- Mania.com



WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ ARCHIVE

Results:    
Category:    

Details:



Showing items 201 - 225 of 348
<<  <  6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >  >>  


Guillermo Del Toro's New Vampire Series The Strain Debuts by Tim Janson, Columnist
(May 31, 2009)
If you’re a Sci-fi fan, someone just did not have your back this week as there is just a big zilch in terms of new releases. A couple of reprint editions and audio books, but nothing much of note. If you’re a fantasy or horror fan, however, your cup

Chadbourn's Age of Misrule hits the stands! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(May 26, 2009)
Before we get to the week’s new releases let’s cover a few quick announcements including a fantastic horror-writing contest sponsored by Leisure Books! The book I am VERY psyched about this week is Mark Chadbourn’s “Age of Misrule”. A clash of

A New Pip and Flinx Adventure! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(May 17, 2009)
Bit of an abridged column this week due to there not being much in the way of news and also I spent the weekend covering Detroit’s 20th annual Motor City Comic Con. You can see some of the reports on our homepage this weekend.

Lugosi and Karloff, Together Again! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(May 12, 2009)
A light week for both releases and news…However if you are a fan of books about films there are several excellent releases this week from McFarland Publishers. McFarland simply publishes the BEST books about film. They are always well-written and well-

Big Week for Fantasy Fans! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(May 03, 2009)
Before we get into the week’s new releases and reviews, let’s cover two quick news stories this week

Titan Unleashes Terminator: Salvation! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(April 26, 2009)
HarperCollins e-books recently announced that the works of J. R. R. Tolkien are now available in e-book format for the first time ever. You can now read The Hobbit, The Fellowship of the Rings, The Two Towers, The Return of the King, and The Children of H

Pyr Releases The Blood of Ambrose by Tim Janson, Columnist
(April 19, 2009)
Very light this week in terms of new releases. I am looking forward to James Enge’s “the Blood of Ambrose” which sounds like a winner. Let’s start the week off with some award news. The nominees for the Shirley Jackson awards have been announced

Starlog Ceases Publication by Tim Janson, Columnist
(April 12, 2009)
This week’s release slate is rather moderate but does include the latest Star Trek novel, written by comic book scribe extraordinaire, Peter David. I’ve excited about two of this week’s fantasy releases as well: God of Clocks by Alan Campbell, and

A New Dresden Files book by Tim Janson, Columnist
(April 07, 2009)
This week’s fantasy releases are monstrous to say the least! We have a new Dresden Files book, Turn Coat from Jim Butcher; a new Remy Chandler Novel from Thomas E. Sniegoski; the latest Drizz’t Do’Urden fantasy by Bob Saltatore is out in mass market

New Fantasy From Raymond E. Feist by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 29, 2009)
This week brings many outstanding new releases but nothing is bigger than the latest fantasy from Raymond E. Feist, “Rides a Dread Legion”. Feist returns to the world of Midkemia and the master magician Pub, first introduced over twenty years ago in t

The Final Ballot for the 2009 Hugo Awards by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 22, 2009)
Ah spring is finally here! I don’t normally mind the cold weather and the snow but it was a particularly brutal winter here in the north. Michigan has some of the worst roads in the world and it left my car with a dented rim from a pothole and a cracke

A Look at Noir’s The Dead Walk by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 15, 2009)
It’s a VERY light week in terms of new releases, due in part to it being a five week month. Not a whole lot in terms of major new stuff. I do have a review this week of Charles De Lint’s latest book The Mystery of Grace that is a wonderfully haunting

The Greatest Fantasy Writers of All Time! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 08, 2009)
After doing articles on the greatest horror and Sci-fi writers of all-time, there’s just one more genre to cover and that one is the most difficult…fantasy. The number of different sub-genres and styles in fantasy are so diverse that it makes picking

Final Ballot for the Nebula Awards Announced by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 01, 2009)
Having tackled the top Sci-fi and Horror writers of all-time with recent lists I’ve been debating whether or not I want to complete the trilogy and go for the fantasy writers. Fantasy I think will be the most difficult to take on because it has becomes

Two new Lovecraftian Anthologies Announced by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 22, 2009)
The UK’s PS Publishing has announced a new anthology book of Lovecraftian Horror edited by noted Lovecraft and horror scholar S.T. Joshi. The anthology will feature stories by Laird Barron, David J. Schow, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Darrel Schweitzer, Brian St

A Look at the Art of Dave Stevens by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 16, 2009)
William Peter Blatty, author of “The Exorcist”, returns to the horror genre with a story that is more subtle than that classic novel, but by no means less powerful. This is a story in the vein of Shirley Jackson’s “The Haunting” or Richard Mathe

Two New Watchmen Books Hit the Stands! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 08, 2009)
Bit of a slow week in terms of new releases and what is coming out in genre fiction is primarily comic graphic novels and trade paperbacks. Still, this is come good stuff. Devil’s Due has been doing a fantastic job adapting Dungeons & Dragons works int

New Novel from Philip K. Dick by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 01, 2009)
Not a lot of news to report in the column this week. We covered some stories of note during the week, notably News from the HWA (Horror Writers Association) on this years lifetime achievement award recipients and the preliminary ballot for the Stoker Awar

Lots of Releases and Lots of News by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 25, 2009)
Well after a couple of slow weeks we have a lot of great new releases this week including new fantasy by Lois McMaster Bujold, a new MYTH Adventures book from the late Robert Asprin, The Map of Moments, a promising dark fantasy collaboration between Christ

Harry Dresden Meets John Taylor on Mean Streets by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 18, 2009)
A couple of week’s back, ROC books released “Mean Streets” a collection of four brand new novellas featuring the most famous paranormal private investigators in fiction today. The book included a new Dresden Files story by Jim Butcher, a new John T

WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Who are the Greatest Science Fiction Writers of All-Time? by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 12, 2009)
The question is, who are the greatest Science Fiction writers of all-time. I’ll likely present a Top 15 list but even then it will be a daunting task. How much credit do you give to the old-school writers like H.G. Wells and Jules Verne? There are the

WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Amazon Editors Pick their Top Ten for 2008 by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 04, 2009)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- The Best Books of 2008 by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 28, 2008)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- The Best Fantasy that No One Has Ever Read by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 14, 2008)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Who are the Most Overrated Fantasy Writers by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 03, 2008)