Fringe: Brave New World Part 2 Review - Mania.com



Fringe: Brave New World Part 2 Review

Mania Grade: B

8 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • TV Series: Fringe
  • Episode: Brave New World Part 2
  • Starring: Anna Torv, Joshua Jackson, John Noble, Jasika Nicole, Lance Reddick, Blair Brown
  • Written By: J.H. Wyman, Jeff Pinker, Akiva Goldsmith
  • Directed By: Joe Chappelle
  • Network: FOX
  • Series:

Fringe: Brave New World Part 2 Review

The Conclusion of the 2-Part SEASON finale

By Kurt Anthony Krug     May 12, 2012
Source: Mania.com

As far as Fringe season finales go, this one was pretty anti-climatic. Perhaps, it’s because the creators worried that it wouldn’t be back for a 5th season. Who’s to say? On a whole, it’s best to watch the 2 parts back-to-back as it gives it more heft. 

Thankfully, Astrid (Jaskia Nicole), who was shot last episode after kicking some ass, is alive and well instead of being killed off. Her supporting role on the show is one of the key things that make it great, so killing her would hurt Fringe as a whole.

We learn last episode’s victim Jessica Holt (guest star Rebecca Mader of Lost fame) was really a double-agent working for William Bell (guest star Leonard Nimoy in a post-retirement appearance). She captures September the Observer (guest star Michael Cerveris) by using a rune on the kitchen floor, trapping him.

The coolest scene of the episode is Jessica shooting September, who keeps catching the bullets. However, when he can’t catch the bullets from her advanced gun designed by Bell, it’s Olivia (Anna Torv) who catches them. For an encore, she tosses ‘em back to Jessica, killing her. The wound inflicted upon September refers to last season’s episode “Back to Where You’ve Never Been.”

Eventually, Olivia and Peter (Joshua Jackson) cross over to the alternate reality where Bell is holding Walter (John Noble) hostage. To prevent the collapse of the two universes, Walter shoots Olivia in the head at point blank range, putting an end to Bell’s plans after he insists that her powers make it impossible to reverse the destruction of the two universes. Definitely the WTF moment of the season. However, he saves her by extracting the bullet quickly and her Corthexiphan-granted abilities heal her, possibly at the cost of her powers, per Walter’s hypothesis. 

Fringe gets a happy ending as Broyles (Lance Reddick) gets more money for Fringe Division and a promotion to general. Olivia makes a full recovery and is pregnant (possibly the kid we saw from a few episodes ago)? At the end (which felt like a tacked-on extra), September tells Walter that “They are coming.” We don’t know who “they” are, but we’ll find out next season, the last. 

 

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 8 of 8
1 
DaForce1 5/12/2012 12:48:49 PM

 We do know who 'they' are...the Observers. Remember, the Observers come and take over the Earth in either 2013 or 2014. We got this from the episode where it was 2036. It's no mystery where this show is headed, just like it was no mystery that Olivia had to 'die' to stop the destruction of both universes.

I got a very big Wizard of Oz feeling from this episode. With Olivia as Dorothy, Peter as the Tin Man, Walter as the scarecrow, Bell as the cowardly lion, and September as Oz. They've all been lead down this road to get to this point. It'll be fun to see how they end it.

zalder 5/13/2012 12:39:54 AM

Hmm I liked this episode much more than you did.  I would have given it an A.  Would have been better if they left Oliva dead but would have made next season basicly impossible.  I have been spoiled by anime and game of thrones that like to do crazy stuff like that I suppose.

Chopsaki 5/13/2012 11:13:24 AM

"To prevent the collapse of the two universes, Walter shoots Olivia in the head at point blank range"

I think I'm still in shock from this moment heh.

wish 5/13/2012 8:48:41 PM

what a great show!  Great episode and perfect way to tie together a few stories from this season and set up what should be an all killer no filler 13ep finale!!

isgrimner 5/14/2012 9:43:02 AM

I happened to save the two part finale and watched them back to back as suggested in the review.  I think I liked it better that way, which is why I waited to watch last weeks episode when I saw it was listed as a "part 1."

I'm guessing Peter's changing the timelines put Bell on the path he was on.   He seemed pretty genuine in helping the team a few seasons ago.   Also, whatever happened to his alternate version?  If they told us, I forgot. 

I think the "future" episode makes more sense now as it seemed just a throw in out of nowhere earlier.  I'm guessing it was there as a set up in case they got anotherseason. 

When they shot Astrid, I thought she was probably a goner for sure.  I figured it was a cost-cutting move for next season.  Pretty glad they didn't kill her.  Though she was up and moving around pretty quickly for having a gun shot.  Maybe Walter hooked her up with some Corthexiphan too.   On a side note, I always thought a younger Jasika Nicole would make a pretty good actress for Tuon from the Wheel of Time.

I am kind of glad the ending wasn't as big a cliff hanger as the one where Faux-livia took Olivia's place.  That wait to see what happened next sucked.  I hope we do get to see the other universe again, but thinking its possible that they may not go back there and focus on the Watchers next season. 

jdiggitty 5/14/2012 4:33:35 PM

isgrimner brings up a great point. Whatever happened to the alternate Bell? 

 

I believe they need to go to the other universe, at least to show us what it's fate is and the fate of Lincoln. Olivia will be able to get them there if need be. I suppose never knowing would be more realistic but hopefully not. 

invisage 5/14/2012 5:27:21 PM

I thought it was a pretty good episode. Definitely a come back from the last 2 episodes which I thought were a little sub par in the writing. Answered a number of questions (eg why Olivia was suddenly manifesting new powers) and tied up the one universe story line. And the WTF moment when Walter shoots Olivia was great.

isgrimmer & jdiggitty: Bell has been keeping himself alive against his cancer with Corthexiphan. The other universe doesnt have that so maybe alternate Bell succumbed to it?

@kurt good reveiw and I think your right about it being tacked on. Maybe while it was being filmed/written they still didnt know the shows fate? If it didn't get another season then they wouldn't add that on and maybe had something else to explain why the Observer controlled future wouldnt happen? But because it has been extended they needed something to lead into next season. Last years finale was pretty much a one way path so maybe this year it was a very close call on getting those extra 13 episodes?

Alkesandr 5/21/2012 3:18:41 PM

Alternate Bell probably still died in a car crash like he did in the original universe.

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.