Reviews - Mania.com



LATEST MANIA REVEWS


Results:    
Category:    
Details:



Showing items 1 - 25 of 22,879
1 2 3 4 >  >>  


Mania Review: Hercules by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 26, 2014)
You’d be hard-pressed to find anyone not at least a little interested in seeing The Rock play Hercules. In terms of casting, it’s as absolute a no-brainer as one can imagine, and even at its worst, the concept promises a little cheesy sword-and-sandal

Mania Review: Lucy by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 25, 2014)
Lucy is either the dumbest smart film or the smartest dumb film I’ve ever seen. I don’t think it would be quite as fabulous if it were anything else. Only Luc Besson could conceive of such a wild ride, crafted in the manner of high-end cheese, then sla

24: Live Another Day: 10:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m. Review by Jessica Bauer, BlackBeltMama
(July 24, 2014)


Book Review: World Gone Wild: A Survivor's Guide to Post-Apocalyptic Movies by Chuck Francisco, Columnist and Critic
(July 23, 2014)


Book Review: Planet of the Apes Saga: The Poster Collection by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(July 23, 2014)


Book Review: Planet of the Apes Saga: The Poster Collection by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(July 23, 2014)


The Summer of '84: Electric Dreams by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 23, 2014)
No one born before the mid-1980s can possibly understand how terrifying home computers were at the time. No social change as fundamentally transformative as the computer revolution takes place without spooking the herd at least a little bit, and Hollywood

The Summer of '84: Electric Dreams by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 23, 2014)
No one born before the mid-1980s can possibly understand how terrifying home computers were at the time. No social change as fundamentally transformative as the computer revolution takes place without spooking the herd at least a little bit, and Hollywood

Book Review: Chasers of the Wind by Chuck Francisco, Columnist and Critic
(July 22, 2014)


The Summer of '84: Revenge of the Nerds by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 22, 2014)
Nostalgia can be a tricky thing. Case in point: looking forward to re-experiencing a film you haven’t seen in twenty-five years, only to realize in one ghastly moment why you took a quarter century to get around to it again. Revenge of the Nerds is exact

The Summer of '84: Revenge of the Nerds by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 22, 2014)
Nostalgia can be a tricky thing. Case in point: looking forward to re-experiencing a film you haven’t seen in twenty-five years, only to realize in one ghastly moment why you took a quarter century to get around to it again. Revenge of the Nerds is exact

The Summer of '84: The Neverending Story by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 21, 2014)
I didn’t realize that this film was about grief when I first saw it at the tender age of 12. Back then, it was about luck dragons! And racing snails! And a lonely kid (Barrett Oliver) who discovers the coolest book in the whole wide world! But even then,

The Summer of '84: The Neverending Story by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 21, 2014)
I didn’t realize that this film was about grief when I first saw it at the tender age of 12. Back then, it was about luck dragons! And racing snails! And a lonely kid (Barrett Oliver) who discovers the coolest book in the whole wide world! But even then,

The Strain: The Box Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(July 21, 2014)


The Strain: The Box Review by Kimberly McCall, TV Critic
(July 21, 2014)


Mania Review: Planes: Fire and Rescue by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)
“Disposable” never applied more aptly to a movie than it does to Planes: Fire and Rescue. Believe it or not, that’s actually a big step up from the first Planes, which wore its cheapness like a badge of honor. This one doesn’t actually have the gal

Mania Review: Planes: Fire and Rescue by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)    (anime)
“Disposable” never applied more aptly to a movie than it does to Planes: Fire and Rescue. Believe it or not, that’s actually a big step up from the first Planes, which wore its cheapness like a badge of honor. This one doesn’t actually have the gal

Mania Review: The Purge: Anarchy by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)
I want to kill that asshole. I want that fucker dead. The jerk who cut me off. That creep down the hall. My boss. My ex. That liberal sissy. That Tea Party lunatic. I’d make him pay. I’d make them all pay. Just one day is all I ask…

The Summer of '84: The Muppets Take Manhattan by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 15, 2014)
The most interesting thing about The Muppets Take Manhattan is the name on the directing credits. Jim Henson’s longtime creative partner Frank Oz took over the reins for the first time (though he co-directed 1982’s The Dark Crystal with Henson), which

The Summer of '84: The Last Starfighter by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 14, 2014)
The late Gene Siskel once opined of The Last Starfighter, “of all the Star Wars ripoffs out there, this one is the best.” It sounds like a backhanded compliment, but it actually proves to be the only praise that matters. The film took the Star Wars for

The Strain: Night Zero Review by Kimberly McCall , TV Critic
(July 14, 2014)


The Strain: Night Zero Review by Kimberly McCall , TV Critic
(July 14, 2014)


Book Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History by Kimberly McCall, Contributor
(July 11, 2014)
You don't have to be an art lover to appreciate Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History. I actually found my inner kid enjoying it far more than my adult artist. At first, I was afraid I was opening a poor attempt at a concept art book ab

Book Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History by Kimberly McCall, Contributor
(July 11, 2014)
You don't have to be an art lover to appreciate Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History. I actually found my inner kid enjoying it far more than my adult artist. At first, I was afraid I was opening a poor attempt at a concept art book ab

Mania Review: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 10, 2014)
When they do science fiction right, it takes the breath away. Even if you’re the sequel to a surprisingly effective reboot of a franchise whose origins are 40-plus years in the rearview mirror. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes demonstrates how much potenti

1 2 3 4 >  >>