The A-Team Extended Cut Blu-Ray Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 18 of 18
<<  <  1 2 
tjanson 12/30/2010 6:48:33 PM

Actually the film made 175 Million which was a decent return on a 110 million dollar budget.  Not a blockbuster but respectable.

phantomx69 12/30/2010 6:55:06 PM

a sequel is coming........

Bryzarro 12/30/2010 8:29:29 PM

 I'm with the group here.  Review is waaaaayyyy off.  This was as good as a TV show to film gets.  I felt it did the show justice.  Got it for Christmas too.  My mom flipped when she watched it so I feel its a winner.

wish 12/31/2010 9:04:15 AM

I don't feel this film is worthy of negative review, especially on this site!  For the type of film it is I'm not expecting expert shooting, but I also didn't think it was bad enough to mention.  The review sounds too much to me like reasons why you didn't like it and not really reasons that it's a weak film.  It made almost 70million in profit and that is a lot of money, and it is the only measureable way besides personal opinions that we have to determine whether a film is good or not.  I hear that all the time from people "just because it made a lot of money doesn't mean it's good"  And really it's the only objective way to determine if something is good in the entertainment industry.  I prefer to say "Just because it made a lot of money doesn't mean "I" should like it".  I try not to let my opinions and personal beliefs sound as if they are widely recognized and authoritative facts.  No disrespect or offense is intended by this.

BryanWay 1/3/2011 10:31:28 AM

This movie perfectly suits the source material and was perhaps the most fun I had at the theatre this side of Inception this past year.

It was not poorly directed, Janson, and that statement falls short of being a 'fact' on the grounds that it's merely your opinion. The fans in here are not being willfully ignorant of the film's perceived shortcomings and are not wrong just because they disagree with you.

And I may be mistaken, but I don't think Wish is defending this film as good by merit of it's box office take. It more than made its money back and has been doing stellar in rental.

And even if you don't say that the film is unsuccessful, you certainly suggest that it is by referring to its lack of success in the final line of your review. That is, if I'm making proper sense of it: "He tries to tightrope walk the line between the series’ inherent playfulness and cheesiness and trying to update the film for a modern audience and ends up doing neither with a great deal of success." So, he fails at what he intended to do successfully?

TheMovieGuy28 1/3/2011 1:40:43 PM

 

The only thing I can add to this entire thread is he got Copley waaaay wrong. The guy did a bang-up job of Murdock, and was downright hilarious in his role.

All in all, the A-team was a B rating at best, and that's what the show was. A b-type serial. I'm not saying a b is bad, but it never tried being anything else than campy, hokey fun

And for the reviewer, if you remember, in the show, they never really liked killing anyone. Their point always seemed to be solve the problems without senseless killing, just senseful a** kicking

ActionMovieGod 1/4/2011 2:04:49 AM

The A-team kicked ass what more could you want.Then none stop comedy and shit blowing up lol.

SarcasticCaveman 1/4/2011 1:21:34 PM

Yeah, I just saw the movie for the first time last night, and I gotta say, I really liked it.  And complaining about needing a scorecard to keep up with characters and subplots?  Please, it's no more complicated than any other military intrigue movie I've seen.  And I enjoyed the unbelievable elements.  I don't expect a believeable movie based on one of the most violent TV shows ever where NOBODY ever died.

Oh, and the parachuting tank scene?  SOOOO cheesy, but in an awesome way!  It was EPIC cheese...if it were real cheese, it would be some really smelly kind that only rich people can afford and eat with their caviar as they drink their 100 year old wine.

<<  <  1 2 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.