Fringe: Liberty/An Enemy of Fate Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 31
<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  
mike10 1/21/2013 1:40:48 PM

Wow death4sale, going by your rule you would have missed Star Trek: The Next Generation since it didn't get good until way into the second season as well as a lot of other great shows. A lot of shows got slow starts and went on to become great. That's why I hate todays ADHD television climate where show are cancelled after a few episodes and never given a chance to get their acts together.

 

JDK008 1/21/2013 3:37:02 PM

 Fringe's finale was just perfect!  Amazing performances all around!  I'll miss this show dearly.  

Bryzarro 1/22/2013 5:45:28 AM

I thought this wa an exceptional finale.  To me it closed off everything just right.  And too many tear jerking moments to think of.  I love the humanizing of Windmark.  Burst blood vessel, nose bleeds, and the admitting of feeling hate.  Outstanding!!   

And I agree.  There were some really good episodes in Season 1.  But this was a show I got hooked on after really going through season 2.  My thoughts on shows now anyway are to give them 2 seasons before I fully get hooked.  The way some networks cancel a show after 1 season makes it almost not worth while.  

ddiaz28 1/22/2013 6:29:52 AM

It is a shame Bryzarro.  I have a friend who never watches any new show until it has a second season.  I think  a lot of people are doing that and it's causing a catch 22.  Not enough viewers are watching some shows so they get canceld, but they aren't getting enough viewers because the networks don't give them a chance.  I'm still pissed that Last Resort got canned.  Best new show of the season hands down.   You have to give Fox credit for allowing Fringe to run it's course and end properly even though it's rating were never that great.

Bryzarro 1/22/2013 8:52:33 AM

 I agree ddiaz.  I have to say latley my time isn't as free as it once was so I PVR alot.  And i don't know how the ratings system go when people PVR but I try and record as many new shows that interest me.  Thats way I can get into them when I have the time.  But I too have friends like yours who wait until a full 2nd season is approved too.

I do give Fox credit for doing the right thing.  I mean this is the newer generations X Files and they gave X Files a huge run.  But i'm going to make a better effort to try and support newer shows.  

I had read about Last resort and the commercials always caught my eye.  I'm dissapointed to hear it was cancelled.

DougRed4 1/22/2013 12:41:56 PM

The finale was a good one, and a satisfying, poignant ending to the series.

The show was never as good as The X-Files, but it had great characters and many fun stories.

lazarus 1/22/2013 3:01:31 PM

Really Doug? I am sorry Fringe wiped the floor with X Files in my opinion.

The networks should start using on demand data for viewing usage also. This is a new era with DVRs and people having hectic schedules. This mentality that if the don't watch it right away it fails is not going to work. At the same time I get the fact the advertisers are not going to place ads unless people are watching also. Who knows, I know Fringe was one of the BEST shows out there and now it has run its course.

No, too many simpletons want to watch CSI and think that law enforcement gives a crap like in those shows. Hey people I got a flash for ya, THEY DON'T. Most crimes go unsolved and unanswered because the budget doesn't permit them resources to bring the suspect to justice. Not unless it is a capital crime like murder.

Any way good bye Fringe, you were an awesome show and you will be missed.

death4sale 1/22/2013 4:49:25 PM

 @mike10-Actually I did miss Star Trek Next Generation as I couldn't get into those characters. I don't know what it is but I never felt any other Star Trek incarnations after TOS. My rule has kept me from investing my time in shows that soon got canceled thus saving myself the heartbreak that others suffer when a new show is canceled. But for me, if a show grabs me right away then I suspect it will be something special. Shows like Prison Break, Supernatural, Fringe, Battlestar Galactica, The Mentalist, Game of Thrones, House, and Person of Interest have managed to really capture my attention immediately because there was something, even something small, that brought me back. First time I saw Jack's eye open in the opening scene of Lost, I was hooked. I think that is the only show that has managed to hook me in the opening shot. If a friend swears that a show is great, then I may give it a chance. I never had an interest in Battlestar, but my friend told me how great it was and I'm glad he did.

death4sale 1/22/2013 5:00:38 PM

Sometimes, you can really feel when a show is going to be awful. As a filmmaker myself and as someone who has worked on a few film sets as well as TV sets, I can kind of judge the quality of a show. Sometimes I'm not always right, but if I hate any characters in the beginning, odds are, I will never like them. A great example is V. I tried so hard and really wanted to like it because I love Morena Baccarin and Elizabeth Mitchell, but her son on the show was a terribly annoying character right off the bat and ruined the show for me from the get-go. I stopped watching  after the first episode because that son was just someone I wanted to smash across the face with a heavy piece of mining equipment and leave bleeding in the moonlight. I know I'm not the only one who felt this way about that damn son on V.

Noovtere 1/23/2013 12:03:17 AM

The Observers may still exist in the new timeline only with their emotions intact as Michael does.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.