AVENGERS: EMH - Some Assembly Required Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 9 of 9
1 
lusiphur 10/29/2010 1:14:54 PM

As many of us said after the review of the pilot episodes, Stark/IM's voice isn't so much "too young' but simply out of place for an established character.  I expected something a bit more commanding.  The voice actor for this role is simply the wrong choice, IMHO.

I haven't seen this episode yet, but it looks fun by your review.  Is this the first ep after the premier?  I have about 6 episodes recorded from last weekend on my DVR that I haven't watched.  May get around to that this weekend.

LocoLobo73 10/29/2010 2:51:24 PM

I thought the episode was pretty good , i have to agree the mansion scenes where alittle on the excessive side, and I really never have liked Pym,  but after the first review I read and then this one, my question would be for the reviewer , do you read Hulk comics at all, this Hulk isnt a far cry from the Hulk we ve seen in the comics who, in his more popular incarnations is either intelligent or semi intelligent, Oh and by the way the Hulk has been an Avenger , a Defender, a FF member, a part of Pantheon, the Warbound, a Hulkbuster, and now he leads the team Gamma. LOL and I agree this is why I love the web also....oh yeah and they do give you more than a brief introduction to the Enchantress, she was in the episode Thor the mighty , which is all the Thor mini episodes pulled into a half hour show. I also dont think they need to reveal everything to the viewers, Its good to use the brain and have the viewers wanting more, they seem to be treating the series like a comic book series, which is the way it sould be.

What I like most about these episodes which is what the DC animated series did so well, was make it accessible to all viewer young and old, It has lots of cool easter eggs and story lines while keeping the art kid friendly.

mikemc2 10/29/2010 7:13:00 PM

LocoLobo73, I have to ask..Hulk was a Hulkbuster??  Sorry but that seems kindof dumb, who exactly would the Hulkbuster's hunt if their target is part of the team?  If I am on target with this, I can see why they abandoned this story arc in the comics.  I admit, I havn't read any of the Hulk comics since the 90's.

Feel free to drop my a line on that or at least give me the issue numbers so I can look that one up.

Back on topic, I really enjoy the cartoon.  Seems kindof off though to watch this one, then SuperHero Squad.  You got serious then silly versions of the same characters competing on different networks.

SelectiveRealism 10/30/2010 1:55:06 AM

To say that the Hulk is supposed to be a raging monster isnt accurate.  In the comics the Hulk has had periods where he wasn't mindless.  Planet Hulk/World War Hulk was bad ass.  The current Banner/Hulk is also a bad ass.

The Hulk for this show is fine. 

cheekymonkey 10/30/2010 7:06:47 AM

Seems like a less campy Super Hero Squad

LocoLobo73 10/30/2010 7:18:14 AM

MIKE MC , yeah he was a buster when the gamma wars took place , he join with sheild and the busters to go after the leader and the other gamma mutations, also Check out Incredible Hulk 317 , if you read them in the 90's , this is the period when Mc farlane and Dale Keown  where drawing the books if i remember correctly , also thsi was when banner and the hulk where seperated and banner use to drive around with the sheild agent Quatermane and Rick Jones, this was also when the Hulk and Banner seperated.

Cheesey1 10/30/2010 9:07:20 PM

Liked the episode. Really looking forward to the Black Panther arc. I'm a very, very happy comics fan.

 

Rheul_home 11/1/2010 7:38:52 AM

If you read early issues of "The Avengers" Hulk was not an "out of control monster". He was quite intelligent and I think this show has done a great job with him. In relation to the early Avengers issues they've pretty much nailed Hulk as well as how everyone else on the team felt about him in those early books. I think this reviewer should do a little more homework before telling us how Hulk is supposed to be. If I have to nit pick anything it would be Thors hammer changing size throughout the show.

Houndoom4 11/15/2010 10:06:29 AM

I think this Hulk is cool. I quite enjoy the Hulk having a conscious mind and not just super uncontrollable rage. I mean, yeah, he knows how to get angry, that's what's great about the Hulk. He's rage incarnate, but you need more than rage to develop a character. We get to see how he's plagued by the views of society thinking he's a monster and other mental torment. All in all, this is a good rendition of Hulk.

I did enjoy the Hulk and Thor showdown and watching him beat the rest of the team. Now that I think of it though, Enchantress didn't get much mention other that you were supposed to have seen her before in Thor's minisodes and I guess fans would know who she was.

I think the episode was still great though. I love this show.

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.