EW's AVENGERS Cover Preview - Mania.com



Movie News

37 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

EW's AVENGERS Cover Preview

Entertainment Weekly focusing on The Avengers.

By Jarrod Sarafin     September 29, 2011
Source: Entertainment Weekly

Marvel Studios and Entertainment Weekly have chosen this week as the time to feature The Avengers on the magazine's cover. Subscribers will be seeing the characters in their mail box shortly but for those who don't buy it, feel free to check it out below. Their feature story will have thoughts from the stars and director Joss Whedon within but as part of the EW preview, they talked about the ensemble cast coming together to play such different characters and what Whedon had to deal with in terms of on-the-ground script changes.

Whedon was actually counting on a little bit of friction, since there’s so much in the actual story. “I was like, well, if they hate each other, I guess we can use that,” he shrugs. “But they don’t.”

When he wasn’t out dancing, Whedon was obsessively rewriting dialogue. On the Iron Man movies, Downey was notorious for pushing for heat-of-the-moment script punch-ups (or as he puts it: “I dominated like a rabid, horny gorilla”). And even as part of an ensemble in Avengers, he still nudged Whedon to go a little farther in some scenes. The day EW was on set, Whedon (the creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the acclaimed Astonishing X-Men comic book series) was scribbling out new pages of dialogue right before our eyes. Says the director, “There is a weird element of: they handed me one of the biggest movies of all time, and I’m making it up as I go.”

 

Entertainment Weekly cover image for Marvel’s The Avengers

 

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 37
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
MegatronLegacy 9/29/2011 7:59:52 AM

 This cover sucks...

spiderhero 9/29/2011 8:04:42 AM

That is one horribly ugly cover. It will probably make some people think the movie is cheesy. It may be (though i don't think it will be), but we don't need images like that floating around creating negative buzz.

Wiseguy 9/29/2011 8:14:35 AM

I just want to see the Hulk.

They should've just done multiple covers with 2 or 3 members at a time

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 9/29/2011 8:15:07 AM

I was sitting going crazy trying to figure out who the last guy was. It didn't occur to me until ten minutes later is was Ruffio as Dr. Banner. They made him look different and a little crazier.  A good fit. Sort of reminds me of what I would think Jekyll and Hyde would look like.

muddseye 9/29/2011 8:30:31 AM

I saw this yesterday at work sorting them out (post office) . Is it just me or does Thor's costume look different from the movie?

creamygnome 9/29/2011 8:33:57 AM

I'm digging Ruffalo's Zoolander face.

Wiseguy 9/29/2011 8:40:32 AM

LOL creamygnome, that is so fucking on, lol. Btw, loved that movie

muddseye, I know Thor didn't have any sleeves in The Avengers teaser at the end of Cap. And his hair looks bleached, longer and more voluptuous :)

 

keithdaniel 9/29/2011 8:42:14 AM

Ah, so that who that eerie-looking guy is!  I don't think they should've done that, it's a little to over the top.  BTW, I recall that Clint Barton/Hawkeye was blond haired in the comics.

keithdaniel 9/29/2011 8:47:02 AM

Wise, I see we're on a similar schedule yet again!  LOL!  Yeah, I hope this movie works out because the expectations are very high.  If WB were smart they would do a few more DC character movies like Wonder Woman, The Flash, Aquaman, and perhaps Martian Manhunter among them and then set them up for a Justice League movie but that would take initiative and creativity traits that the studio isn't always know for!

CrazyCEO 9/29/2011 9:10:44 AM

Still call that it would have been better with Norton but I'll hold judgement until I see it.  I agree with some here that this cover shot is not the best and Thor just doesn't right but we were spoilt by Branagh's version.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS