Anime Reviews, Anime on DVD & Manga Reviews - Mania.com



LATEST ANIME/MANGA REVEWS


Results:    
Category:    
Details:



Showing items 1 - 25 of 14,862
1 2 3 4 >  >>  


The Wind Rises Blu-ray Review by Kimberly McCall, Critic
(November 19, 2014)    (anime)


Star Wars Rebels: Empire Day Review by Robert T. Trate, News Editor
(November 18, 2014)    (anime)


Mania Review: Big Hero 6 by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(November 07, 2014)    (anime)
Someone wiser than me once noted that superheroes define this era in moviemaking the same way gangster films did in the 1930s and musicals did in the 1950s. Walt Disney already owns the biggest superhero franchise in the world right now, and it’s a testa

Halloween Special Feature: Mad Monster Party by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(October 23, 2014)    (anime)
Most people associate Rankin-Bass animation with the holiday season, thanks to their Rudolph and Frosty TV specials. But they didn't limit their efforts to Christmas. Mad Monster Party, a feature-length homage to all things that go bump in the night, makes

Star Wars Rebels: Fighter Flight Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(October 21, 2014)    (anime)
We had a bit of fun this week on Star Wars Rebels as Ezra (Taylor Gray) and Zeb (Steven Blum) get into hot water with Hera (Vanessa Marshall). After a petty squabble of who saved who’s life, Hera sends these two out to pick up some supplies. She throws

Mania Review: The Book of Life by Rob Vaux, Columnist and Critic
(October 18, 2014)    (anime)
Guillermo Del Toro has always been more than a purveyor of horror films, which is why his name always elicits attention. The Book of Life has his stamp all over it, even though he basically just angeled the project for co-writer and director Jorge Gutierre

Star Wars Rebels: Droids in Distress Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(October 15, 2014)    (anime)


Star Wars Rebels: Spark of the Rebellion Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(October 03, 2014)    (anime)


The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad/Fun and Fancy Free Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(September 02, 2014)    (anime)


Toy Story of Terror Bu-ray Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(August 18, 2014)    (anime)


Batman: Assault on Arkham Blu-ray Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(August 12, 2014)    (anime)


Mania Review: Planes: Fire and Rescue by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)    (anime)
“Disposable” never applied more aptly to a movie than it does to Planes: Fire and Rescue. Believe it or not, that’s actually a big step up from the first Planes, which wore its cheapness like a badge of honor. This one doesn’t actually have the gal

The LEGO Movie Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(June 23, 2014)    (anime)


Mania Review: How to Train Your Dragon 2 by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(June 13, 2014)    (anime)
Grown-ups. The secret is making them grown-ups. It’s a rather amazing concept, though Toy Story 2 and 3 did the same thing on a slightly subtler scale. Age your animated characters from childhood to adulthood, and let the drama write itself. That concept

Son of Batman: Blu-Ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(May 10, 2014)    (anime)


Mania Review: Rio 2 by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(April 10, 2014)    (anime)
Did you know that the original Rio grossed over $500 million? Neither did I. I mention that because it’s the only really memorable thing about the first film and the only possible justification for a second. The original movie was slight, but serviceable

Avengers Confidential: Black Widow and The Punisher Blu-Ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(March 25, 2014)    (anime)
While Marvel has enjoyed tremendous success with their big screen theatrical films, they have lagged in recent years when it comes to animated features. Marvel had partnered with Lionsgate to produce eight, direct-to-video films from 2006 – 2011. In 20

Star Wars: The Clone Wars - The Lost Missions Review Part 2 by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(March 18, 2014)    (anime)


Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Lost Missions Review Part 1 by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(March 12, 2014)    (anime)
Star Wars: The Clone Wars - The Lost Missions have arrived. Now the choice, for some, is to watch them one at a time. This way, they can be savored and enjoyed. The other option is to binge watch them all at once, thus getting answers to all those question

Mania Review: Mr. Peabody and Sherman by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(March 10, 2014)    (anime)
Mr. Peabody and Sherman arrives as huge surprise: looking for all the world like another cynical studio rehash and ending up as… well, as a cynical studio rehash, but one that abounds with real affection for its subject. The time-traveling dog and his ad

Justice League: War Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(March 01, 2014)    (anime)
At one point during Justice League: War, Green Lantern turns to Batman and calls him a “phenomenal douchebag”.  Welcome to DC Comics’ New 52 Universe where Green Lantern is an arrogant A-hole, Shazam is an obnoxious teenager, Superman leers at Wonde

Mania Review: The Wind Rises by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(February 21, 2014)    (anime)
(Disclosure alert: I saw this film with subtitles, so I can’t comment on the quality of the English dubbing.) I’m a few days from my screening of The Wind Rises and I still don’t know what to think of it. It doesn’t quite rank among the best of di

Mania Review: The Lego Movie by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(February 09, 2014)    (anime)
Anyone surprised by the success of The Lego Movie probably hasn’t seen any of their Star Wars shorts or the delightful video games that preceded them. An unlikely conglomeration of the ubiquitous yellow bricks and a Star Wars game produced a hit, which b

Mania Review: The LEGO MOVIE by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(February 07, 2014)    (anime)
Being that I am Mania’s resident Toy Maniac (see column here), I thought I would give Warner Brothers’ The LEGO Movie a whirl. My history with LEGOs has never been too extensive. The reason for that is how expensive they are. Trust me, if I had the mon

Mania Review: Frozen by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(November 28, 2013)    (anime)
I think it’s clear that we’re in the midst of a second Disney animated Renaissance, albeit slightly more modest than the first one which began with 1989’s The Little Mermaid. With John Lasseter’s arrival from Pixar, the House of Mouse has shown an

1 2 3 4 >  >>