Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Yes Men Review - Mania.com



Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Review

Mania Grade: A-

22 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Yes Men (Episode 15, Season 1)
  • Starring: Clark Gregg. Ming-Na Wen, Brett Dalton, Chloe Bennet, Elizabeth Henstridge, Jamie Alexander
  • Written By: Shalisha Francis
  • Directed By: John Terlesky
  • Network: ABC
  • Studio: ABC Studios, Marvel Television, and Mutant Enemy
  • Series:

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Yes Men Review

Saving Skye!

By Tim Janson     March 12, 2014
Source: Mania.com


Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Yes Men Review
© Marvel Entertainment
See! Now that is smart writing…distract us from the many questions last week’s episode raised by having a guest appearance by Asgard’s Lady Sif.  As we saw at the end of last week’s installment the beautiful Asgardian Lorelei (the younger sister of The Enchantress), has come to Earth to stir up trouble by seducing men to do her bidding.  We learn later that she escaped from her prison during the invasion of Asgard by the Dark Elf Malekith, giving the show a tie-in to the most recently released Marvel film.  Sif must place a magical collar around her neck to negate her powers and return her to Asgard.  Lorelei first enchants a biker gang but during a shootout with S.H.I.E.L.D. agents she seduces Agent Ward and the pair escape.

Coulson has been uneasy since Skye’s recovery from near-death after being injected by the alien drug.  Unable to get in touch with Nick Fury he desperately searches for answers as to what the strange blue being was in the tube in last week’s episode.  He questions Sif specifically about “blue” aliens she’s encountered and she mentions both the Kree and the Centauri.  Yondu, one of the original members of the Guardians of the Galaxy was from Centauri so there is that possible tie-in but the being did not have a red fin on his head.  Sif had also mentioned none of those races had ever come to Earth although they did battle against a Frost Giant invasion.  Now all this was likely to throw people off the track.  It still could be a Kree, but it could be a Centaurian…or it still could be an Atlantean.  Again, Sif said those alien races had never COME to Earth…but what if they were always here, such as in Atlantis…Sure looked way too small to be a frost giant.

Lorelei, with Ward’s aid, manages to get a board the S.H.I.E.L.D. airplane and also enchants Fitz who locks Sif inside the interrogation room and attempts to flush her off the plane.  Simmons and Skye trick Lorelei into entering the interrogation room where she and Sif throwdown…meanwhile Ward and Agent May are engaged in an even more intense fight.  Lorelei hit a sensitive spot with May by telling her that while she and Ward may be sleeping with each other, his heart is with another.  Sif’s battle with Lorelei was anti-climactic.  No way is Lorelei winning that battle.  May and Ward on the other hand was downright nasty and should have long term implications for both.  Coulson is through playing games and waiting for someone to get back to him with answers.  We could be seeing him and the rest of the team go rogue, or at least start skirting even more protocol to find out the secret behind the “guest house” and the strange creature inside.  But the most ominous event this week was the final scene in which we discover that May has been spying on Coulson and contacts an unnamed party to say “Coulson knows.”

One thing quite obvious is that this certainly wasn’t the ONLY such creature that S.H.I.E.L.D. has on ice.  If it was there would have been much more security.  The writers look to be on the same page and building this mystery up for a likely cliffhanger ending to season one.  I’m going to overlook some of the impracticalities this week like Lorelei and Ward escaping unnoticed from the shootout at the biker bar and Fitz’s all too easy repair of the Asgardian collar.  I mean…what was the point of having the collar get damaged in the first place only to have him fix it so it could be used later?  

The appearance of Sif seems to have had the desired result for ABC as the rating for last night’s ep was up 11% over last week’s.  The last scene with May is compelling to say the least.  We can guess that perhaps she was talking to Fury…but what if she wasn’t.  What if she is a double agent?  The mind boggles but THAT would be one hell of a twist! But in another scheduling blip that makes you scratch your head, it will not be another three weeks (April 1) until the next new episode.  Do these guys hate momentum or what?

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 22
1 2 3 >  >>  
ElBaz13 3/12/2014 4:55:36 PM

 Love it! This show is finally picking up.

The mere mention of the Kree is planting a seed for future MCU movies. GotG (Ronan), the Inhumans and Captain Marvel. 

Also just read on CBR that Glen Talbot will be showing up and played by Adrian Pasdar. 

Excelsior! 

Duckbeaver 3/12/2014 6:33:40 PM

 Gotta agree, that was a way better tie-in for Thor: The Dark World than the actual tie-in episode they did.  Wasn't just another "Hey, look!  An unknown artifact/piece of technology!  Let's lick it and see what happens"-type of story.  Proper superhero throw-downs with everymen stuck in the middle, a clear-cut threat and some more mystery.

(Sarcasm) Going out on a WILD limb here, but I'm gathering that Skye will turn out to be Ward's true love or whatever.  That's one secret the show's not really hiding all that well.

GreatOne 3/12/2014 7:25:43 PM

Agree that show is picking up, but still extremely annoyed with the poor writing.  I again go back to the way the characters are written to overreact to Skye’s near death. Blatant attempt to make a horse(bleep) character relevant to the show. From Maye’s beating the crap out of Ian Quinn and Coulson’s subsequent hints that he’d kill him if Skye died, to this episode’s overdramatic "If you had died I would have never forgiven him" crap from Ward. Just kill the character off already, for God’s sake. She’s completely unsalvageable. Skye must die.

And it was made clear several episodes ago that Maye and Ward were nothing more than f— buddies. So now all of the sudden she’s going to get jealous? And she’s going to give longing looks at the bed knowing that Ward was under the spell of a sorceress and not acting with free will? Please. Complete 180 degree turn for the character. Also, she’s obviously much older than Ward and there’s no hope for a long-term relationship; she’s going to be shocked he has feelings for someone in his age range?

It would have also been nice if they could have avoided the cliched, "It was an honor to fight alongside you" from Lady Sif at the end of the episode.

While I’m starting to actually enjoy the show, it would help if they had writers who (a) know how to write likeable characters, and (b) have actually been in a real relationship so they know how real people act in these situations instead of the "Parents’ Basement Fantasyland" tripe we’ve been getting.

 

GreatOne 3/12/2014 8:09:54 PM

I'll also add that I  don't care how bad-ass May is, when a guy as big and as skilled as Ward punches a woman the size of May, her jaw/cheek bone would be broken, and she'd have been knocked out (and don't get me started on the damage that Lorelei should have done to her).

ElBaz13 3/12/2014 8:16:36 PM

Did anyone pick up the fact Agent Ward was raped?

 

jimvo99 3/12/2014 9:07:44 PM

I really want to see how the aftermath of Winter Soldier affects the show. I wonder if some of them will show up on the movie, even if its for like a few seconds.

marcd30319 3/13/2014 4:35:39 AM

 A little bit of Lady Sif goes a long way!

BTW - A belated happy birthday to Jamie Alexander.  You go, girl!

 

 

makabriel 3/13/2014 5:40:58 AM

 @GreatOne.  A woman as bad-ass as May knows how to roll with punches.  Also, if you've watched either Thor movie, you'd know that's how they talk. 

 

Eldogg42 3/13/2014 5:55:57 AM

Great one@ to say the writing sucks is wrong.  I'll admit I (and most people) didn't like Sky at first, but that was because the whole first half of the season was setting this show up apart from the movies. Not just some commercial for them.  I think the writers have done a great job in creating characters you want to see grow as the show progresses.  Making Skye an 084, was a  great idea.  Plus it was obvious that they were always gonna go with the love triangle.  May's pretending she doesn't have feelings, and Ward's conflicted between Skye and Maye. MAye wasn't upset with Ward for the boot knocking with Lorelei, its that he likes Skye more ther her.

monkeyfoot 3/13/2014 6:58:06 AM

Best episode iof the series so far for me. Probably my second favorite was the beserker staff one. Both were full of action and had interesting guest stars, some good character development, and were linked into the Marvel movieverse.

Like ST:TNG it took most of the first season to find the proper way to create the series. I think this episode shows the series most fanboys and general audiences were expecting.

The Kree now seems the most likely explanation for the blue corpse than my thought it was Baron von Strucker from some Hydra/tesseract experiment. The fact that Coulson brought up the subject of aliens seems to confirm that.

For those who don't like Skye her being killed off is unlikely for the time being. I could tell from the beginning they were tailoring her for some mysterious secret and the  strange origin, the 084 status, and now the "Kree" infusion is confirming that. I bet the start of a reveal will begin in a season cliffhanger.

Fight choreography has greatly improved from the crappy fights that happened in the first episodes. And yes I agree that May should have been laid out dead from Lorelei's Asgardian strength blow. The out might be as stated above is that her top notch battle skills might have allowed her to roll with the punch.

I love me some Jaimie Alexander and I loved her appearance as Sif. But my only complaint might be that her performance was sort of one note. It was a permanent stoic Warrior Princess mode, even when Lorelai taunted her about Thor. It made me hesitate about still wanting her to be WW. The badassery part is easy. Diana would also need some subtlety.  I'm sure she's capable of more than Badass Girl but this episode wasn't written to allow it.

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS