Anime Reviews, Anime on DVD & Manga Reviews - Mania.com



LATEST ANIME/MANGA REVEWS


Results:    
Category:    
Details:



Showing items 26 - 50 of 1,952
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  


Mania Review: The LEGO MOVIE by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(February 07, 2014)    (anime)
Being that I am Mania’s resident Toy Maniac (see column here), I thought I would give Warner Brothers’ The LEGO Movie a whirl. My history with LEGOs has never been too extensive. The reason for that is how expensive they are. Trust me, if I had the mon

Mania Review: Frozen by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(November 28, 2013)    (anime)
I think it’s clear that we’re in the midst of a second Disney animated Renaissance, albeit slightly more modest than the first one which began with 1989’s The Little Mermaid. With John Lasseter’s arrival from Pixar, the House of Mouse has shown an

Mania Review: Free Birds by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(November 01, 2013)    (anime)
What a weird little movie this is. Not quite creative enough to be an act of warped genius, too corporate to seize the mantle of real imagination, Free Birds nonetheless makes its mark with a outside curve ball that states definitively "you ain't gonna see

The Many Adventures of Winnie The Pooh Blu-ray Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist and Critic
(September 05, 2013)    (anime)
Having just recently turned two years old in 1977, The Many Adventures of Winnie The Pooh would have been an ideal film for me. If only we had the technology and screening opportunities that we do now. My parents needed their night off and probably wouldn

The Summer of '83: Fire and Ice by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(August 26, 2013)    (anime)
Conan the Barbarian created something of a dilemma for Hollywood's evil overlords. Its hard R rating was part of its appeal, but it also kept a huge portion of the marketplace -- namely prepubescent boys -- from plopping down their hard-earned milk money.

BEWARE THE BATMAN: TOXIC REVIEW by Johnny Destructo, Contributing Writer
(August 21, 2013)    (anime)
Whoa-Ho-Hey, Bruce is making out with a gal named Sapphire! Way to go Brucie! Wait. Why is Bruce wearing that uniform? Is he a security guard? Simon Stagg used to be Bruce's boss? What is this, a flash-back? Alternate universe Bruce Wayne?

Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox Blu-Ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(August 16, 2013)    (anime)
Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox is the 17th DC Comics animated film from Warner Brothers and is based on the “Flashpoint” storyline written by longtime Flash scribe Geoff Johns. While it’s titled a Justice League film, that’s more for marke

BEWARE THE BATMAN: BROKEN Review by Johnny Destructo, Contributing Writer and Comic Geek
(August 14, 2013)    (anime)
Like most episodes of this show, there is the ongoing plot thread, dealing with Tatsu and her shenanigans, woven through a plot featuring a freak-of-the-week villain, in this case: Humphrey Dumpler.

BEWARE THE BATMAN: TESTS Review by Johnny Destructo, Contributing Writer
(August 01, 2013)    (anime)
Ok, so there are two plots interweaving through the majority of this episode. One revolves around Bruce and Alfred testing (OMG that's the name of the episode!) Tatsu Yamashiro, aka Katana, to see if she would make an appropriate "helper" aka sidekick.

BEWARE THE BATMAN: SECRETS Review by Johnny Destructo, Contributing Writer
(July 23, 2013)    (anime)
As a long time comic book fan, this show is a puff of fresh air. I really enjoy the new angles that this show is bringing to the Batman mythos, as well as the exploration of some of the lesser known characters. Last episode focused on the Grant Morrison ch

BEWARE THE BATMAN: HUNTED Review by Johnny Destructo, TV and Comic Critic
(July 15, 2013)    (anime)
I have no problems with changes in continuity, so let's just get that over with right off the bat. Oh god. That pun was definitely not intended. Unless you want it to be intended. I desire your love and acceptance. But if you are looking for a show that is

Mania Review: Despicable Me 2 by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(July 03, 2013)    (anime)
I enjoyed the first Despicable Me as a mildly effective babysitting movie; I thought its world was too unformed and its scenario too shopworn, but I loved its grumpy villain-made-good Gru (voiced by Steve Carell) and his three adorable charges. Now comes t

Mania Review: Monsters University by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(June 21, 2013)    (anime)
I always thought of the original Monsters Inc. as second-tier Pixar: a good film, but not quite up to the same standards as Toy Story or Finding Nemo. Now that second-tier Pixar has become the norm, I find myself warming to Monsters University more than I

My Neighbor Totoro and Howls Moving Castle Blu-ray Review by Kimberly McCall, Contributing Writer
(June 17, 2013)    (anime)
I suppose it is fair to say that I will never turn down the opportunity to watch a Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away, Ponyo) animated film. They always consist of imaginative tales with bountiful heart and adventure. The problem is, almost all of these magical

Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes Unite Blu-Ray Review by Tim Janson, Columnist and Critic
(May 27, 2013)    (anime)
A couple of weeks ago I reviewed the dreadful new DC animated film Superman: Unbound which was definitely one of the worst DC animated films yet. While Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes Unite doesn’t technically qualify as a DC Comics release, it was vastl

Mania Review: Epic by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(May 24, 2013)    (anime)
Be careful what you wish for. After the second – and deeply unfunny – Hangover copied the hysterical original beat for beat, disgruntled fans demanded something new for the third one. Now that, too, has been revealed as a hollow sham: the franchise has

TEEN TITANS GO! LEGENDARY SANDWICH/PIE BROS Review by Johnny Destructo, Critic and Comic Geek
(May 01, 2013)    (anime)
Oh man, this is difficult. I am at a loss for words, which is a rarity, so I'm just going to be as blunt as I can. This show is bad. Not like Michael Jackson's BAD, which at the time actually meant good, or cool. This show is terrible. Not only is it painf

A Monster in Paris Blu-ray Review by Kimberly McCall, Critic
(April 24, 2013)    (anime)
With all the exciting spring releases, it was easy to miss a little French film titled, “A Monster in Paris.” Personally, I make it a point to keep an eye out for the less publicized gems that occasionally slip through all the hype. Being both a foreig

Mania Review: The Croods by Rob Vaux, Mania Critic
(March 22, 2013)    (anime)
You won’t hate yourself for sitting through The Croods. It doesn’t shame cinema by its existence, it won’t turn your children into deviant sociopaths (unless they were that way already) and its lessons, while trite and one-note, certainly merit atten

YOUNG JUSTICE INVASION: ENDGAME Review by Johnny Destructo, Critic and Comic Geek
(March 19, 2013)    (anime)
"Is there nothing MORE you would like to *clears throat* …offer The Tribunal, before we reach a verdict?"

YOUNG JUSTICE INVASION: SUMMIT Review by Johnny Destructo, Critic and Comic Geek
(March 12, 2013)    (anime)
The Reach and The Light have a meet-up and talk. A lot. And then Fight. A lot.

YOUNG JUSTICE INVASION: INTERVENTION Review by Johnny Destructo, Critic and Comic Geek
(March 07, 2013)    (anime)
An episode written by Peter David? Yup, this is gonna be good.

YOUNG JUSTICE INVASION: THE HUNT Review by Johnny Destructo, Critic and Comic Geek
(February 27, 2013)    (anime)
Woah. Talk about taken off-guard. Holy Hannah! I've gained some respect for a character that until now, I've found quite annoying. But we'll get to that in a bit.

YOUNG JUSTICE INVASION: COMPLICATIONS Review by Johnny Destructo, Critic and Comic Geek
(February 19, 2013)    (anime)
OooBOY this review is going to be a difficult one to write. It's not my feelings on the episode that are in question, but the happenings of the episode itself! Ok, here we go, try to keep up.

YOUNG JUSTICE INVASION: RUNAWAYS Review by Johnny Destructo, TV Critic and Comic Geek
(February 06, 2013)    (anime)
My first thought? Oh cool, The Runaways! Oh. Wait. That's Marvel. Dang. My second thought? Oh man. This is going to be about a bunch of characters I don't care about.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>