Reviews - Mania.com



LATEST MANIA REVEWS


Results:    
Category:    
Details:



Showing items 26 - 50 of 22,886
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  


Mania Review: Planes: Fire and Rescue by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)
“Disposable” never applied more aptly to a movie than it does to Planes: Fire and Rescue. Believe it or not, that’s actually a big step up from the first Planes, which wore its cheapness like a badge of honor. This one doesn’t actually have the gal

Mania Review: Planes: Fire and Rescue by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)    (anime)
“Disposable” never applied more aptly to a movie than it does to Planes: Fire and Rescue. Believe it or not, that’s actually a big step up from the first Planes, which wore its cheapness like a badge of honor. This one doesn’t actually have the gal

Mania Review: The Purge: Anarchy by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 18, 2014)
I want to kill that asshole. I want that fucker dead. The jerk who cut me off. That creep down the hall. My boss. My ex. That liberal sissy. That Tea Party lunatic. I’d make him pay. I’d make them all pay. Just one day is all I ask…

The Summer of '84: The Muppets Take Manhattan by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 15, 2014)
The most interesting thing about The Muppets Take Manhattan is the name on the directing credits. Jim Henson’s longtime creative partner Frank Oz took over the reins for the first time (though he co-directed 1982’s The Dark Crystal with Henson), which

The Summer of '84: The Last Starfighter by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 14, 2014)
The late Gene Siskel once opined of The Last Starfighter, “of all the Star Wars ripoffs out there, this one is the best.” It sounds like a backhanded compliment, but it actually proves to be the only praise that matters. The film took the Star Wars for

The Strain: Night Zero Review by Kimberly McCall , TV Critic
(July 14, 2014)


The Strain: Night Zero Review by Kimberly McCall , TV Critic
(July 14, 2014)


Book Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History by Kimberly McCall, Contributor
(July 11, 2014)
You don't have to be an art lover to appreciate Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History. I actually found my inner kid enjoying it far more than my adult artist. At first, I was afraid I was opening a poor attempt at a concept art book ab

Book Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History by Kimberly McCall, Contributor
(July 11, 2014)
You don't have to be an art lover to appreciate Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History. I actually found my inner kid enjoying it far more than my adult artist. At first, I was afraid I was opening a poor attempt at a concept art book ab

Mania Review: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 10, 2014)
When they do science fiction right, it takes the breath away. Even if you’re the sequel to a surprisingly effective reboot of a franchise whose origins are 40-plus years in the rearview mirror. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes demonstrates how much potenti

24: Live Another Day: 9:00 p.m.-10:00 p.m. Review by Jessica Bauer, BlackBeltMama
(July 09, 2014)
This week starts with President Heller (William Devane) and his cabinet watching the carnage of the Chinese air craft carrier explosion. As Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland) and Agent Kate Morgan (Yvonne Strahovski) continue to take heavy fire, Kate aims for

The Raid 2 Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and CCritic
(July 05, 2014)


The Raid 2 Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and CCritic
(July 05, 2014)


Mania Review: Life Itself by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 04, 2014)
Roger Ebert was a hero of mine (try to contain your surprise), but it was only in the waning years of his life that the full breadth of the man become publicly apparent. A philosopher, a humanitarian and a writer of breathtaking skill, he and his late par

Mania Review: Deliver Us from Evil by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 04, 2014)
Exorcism movies, it must be noted, are surprisingly common. And with one glorious exception, they don’t usually come off very well. Deliver Us from Evil can’t escape the clichés and silliness that the subgenre inevitably holds, though for a while, dir

Mania Review: Earth to Echo by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 02, 2014)
Earth to Echo suffers from the problems you might expect: namely, adhering to the E.T. formula a little too closely for its own good. It also uses found footage techniques, which means you should probably pack your Dramamine. Combining these two ideas make

Book Review: The Dark Between the Stars by Chuck Francisco, Columnist and Critic
(July 02, 2014)


24: Live Another Day: 8:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m. Review by Jessica Bauer, BlackBeltMama
(July 01, 2014)


PENNY DREADFUL: Grand Guignol Review by Jarrett Kruse, TV Critic
(June 30, 2014)


The Summer of '84: Conan the Destroyer by Rob Vaux, Manua Critic
(June 30, 2014)
The original Conan the Barbarian displayed a fiendish paradox. It was geared towards adolescent boys, but the crux of its appeal – gratuitous violence and lots of boobies – barred those self-same boys from entering the theater. In an era where Netflix

The Summer of '84: Conan the Destroyer by Rob Vaux, Manua Critic
(June 30, 2014)
The original Conan the Barbarian displayed a fiendish paradox. It was geared towards adolescent boys, but the crux of its appeal – gratuitous violence and lots of boobies – barred those self-same boys from entering the theater. In an era where Netflix

The Summer of '84: Conan the Destroyer by Rob Vaux, Manua Critic
(June 30, 2014)
The original Conan the Barbarian displayed a fiendish paradox. It was geared towards adolescent boys, but the crux of its appeal – gratuitous violence and lots of boobies – barred those self-same boys from entering the theater. In an era where Netflix

Mania Review: Transformers: Age of Extinction by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(June 28, 2014)
The Transformers movies present an eternal conundrum for me, one I’ve grappled with three times before and return again for a fourth. Rarely has criticism been more irrelevant that it has with this franchise. Look at the film’s Rotten Tomatoes page if

In the Blood: Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(June 27, 2014)


In the Blood: Blu-ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(June 27, 2014)


<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>