- Mania.com



WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ ARCHIVE

Results:    
Category:    

Details:



Showing items 101 - 125 of 330
<<  <  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >  >>  


Weekly Book Buzz: Star Wars: Red Harvest by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 26, 2010)
Happy New Year Everyone! Big release week for the final week of 2010 with tons of mass-market releases and a handful of notable hardcover debuts. Included in these is Star Wars: Red Harvest, the sequel to the surprise hit Death Troopers.

Weekly Book Buzz: Hack/Slash Volume 8 Reviewed by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 20, 2010)
Just a handful of releases for Christmas week. I guess the publishers figure everyone has their Christmas shopping finished. But save all that cash and gift cards you get this week as next week’s release scheduled is huge. Merry Christmas everyone!

Weekly Book Buzz: New Harry Dresden Anthology Strikes by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 12, 2010)


Weekly Book Buzz: Songs of the Dying Earth Anthology by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 07, 2010)
Lots of great stuff out this week including the Tribute to Jack Vance Anthology “Songs of the Dying Earth” edited by George R.R. Martin and including stories by some of the industry’s top writers: Neil Gaiman, Dan Simmons, Elizabeth Moon, Tanith Lee,

Weekly Book Buzz: Latest Star Wars Novel Strikes by Tim Janson, Columnist
(November 28, 2010)
Lots of strong titles out this week as we head into Christmas Season. We’ve got new Star Wars and Star Trek titles, the latest from Tad Williams, and new horror from Graham Masterton. I’ve also got two outstanding books in our review section, either

Weekly Book Buzz: New Xanth Novel from Piers Anthony by Tim Janson, Columnist
(November 23, 2010)
Slow week in terms of quantity but we do have a few major releases. First up is the latest Xanth novel from Piers Anthony, Knot Gneiss, the 34th book in this long-running series. We also have new books from Lawrence Watt-Evans, Alan Dean Foster, and Z.A.

Weekly Book Buzz: Realms of Fantasy Magazine Saved…Again! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(November 14, 2010)
It’s an extremely light release schedule this week as we head into the holiday shopping season. Prime Books, one of the very underrated genre publishers has a few titles of note to check out.

Weekly Book Buzz: New Book on the Life of H.P. Lovecraft by Tim Janson, Columnist
(November 08, 2010)
The World Fantasy Awards winners for 2009 were announced on Sunday, October 31, 2010. No surprise, the winner for best novel was China Miéville for The City and the City. This book has been rolling up all the major awards this year including the Hugo an

Weekly Book Buzz: New Wheel of Time Novel by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 31, 2010)
A big release week is highlighted by the latest in Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, the penultimate entry in the venerable series finished by the hand-picked Brandon Sanderson. In addition there are several other great new fantasy releases includin

Weekly Book Buzz: New Dresden Files from Jim Butcher by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 25, 2010)
First let me wish everyone a Happy Halloween! Out this week is Side Jobs, a brand new collection of never published Dresden Files stories from Jim Butcher. You’ll notice several books out this week from a company called Angry Robot.

Weekly Book Buzz: Stephen Donaldson’s Latest Thomas Covenant Novel by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 19, 2010)
I can’t tell you how ecstatic I am to bring you a review this week of MAD’s Greatest Artists: Sergio Aragones, a great new book from Running Press. The venerable Aragones has provided his hilarious cartoons for MAD Magazine for every issue but one sin

Weekly Book Buzz: The Making of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 11, 2010)
Fairly light this week in terms of new releases. For Star Wars fans, Lucas Books and Random House release a gorgeous coffee table book “The Making of the Empire Strikes Back”. Ok, it’s a hefty $85 bucks but hey, Christmas is coming up and its never

Weekly Book Buzz: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 04, 2010)
Two major releases this week…first we have the latest Star Wars novel, The Force Unleashed II. Also out this week is R.A. Salvatore’s latest Drizz’t Do’Urden adventure Gauntlgrym: Neverwinter, Book I.

Weekly Book Buzz: Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 26, 2010)
Out this week is Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist, the author of “Let the Right One In” which was turned into a film of the same name and now has been remade as “Let Me In” hitting theaters soon. Lets get to a couple of quick news bits

Weekly Book Buzz: The Immortal Count: The Life and Films of Bela Lugosi by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 19, 2010)
It’s a light week in terms of new releases with virtually no major new novels on the schedule. There are a number of graphic novels out this week from IDW and Dark Horse that will certainly be of interest to genre fans.

Weekly Book Buzz: The Living Dead 2 from Night Shade Books by Tim Janson, Critic
(September 12, 2010)
One of the best anthologies I’ve read in the past several years was Night Shade Books’ The Living Dead. Now Night Shade as unleashed a second helping of zombie goodness with The Living Dead 2 with stories by Robert Kirkman, David J. Schow, Simon R. Gr

Weekly Book Buzz: Suck it, Wonder Woman by Olivia Munn by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 07, 2010)
The winners of the 2009 Hugo Awards were announced on September 5th during Aussiecon in Belbourne, Australia. For best novel there was a tie between The City & The City by China Miéville, and The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi.

Weekly Book Buzz: The Way of Kings by Tim Janson, Columnist
(August 31, 2010)
It’s all about Brandon Sanderson’s “The Way of Kings” this week, the first book in his new mega-epic fantasy series. For fans of Robert Jordan and George R.R. Martin who’ve been looking for a new series to sink their teeth into, Sanderson’s se

Weekly Book Buzz: Reviewing Horror Movie Freak by Tim Janson, Columnist
(August 22, 2010)
Not much in the way of news and events this week. Kind of the calm before next week’s big release slate which will feature The War of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, the first book in his mega-epic fantasy series. Are you a horror film fan?

Weekly Book Buzz: R.A. Salvatore's New Fantasy by Tim Janson, Critic
(August 16, 2010)
One big bit of news to start the week, Dorchester Publishing, who publishes the Leisure Horror titles has announced that they will cease publishing books in mass-market format to concentrate on trade editions and digital publishing. Citing a 25% drop in r

Weekly Book Buzz: Speak to the Devil By Dave Duncan Reviewed by Tim Janson, Columnist
(August 08, 2010)
Dave Duncan has been one of the best and most underrated Fantasy writers for over 20 years. He’s a guy whose work is remarkably consistent and this week we review his latest novel, “Speak to the Devil” which begins a new series. Also in the review

Weekly Book Buzz: The Latest Elminster Novel from Wizards of the Coast by Tim Janson, Columnist
(August 03, 2010)
We lead this week with the latest novel from Wizards of the Coast featuring Elminster, the most well-known wizard of the Forgotten Realms. I’ll admit to having been a sucker for the Forgotten Realms novels ever since Darkwalker on Moonshae back in the l

Weekly Book Buzz: New Dragonriders of Pern Novel by Tim Janson, Columnist
(July 25, 2010)
Out this week is the latest novel in the long-running Dragonriders of Pern which began way back in 1967. I’ve never followed the series but I’m curious if any of you have and how the books written by Anne McCaffrey’s son, Todd, compare to those that

Weekly Book Buzz: Star Wars: The Old Republic Fatal Alliance by Tim Janson, Columnist
(July 18, 2010)
Out this week is the latest Star Wars novel : Star Wars: The Old Republic : Fatal Alliance, By Sean Williams who has written several previous Star Wars novels.

Weekly Book Buzz: New Star Trek Novel Out This Week by Tim Janson, Columnist
(July 12, 2010)
Leading a slim release week is a new Star Trek novel Burning Dreams and this one isn’t about Kirk or Picard or any of the other well known Star Fleet captains but rather the enigmatic Christopher Pike, the Captain of the USS Enterprise before Kirk. Auth