- Mania.com



WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ ARCHIVE

Results:    
Category:    

Details:



Showing items 201 - 225 of 337
<<  <  6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >  >>  


A Look at Noir’s The Dead Walk by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 15, 2009)
It’s a VERY light week in terms of new releases, due in part to it being a five week month. Not a whole lot in terms of major new stuff. I do have a review this week of Charles De Lint’s latest book The Mystery of Grace that is a wonderfully haunting

The Greatest Fantasy Writers of All Time! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 08, 2009)
After doing articles on the greatest horror and Sci-fi writers of all-time, there’s just one more genre to cover and that one is the most difficult…fantasy. The number of different sub-genres and styles in fantasy are so diverse that it makes picking

Final Ballot for the Nebula Awards Announced by Tim Janson, Columnist
(March 01, 2009)
Having tackled the top Sci-fi and Horror writers of all-time with recent lists I’ve been debating whether or not I want to complete the trilogy and go for the fantasy writers. Fantasy I think will be the most difficult to take on because it has becomes

Two new Lovecraftian Anthologies Announced by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 22, 2009)
The UK’s PS Publishing has announced a new anthology book of Lovecraftian Horror edited by noted Lovecraft and horror scholar S.T. Joshi. The anthology will feature stories by Laird Barron, David J. Schow, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Darrel Schweitzer, Brian St

A Look at the Art of Dave Stevens by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 16, 2009)
William Peter Blatty, author of “The Exorcist”, returns to the horror genre with a story that is more subtle than that classic novel, but by no means less powerful. This is a story in the vein of Shirley Jackson’s “The Haunting” or Richard Mathe

Two New Watchmen Books Hit the Stands! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 08, 2009)
Bit of a slow week in terms of new releases and what is coming out in genre fiction is primarily comic graphic novels and trade paperbacks. Still, this is come good stuff. Devil’s Due has been doing a fantastic job adapting Dungeons & Dragons works int

New Novel from Philip K. Dick by Tim Janson, Columnist
(February 01, 2009)
Not a lot of news to report in the column this week. We covered some stories of note during the week, notably News from the HWA (Horror Writers Association) on this years lifetime achievement award recipients and the preliminary ballot for the Stoker Awar

Lots of Releases and Lots of News by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 25, 2009)
Well after a couple of slow weeks we have a lot of great new releases this week including new fantasy by Lois McMaster Bujold, a new MYTH Adventures book from the late Robert Asprin, The Map of Moments, a promising dark fantasy collaboration between Christ

Harry Dresden Meets John Taylor on Mean Streets by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 18, 2009)
A couple of week’s back, ROC books released “Mean Streets” a collection of four brand new novellas featuring the most famous paranormal private investigators in fiction today. The book included a new Dresden Files story by Jim Butcher, a new John T

WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Who are the Greatest Science Fiction Writers of All-Time? by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 12, 2009)
The question is, who are the greatest Science Fiction writers of all-time. I’ll likely present a Top 15 list but even then it will be a daunting task. How much credit do you give to the old-school writers like H.G. Wells and Jules Verne? There are the

WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Amazon Editors Pick their Top Ten for 2008 by Tim Janson, Columnist
(January 04, 2009)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- The Best Books of 2008 by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 28, 2008)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- The Best Fantasy that No One Has Ever Read by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 14, 2008)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Who are the Most Overrated Fantasy Writers by Tim Janson, Columnist
(December 03, 2008)


WEEKLY BOOK BUZZ- Which Books Are You Most Thankful For? by Tim Janson, Columnist
(November 24, 2008)


Book Buzz: The Top Gift Book Picks for the Holidays! by Tim Janson, Columnist
(November 18, 2008)


Book Buzz: What's the Scariest Book You Ever Read? by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 27, 2008)


Book Buzz: Latest Star Wars Novel Hits Shelves This Week by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 20, 2008)


Book Buzz: Piers Anthony Returns to Xanth by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 13, 2008)


The Weekly Book Buzz: Salvatore's Latest Drizzt Do'Urden Novel by Tim Janson, Columnist
(October 06, 2008)


Book Buzz: Opening the DC Vault by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 29, 2008)


Book Buzz: The Living Dead Crawls Your Way by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 22, 2008)


Weekly Book Buzz: STAR WARS REPUBLIC COMMANDO by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 15, 2008)


Weekly Book Buzz: Finding The Mummy in Literature by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 08, 2008)


Weekly Book Buzz: Romita Finds Himself Stranded by Tim Janson, Columnist
(September 01, 2008)