Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #1 Comic Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 10
1 
SmokingFrog77 6/29/2012 5:16:10 AM

Nite Owl - Shitting Down Crime's Chimney! (credit to my mate Pol for that caption)

 

Roqueja 6/29/2012 6:10:07 AM

It's interesting that different points of this book stuck out for each of the reviewers as a great book should.  I imagine that this will make a great, re-readable story once all told.  The trades for this series should be something special.

Tevii 6/29/2012 7:39:38 AM

Is it me or is it kind of pointless to review a limited series? Obvioulsy you arent reading the full story with one issue so its impossible to truly review.

An ongoing series doesnt present that problem. there will be ups and downs. But in a limited series if you review each issue its like going to 30 minutes of a 2 hour moive then trying to give an adequate review.

Following the build up then review the mini-series as a whole makes more sense. Or is that exactly what you do? at the end give an overall review? Im just curious

Betenoire 6/29/2012 10:13:37 PM

You know originally I was kind of with Moore and his desires, though honestly some of his other work and adaptations left me less than fully with him. Now I read he is making a new series and the villian (or one of) is basically Harry Potter. 

Yeah, mister "My creations are sacred" is "adapting" a creation that quite frankly is bigger than anything he has created (not to throw that out lightly given the scope of Moore's work, but seriously Harry Potter is huge) and ...I don't know, is trying to put his own spin, drag the charater down, whatever more than undercuts his own position on creative ownership and what people can do with established characters. 

I suspect Alan Moore just likes being angry all the time and is always looking for a fight. The alternative is that he is such a blind hypocrite and/or has such a massive ego he simply thinks what he does with others work is different than what others do with his- and I'd honestly rather not think that. 

trekkist 6/30/2012 1:20:46 AM

 I would like to make a correction to Mr. Rickenbach's review: Hollis did NOT know that Dan was "on his tail." It was Dan who left the note for Hollis to meet HIM in the park, after having tried on the mask. He purposely left the mask lying on the typewriter, instead of on its stand, so that as soon as Hollis entered the room would realize that someone had been there and he would find the note.

Speaking for myself, I enjoyed the issue, as well as the others that have come out. It's certainly more readable than most of the stuff DC's been excreting in the New 52, and I look forward (so far, anyway) to reading the entire "Before Watchmen" event.

SmokingFrog77 6/30/2012 5:26:03 AM

Betenoire - I think that one has to consider the context of Moore's beef with DC over Watchmen. Whilst I am going to presume that Moore has no real connection to JK Rowling (in the business, contracts, royalties & rights sense), any more than he has a connection to H Rider Haggard, Bram Stoker, Jules Verne, Robert Louis Stevenson and HG Wells, this cannot be said for DC Entertainment. The murky, messy history of Moore's association with DC and it's alleged use and abuse of his work over the years seems like a perfectly good justification for being pissed off to me. Google Kurt Amacker Alan Moore Interview for a good in-depth look at that history and connection.

DarthoftheDead 6/30/2012 7:18:08 AM

Alan Moore is a TOTAL Psycho...........it's what makes him such a great writer, lol.....

InnerSanctum 7/1/2012 1:10:29 PM

 SmokingFrog:  That caption cracked )( me up.   

I know this series rekindled my interest in picking up individual books over an eventual graphic novel format.  Fun to see them sitting there next to my nightstand.  Good times.  

InnerSanctum 7/1/2012 1:16:58 PM

You should all find the Alan Moore documentry and watch it (I think it is on Crackle.)  You will see just how nuts he has become (how he types with those long metal fingernail rings I have no idea.)  He is a proclaimed seasoned warlock and, obviously, loves his weed.  REALLY loves his weed.  You could smell it coming off the screen.  Great talent.  Just worth a peek.  I couldn't finish the whole film, but it gave me the insight into what makes him tick.   As far as bringing down Potter...did anyone not read TLOEG?  I mean, he works with other peoples ideas all the time and put his own spin on things.  That should be evident alone in his original Watchman series.  Where he deconstructed the Golden Age/Silver Age superheroes.  

joelr 7/2/2012 8:24:15 AM

@trekkist Taking another look, you are right. Not exactly the best visual storytelling. However, it doesn't change the quality of the story in any way. It's still a by-the-numbers affair.

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.