DEXTER: Run Review - Mania.com



DEXTER: Run Review

Mania Grade: B-

7 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Run
  • Starring: Michael C. Hall, Jennifer Carpenter, Desmond Harrington, C.S. Lee, Lauren VĂ©lez, David Zayas, James Remar
  • Written By: Wendy West
  • Directed By: John Dahl
  • Network: Showtime
  • Series:

DEXTER: Run Review

Episode 4, Season 7

By Jarrett Kruse     October 23, 2012
Source: Mania.com

*SPOILER ALERT**SPOILER ALERT**SPOILER ALERT**SPOILER ALERT**SPOILER ALERT**SPOILER ALERT*
As the season of truth continues, the layers of what Dexter will do to protect himself become thicker. As Deb continues to process what she knows about her big brother she seems to becoming more unchained. Her own moral code, far from the “Code of Harry” is weighing her down. She is becoming cynical and jaded at the system she is an integral part of and although not yet on Team Dexter, Deb is unraveling. It is in this core relationship that continues to be examined with such scrutiny as the narrative puts the viewer in a “what would you do to uphold justice” position. It is becoming clearer that Deb is starting to not just understand Dexter better but sees that his way of expediting the bad guys can cut through the bureaucratic red tape.
 
The Ukranian connection continues to get more serious but is playing out as an almost separate and much less important storyline. Dexter can take on many but an entire crime syndicate seems unlikely. Slowly they are molding this part of the narrative into something that is workable. Right now it just seems to be a malaise of clichés of what we see about foreign mobs on most crime shows. Until they settle on where they are taking it, the subplot is detracting from the Dexter-centric stories that are more appealing for die-hard fans.
 
I do think that while it is in an interesting angle to involve a foreign crime organization especially in a port city like Miami, I cannot help but think that it is a little hacky and unnecessary for Dexter’s pedigree. It always seems that there is a “mob du jour” in the pop culture lexicon and this week it happens to be the Ukranian & Kiev connection. It may start to take shape in the bigger picture but right now it just feels like filler despite the superb acting of Ray Stevenson.
 
The episode entitled “Run” is an ominous choice for the name of this segment. Not only is Deb running from her solemn oath to uphold the law, Dexter is seeing that after an entanglement with Speltzer he is not as in control as he prefers. When a police dash video of Speltzer’s arrest exonerates him putting him back on the streets, Deb is at her boiling point. The “Maze Monster” is free to kill again but in a second encounter with him, the steroid infused monster is not so lucky. Although Dexter expedites him in his usual fashion with a through the heart kill, he also sends him into an incinerator along with his beloved blood slides. In a way he is letting go of the past and starting fresh. After the kill, Deb confides to Dex that the smoke pluming out makes her feel glad. Glad that justice was done. It looks like the family business is slowly growing. 

 

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 7 of 7
1 
rkngl 10/23/2012 9:27:41 AM

 "Stay". LMAO! (You had to see the episode to understand it.)

Noovtere 10/24/2012 2:24:01 AM

So far I don't think the episodes this season are in the same league with past seasons.  But I don't think the Ukranians are the issue.  I think it was inevitable that Dexter would run afoul of organized crime.  Isaak is clearly a serial killer who, unlike Dexter with Harry's code, has found a way to channel his urges into a profitable career.  As such I am looking forward to the dance between the two of them.  The conversation they've already had was quite intriguing.

I think where I am struggling with the current storyline is my own moral repugnance to Dexter's activities.  It is easy to enjoy stories of Dexter or the Punisher if you just accept that this is what they are and they cannot change.  But when Deb comes along and tries to change Dexter, then the possibility that he can change seems like a possibility, and the human part of me wishes Dexter would go down that road.  In the end, I think the writers are going to have to find some middle way, as they have done in the past with his relationships to Rita and Harrison.  Dexter is not going to give up killing, but he may have to make some amendments to Harry's code so Deb can live with it.  Like not competing against the police.  If the police have a line on a guy, let them have him.  It's only when the police run out of options within the system, that Dexter will go after them. Speltzer was a guy that Dexter needed to go after because the cops screwed up the arrest.  It may take the whole season for them to negotiate this conflict though.

Chopsaki 10/24/2012 12:30:16 PM

I predict that the mob kidnaps deb in order to get to dex. Cut to dex on the phone with issak sirko...

"I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my sister go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you."

wish 10/25/2012 5:10:13 AM

They've managed to change the show, alter the feel and it's been surprisingly fresh in my opinion. There is something about the reactions that Deb has been having and the way she's been dealing with it that really puts into perspective how fucking sick Dexter is. For a show that became way too complacent with it's protagonist being a murdering psychopath, it sure found a way to give it just that little turn to make it interesting again, I mean, can anyone honestly say what's coming next? It's unpredictable again, and that's what makes great storytelling in my opinion.

I love this show!

ripum853 10/25/2012 9:14:55 AM

It definitely improved over seasons 5 and 6.  I'm a fan of Ray as the villian, the Deb/Dex thing, and not annoyed by the love interest (yet at least).

 

So far it's looking better than seasons 3 and possibly 2 as well.

 

Nothing can touch seasons 1 & 4.

bennyhill 10/25/2012 10:45:18 AM

 Well said wish and I agree with your rankings ripum 853.  Seasons 5 and 6 were bad.

ddiaz28 10/25/2012 9:16:56 PM

Man I couldn't say any seasons of Dexter were bad.  Maybe not as good as others, but bad?  It's too great of  show I think.  I loved 5 personally but season 6 is probably the weakest of the series.

This season has started off great.  I've been waiting for this storyline of Deb knowing since the beginning...

Book spoiler ahead

Since in the books Deb finds out pretty early on and goes along with it all.

End spoiler

 

I can't wait to see where this all goes.  I think the show is at it's best when there is someone a step ahead of Dexter.  And Isaak definitely is for now.  I don't rembember if it was here or on another review that they said Isaac wanted vengeance because Viktor was his lover.  Is that true?  I assumed when he looked at the picture that it was his son.  Did I miss the homesexual undertones or something or was the reviewer wrong?

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS