Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Turn Turn Turn Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 61
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
GreatOne 4/9/2014 6:46:36 PM

ElBaz13:  Good post.  I would love it if Skye turns out to be Jessica Drew.  At least initially.  Still concerned about Chloe Bennet's ability to pull it off, but the way they're handling the character right now is disastrous.  Hope you're correct about Ward (and Tripp and Deathlok).  Presume Ward's wanting to talk with Skye before he turned was supposed to be a sentimental gut bench when the revelation occurred.  Fell flat and, again, seemed forced; another crappy attempt to manipulate our emotions.  Poor writing is my biggest problem with the show.

samson 4/9/2014 7:04:17 PM

 It was just okay for me. I could see most of the plot twist coming a mile away. The only thing that caught me by surprise was Hand not being a Hydra agent. Everything else, including Ward, was very obvious. Who couldn't see that after he shot the guy in the wheelchair, then saying he did it to protect Skye? That was sooo out of character it had to be a plot twist. And Paxton's character? Come on, it' Chet. Who would trust Chet? ...lol

With that said, it was still enjoyable because I like the Marvel Universe.and the show is getting better and better every week. All in all it wasn't bad. I'd give it a B.

blankczech 4/9/2014 8:05:31 PM

 I think the show still isn't getting the ratings they hoped for.  It's too focussed on a target audience of adolescent comic book reading males (of all ages).  They've got to make the show more accessible to a larger audience...add casual fans, females, people who have no idea who Jessica Drew is and guys who might be more inclined to watch a football game than a super hero movie (there's no football games on Tuesday nights).  I've read that during May Sweeps they plan to bring in Cobie Smulders as agent Maria Hill and have Nick fury show up in one of the final episodes to increase interest .

Eldogg42 4/9/2014 8:13:03 PM

 GreatOne: Way off i my opinion.  Skye isn't that much of a hatable character to me.  She's a typical Whedon Female character to draw in some of the non-fanboys. To make this a success, you need to hit other audiances.  As I tried to say in an earlier post, I saw Ward crossing over once he insisted that he take Garret, but I assumed he was doing it to infiltrate HYDRA.  But the three bullets to hand and killing the other two agents threw me for a loop.  As I said, thats a Whedon move.  Take a main character (Angel) switch him to evil and kill another main character (Giles GF).  Both those scenes are very monumental and strikes a tone about the show, that no one is safe.  The only way that Wards betrayal could be a work, is if Hand turns out to be a LMD.  But i think in the same interview that Elbaz13 read, they pretty much confirmed that she is dead and that Ward turned.

Mayhem101878 4/9/2014 8:52:20 PM

I've been watching the show from the pilot episode and haven't stopped. I'm still trying to figure out why it is that so many people have a huge hate of Skye. I enjoy her character she didn't just magically learn Kung-Fu this whole time she has been being trained by Ward to become an agent just because they haven't shown her entire training doesn't mean she hasn't been, and has far as her being able to penetrate high level computers goes, since day one she has been shown as a high level hacker. If people like Anonymous can hack into high level computers why can't she? Keep in mind this isn't just a Marvel show, it's also a Whedon show. I've yet to see a Whedon show that didn't take time to develop the characters. I know many people are wanting to see high level Marvel characters but if they were to do that instead we wouldn't give a crap about Ward turning or Mae reporting to Fury. We just have to be patient and know that Joss Whedon knows what he's doing when it comes to TV shows

Eldogg42 4/9/2014 9:24:52 PM

 There is no way you can say poor writing. You can say slow development, cause thats what Whedon does, he develops characters.  In that interview Elbaz mentioned, they've been planting the seeds that Ward was a traitor since the beginning.  Most of the haters here, just want to see big explosions with the A-List Avengers inevery episode.  Or some gimicy name drop in every conversation.  They spent the time to develop these characters so you don't need the "gimic", you can watch and enjoy an episode and get stoked every once in a while when an easter egg appears. Agree with Mayhem, Skye obviously has been training with Ward, and it has been established she IS that  type of high level hacker.  If people stayed with the show, they would of known that.  Instead they just come here to complain cause it isn't what they wanted.

WarCry 4/10/2014 5:54:55 AM

 The ratings for this week's episode were actually down from last week, so that's not good. On the other hand, ratings for EVERYTHING were down from last week, across the network boards, and all roughly by the same amount. I'm not sure what was going on that pushed everything lower, but it's certainly not isolated to this show.

lazarus 4/10/2014 6:03:22 AM

My god the naysayers are out. Seriously? I  guess you are the ones who think MOS was cutting edge awesome. SUPERMAN CAN KILL NOW....how cool is that?

Oh and here is a newsflash. It is not Marvel: Avengers and a SHIELD team. It is AGENTS of SHIELD.

About the world that goes on AROUND the super powered world. Give me a break. The fact they have gotten Samuel L to go along and the other cameos is shoiwing how much committment and dedication Marvel has to this endeavour. The ratings will pick up. Personally I think they need to move it to Wednesday. Get it off that comedy night and competing against American Idol.

As for the weak writing, well if you are better and think so I am sure Marvel would be interested in hiring you. But since I don't see any of you beating down the door....be quiet.

DarkJedi41 4/10/2014 6:04:03 AM

 I think they did this show a disservice by premiering it so early in the fall before CA:TWS. You can see now they were hampered by having to slowly bring along a story that lost too many people a long the way. I like the idea of what the show could be now, but I think they won't get the chance. @TJanson- so the ratings are in and they are down again to another series low. Is this the final blow or does ABC take a chance on a partial season 2? I think a lot of the people who checked out will like the direction now but it will be hard to get them back. 

monkeyfoot 4/10/2014 6:36:22 AM

Throughly enjoyed the episode. I was wondering about the timing of all these revelations. CA:WS has only been out a week and they gave away alot of the plot points such as Hydra existing, Captain America saving the day in the end, and Fury being "dead". If I hadn't seen the movie already I wouldn't want to have known those things beforehand. I think the movie is still good but the moviegoer would already know why things where going to happen but not the details.

Also the movie seems to take place in around a week of time maybe two but this episode is about one day. Events really felt rushed. I think it should have been stretched out to two or three episodes. But doing so many shocking things in an episode is the new way to keep people watching live as opposed to binging later. It has worked for shows like Scandal and Good Wife recently.

I know the movie didn't helped the show's ratings unfortunately but I'm hoping Disney still likes this as a fun filler in between movies and keeps it around. It is still noiw done in a moremature style that I first imagined but it has improved greatly.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.