Marvel & DC Comic Book Reviews - Mania.com



LATEST COMICS REVEWS


Results:    
Category:    
Details:



Showing items 1 - 25 of 2,117
1 2 3 4 >  >>  


The Strain: The Third Rail Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(September 22, 2014)


The Strain: Loved Ones Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(September 15, 2014)


Don Heck: A Work of Art - Book Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(September 15, 2014)
It saddens me to admit that when I started reading and collecting comic books in the early 70s I was not a fan of Don Heck’s. This was an era that saw many hot young talents like Barry Smith, Jim Starlin, Frank Brunner, Dave Cockrum, Berni Wrightson, Pa

Captain America: The Winter Soldier Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(September 11, 2014)


The Strain: Creatures of the Night Review by Kimberly McCall , TV Critic
(September 01, 2014)


Mania Review: Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(August 22, 2014)
The original Sin City left me surprisingly cold. It adhered so closely to Frank Miller’s original comic vision that it forgot to be cinematic. It was like one of those “motion comics” they occasionally try to sell us where they deliver CGI-motion ver

The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents Macbeth Review by Chuck Francisco, Columnist and Critic
(August 20, 2014)


The Summer of '84: Sheena by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(August 19, 2014)
Late at night, when the lights go out, film lovers secretly give a prayer of thanks for movies like Sheena. They’re so bad – so epically, fundamentally wrong-headed – that their very existence on-screen constitutes a minor miracle. We condemn them wi

The Strain: Occultation Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(August 18, 2014)


The Graveyard Book Volume One Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(August 18, 2014)


Batman: Assault on Arkham Blu-ray Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(August 12, 2014)


The Strain: Runaways Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(August 11, 2014)


Mania Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(August 08, 2014)
The Internet gets a little hysterical sometimes. Take, for instance, the significant kerfuffle regarding the latest reboot of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Someone (we won't say who, but is initials are "Michael Bay") made some vague promises about taking

The Strain: It's Not for Everyone Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(August 04, 2014)


Toy Review: Guardians of the Galaxy from Hasbro by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(July 31, 2014)
It is a perfect blending of properties. We have characters with a rich comic book history. We have an incredible movie that will dazzle and mystify audiences. Finally, we have a line of toys that will help kids carry on the story of these Guardians of the

Mania Review: Guardians of the Galaxy by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 31, 2014)
The Marvel Cinematic Universe has a rhythm all its own, owing to its unprecedented success and the uniquely open-ended nature of its source. As such, it has the luxury of pacing itself. Not every movie can knock the ball out of the park like The Winter Sol

The Strain: Gone Smooth Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(July 28, 2014)


The Strain: The Box Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(July 21, 2014)


The Strain: Night Zero Review by Kimberly McCall , TV Critic
(July 14, 2014)


Book Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History by Kimberly McCall, Contributor
(July 11, 2014)
You don't have to be an art lover to appreciate Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History. I actually found my inner kid enjoying it far more than my adult artist. At first, I was afraid I was opening a poor attempt at a concept art book ab

The Summer of '84: Conan the Destroyer by Rob Vaux, Manua Critic
(June 30, 2014)
The original Conan the Barbarian displayed a fiendish paradox. It was geared towards adolescent boys, but the crux of its appeal – gratuitous violence and lots of boobies – barred those self-same boys from entering the theater. In an era where Netflix

Mania Review: Snowpiercer by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(June 27, 2014)
I’m sure everyone is expecting a Transformers review, and we’ll have one presently, but we wanted to wait on it a bit… mostly because of the superior film opening opposite it. Snowpiercer deserves your money infinitely more than Michael Bay’s lates

The 25th Anniversary of Batman by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(June 23, 2014)
We're largely focused on 30th anniversary retrospectives around here, but today we're going to make an exception. 25 years ago, the world saw the release of Tim Burton's Batman: a multi-jillion-dollar-grossing, product-tie-in-from-hell, every-teenager-in-A

Mania Review: X-Men: Days of Future Past by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(May 23, 2014)
I'm a little bit in awe of Days of Future Past, though not entirely for reasons of stand-alone quality. To be sure, it's a terrific piece of entertainment: not quite as strong as First Class or the latest Wolverine, but still marking a welcome return to th

Arrow: Unthinkable Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(May 15, 2014)


1 2 3 4 >  >>