not for venting?  Believe me, if they somehow could make the character relevant (and teach her to act), I'd be happy, because that would make the show better.  But all I see is pre-drug addled Lindsay Lohan, and the way everyone becomes overwraught about her, she magically "knows kung fu," and can penetrate highly encrypted computers is just insulting.

rougue188: Agree with tjanson.  Simply no way he's infiltrating Hydra, barring a pathetic act of writing.  Sure, he didn't say, "Hail Hydra," and one would think that Paxton would know whether they were on the same team and act like it (unless, of course, pathetic writing).  And putting 3 bullets into Hand - if that's a fakeout, beyond ridiculous.  But I suppose they could be doing the old, "Ward will go undercover to uncover Hydra, and will shoot 3 agents with paintball guns to fake his way in).

I want to like this show in the worst way, which is why I'm still watching.  But it's getting harder to do.  Maybe once the Netflix shows get up and running we can start to see some crossovers, since theyre loathe to do it with the movie characters.  If Marvel thinks people are going to continue to watch this show with the characters they've given us (aside from Coulson and May), they're sadly mistaken.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS