Arrow: Lone Gunman Review - Mania.com



Arrow: Lone Gunman Review

Mania Grade: C+

8 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Lone Guman
  • Starring: Stephen Amell, Katie Cassidy, Willa Holland, Michael Rowe
  • Written By: Greg Berlanti (developer), Marc Guggenheim (developer)
  • Directed By: David Barrett
  • Network: The CW
  • Series:

Arrow: Lone Gunman Review

Meet Deadshot

By Tim Janson     October 25, 2012
Source: Mania.com

Three episodes into Arrow’s run and I have to say I’m not feeling warm and fuzzy.  That’s ok.  It took well into the first season of Smallville to really get comfortable with the show.  Arrow is feeling its way right now.  It’s not groping around in the dark but it is searching for the doorway out with a candle.  Arrow is trying to do too much.  The Dawson’s Creek, familial-style drama shows up at the most inopportune times to clutch onto the show just when it’s starting to take off and this week’s episode, “Lone Gunman” was a prime example.

Arrow has targeted yet another dishonest businessman but just when he has his target cornered, the man is shot by a sniper.  Arrow’s investigations lead him to discover the identity of the assassin known as “Deadshot”, hired by the Russian mafia to assassinate businessmen who are all competing to buy a company called Unidec Industries.  One of those men happens to be his new stepfather, Walter Steele.  In order to help stop Deadshot, Arrow needs to forge an uneasy alliance with Detective Lance.

Okay…so the good.  Well we do get Deadshot, a well-known DC Comics villain.  Not fully in costume like the comics but wearing his red targeting system over his right eye and also featuring his wrist-mounted machine gun.  Better yet, and frankly the most interesting part of the show so far, is more flashbacks to Oliver’s time stranded on the island.  We meet the Chinese archer who shot him, and claims he had to do it to save him.  Sure enough, we later discover that this remote island is far from deserted as later Oliver runs away and is pursued by a group of heavily armed men.  Who are they?  Who is the mysterious Chinese Archer?  Did Oliver learn to speak Russian on the Island?  Right now these intriguing bits are what is bringing me back each week. 

The bad?  Sorry…I don’t care and I doubt most people care about the drama involving Oliver’s trouble teenaged sister, Thea and her weekly Lindsay Lohan wild child routine.  I don’t know, perhaps not naming your kid “Thea” in the first place might have been a good place to start.  This sub-plot drains the life out of each episode.  Not far behind is the love triangle between Oliver, Laurel Lance, and Tommy Merlyn.  Each week comes with numerous reminders that Oliver cheated on Laurel with her sister and now we have Tommy’s affair with Laurel to sort out.  Now one positive thing happened this week and it was that Laurel had a chance to kick a bit of ass, possibly foreshadowing her future as Black Canary?  We can only hope.

As noted last week, Arrow’s crusade to take down evil businessmen just doesn’t have a lot of staying power.  Hopefully the appearances of other villains will not be as them merely being hired henchmen.  While it was cool to see Deadshot, that appearance was tempered with Arrow killing him.  So much for that!  But more DC stars await on the horizon including The Huntress and Deathstroke.  I’m a long way from crossing Arrow off my list but I’m also a long way from considering it must see TV.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 8 of 8
1 
JDK008 10/25/2012 5:20:57 PM

 once again I don't see the smallville comparison. I think Arrow is much darker then smallville ever was.  Plus the acting alone is the better of the two along with the writing.  How high did you set your expectations for this series?  Especially coming from the CW.  I give this a B for sure.  

FerretJohn 10/25/2012 7:37:32 PM

Saw it, So far I'm still so-so on the series.  It has it's good spots but as Mr. Jansen stated it's still trying to get into its groove, and it's putting out too much.  I really wasn't happy with the shortness of Deadshots appearance.  Deadshot is a great character and could've fit in quite easily as the "Anti-Arrow".  He should've been a recurring character, not a one-shot throwaway.

tjanson 10/25/2012 9:15:41 PM

You don't see the smallville comparison?  Two shows dealing with DC comic characters...one of which was a central character on the last few seasons of Smallville?  Huh?  how can one NOT compare the Green Arrow of Smallville with the Arrow?  and in any case I wasn't comparing the shows beyond the fact that they both had to feel their way through the first season and find their legs.  i don't think Arrow has done it yet.  Better acting?  that's debateable.  I don't think that Arrow has anyone nearly as good as Michael Rosenbaum and John Glover as Lex and Lionel Luthor.

DarthBob 10/26/2012 5:50:53 AM

Gave it 3 episodes and now I'm done. Oliver's sister is annoying and a ridiculously inane plot point. Also, the love triangle is monotonous and uninteresting. Deadshot should have been a villain in Nolan's Batman. Here they bastardize him and make him the weekly rent a villain wearing the proverbial red Enterprise uniform.

Arrow's crusade against evil businessmen is boring to the extreme and not worth the time it takes to watch and skip through the commercials on the ole DVR. The only thing that would draw me back is an appearance by Batman, Superman and/or Green Lantern and we all know they isn't going to happen. That would indicate that these characters exist in the same universe like they do in DC's cartoons and we sure wouldn't want any continuity leading up to a JL movie.
 

wish 10/26/2012 11:53:23 PM

While I agree that I don't care much about the sister or ex, they do serve as a distraction for Oliver.  Despite that, I think they've got a really good handle on the action and I like how athletic they are making Oliver look.  I've enjoyed it so far with this episode being the best yet, it's not for everyone but it's not a bad show by a long shot, it's actually doing pretty good in most aspects and for a rookie show, I'm impressed!  I really was expecting something a lot worse than what we are seeing.  

CaptAmerica04 10/27/2012 3:16:06 PM

And I continue to say that, I don't care how "dark" this show appears to be, you are screwing over and alienating ALL the DC fans (your core audience) by doing stupid sh*t like not having any super powers, and by killing off major DC characters at the end of his first and only episode appearance.  Dark or not, this is just Smallville all over again as far as the mistakes being made by the writers and show runners.

I repeat my plea that this show die swiftly and loudly, so that maybe Warners and DC will start to learn a lesson.

littlemikey979 10/28/2012 9:43:03 AM

I know Arrow shot him, but Deadshot might not be totally dead. I am sure one of the 'evil businessmen' in Oliver's book could have their mad doctors bring him back a'la Deadpool like in Wolverine Origins. Hopefully not, but something like that could happen.

I'm not big on the whole troubled sister side story they are using, but I understand it is the CW and thats how they roll. Same for the love triangle thing. Also, why doesn't Oliver have a gym instead of having to lift concrete bricks.

I am also enjoying the island flashbacks. It will be good to see Oliver's transformation to Arrow as memories he has as he is becoming a hero. Although, as a new hero he should be making more mistakes and missing shots and stuff. Even Batman wasn't ready for everything in Begins on his first outting. I am on the fence about Oliver, oh SPOLIER ALERT, letting his body guard see him dressed in his green outfit. I know he said he couldn't do it alone and he needs help. I knew something was happening when they brought up the dead brother. But I am curious as to where this is going to lead.

I am enjoying the show. The CW is giving what is expected and I am guessing we will probably get 4 maybe 5 good seasons before this show goes Smallville (down the crapper).

tjanson 10/29/2012 9:33:34 AM

Darth...apparently you don't understand grades...the last two eps of Arrow have received a C from me.  I'd hardly qualify that as "supportive".

CaptAmerica...I understand you don't like the show and I'm cool with that.  It's a long way from earning my endorsement as I said, but you know...there's a simple solution to your dilema...just don't watch.

Darth Bob, no likely Superman, Batman, or Green Lantern are not going to show up by why do you feel you need that validation?  I mean Marvel published different versions of Spider-Man, the Avengers, the X-men for years who lived in different universes and continuities.  What's the big deal?

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS