- Mania.com



REVIEWS ARCHIVE

Results:    
Category:    

Details:



Showing items 76 - 100 of 508
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >  >>  


Vampire Hunter D Vol. 12: Pale Fallen Angel - Parts 3 & 4 by Kate O'Neil
(July 13, 2010)
The bloody struggle against Lord Vlad has commenced, but in this family feud battles are hard fought and victories scarce.

a Wind Named Amnesia/Invader Summer Novel by Matthew Warner
(May 11, 2010)
Two fantastic novels whose mysterious worlds are bound to keep you on the edge of your seat.

THE CULTURE CORNER Review by Chad Derdowski, Contributing Writer
(March 24, 2010)
"...like looking at baby pictures of Mad Magazine and Rat Fink" - Grade: A

PORTABLE GRINDHOUSE Review by Chad Derdowski, Contributing Writer
(December 23, 2009)
"It took me back to the glory days of childhood, when the VCR was the pinnacle of technological achievement" - Grade: A+

Keep Watching the Skies Book Review by Tim Janson, Critic
(December 20, 2009)
The 1950s was the golden age for Sci-Fi films. It’s the era that gave us a multitude of giant monsters, alien invasions, and treks into outer space. From the cerebral The Day the Earth Stood Still, to the sublime The Thing from Another World, to the do

THE GREAT ANTI-WAR CARTOONS Review by Chad Derdowski, Contributing Writer
(December 16, 2009)
"A cry for peace expressed through art" - Grade: A

23.5 Degrees Review: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown by Stella Maris, Contributor
(September 19, 2009)
We thought it might be fun to have a quick look at some of the more obscure background references in Brown's plot in advance, just to get the ball rolling.

23.5 Degrees: Racing Toward Armageddon by Michael Baigent by Stella Maris, Contributor
(August 29, 2009)
This is possibly one of the most difficult book reviews I've ever had to write, due to the overwhelming complexity and sensitivity of the subject matter. But whether you agree or not with the views expounded in Racing Towards Armageddon

23.5 Degrees: The Secrets of Masonic Washington by James Wasserman by Stella Maris, Columnist
(August 22, 2009)
The literary theme for 23.5 Degrees this summer has been based around books that tie in with the subject of Dan Brown's new book, The Lost Symbol, due to be released on September 15th by Random House. Consequently, I've been happily immersing myself in boo

The Strain Book Review by Tim Janson, Columnist
(July 15, 2009)
Vampires have taken quite a beating in recent years. Writers like Ann Rice and Charlaine Harris and films like “Twilight” have taken this blood-sucking predator and turned him into a creature of seduction and sensuality.

Thumbelina: The Pop Wonderland Series by Chad Derdowski, Contributing Writer
(June 22, 2009)
"The perfect way to introduce a classic to a whole new generation" - Grade: A

Book of Lies Book Review by Kurt Anthony Krug, Critic
(June 12, 2009)
In The Book of Lies, New York Times bestselling novelist and comic book author Brad Meltzer connects Cain, history’s first murderer, to Jerry Siegel, co-creator of Superman, the world’s greatest hero.

Terminator Salvation Book Reviews by Robert T. Trate, Columnist
(May 18, 2009)
What made DVD’s all the rage for any true film aficionado were the special features such as directors’ commentary, making of documentaries and tons of on set photographs. What got lost in all the technology and now stale prepackaged documentaries were

Three New WATCHMEN Collector Books by Tim Janson, Contributing Writer
(March 06, 2009)
With every blockbuster movie there is inevitably the crush of cross-merchandising items and Watchmen is no different. Titan Books has released three lustrous coffee-table style books that cover the film in every way possible. The film is sure to be one o

Elsewhere by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 16, 2009)
William Peter Blatty, author of “The Exorcist”, returns to the horror genre with a story that is more subtle than that classic novel, but by no means less powerful. This is a story in the vein of Shirley Jackson’s “The Haunting” or Richard Mathe

Just Another Judgement Day by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 23, 2009)
Just Another Judgement Day is the ninth book in Simor R. Green’s Nightside series featuring the exploits of paranormal investigator John Taylor. After a tepid, The Unnatural Inquirer, John Taylor is back with perhaps his greatest challenge yet and book

Kirby: King of Comics by Chad Derdowski, Contributing Writer
(January 15, 2009)
Review: Kirby: King of Comics is A MUST HAVE for any serious comics fan

BOOK REVIEW- The Vertigo Encyclopedia by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 08, 2008)


American Widow by Nadia Oxford
(December 03, 2008)


Book Review of Zombie Movies: The Ultimate Guide by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 16, 2008)


Book Review: The DC Vault: A Museum in a Book by Tim Janson
(October 15, 2008)


Book Review of The DC Vault: A Museum in a Book by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 15, 2008)


Book Review of The Living Dead by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 13, 2008)


Star Wars Omnibus Early Victories: Review by Robert T. Trate, Columnist
(October 10, 2008)


Book Review of You Must Remember This: The Warner Bros. Story by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 03, 2008)