Game of Thrones: The Ghost of Harrenhal Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 22
1 2 3 >  >>  
isgrimner 4/30/2012 6:57:44 AM

I think this was one of the better episodes this season.  I'm still waiting for things to intensify a bit. 

Would have liked to have seen Ghost with Jon on the Fist. Between his upcoming mission, and the previews you can tell his path is about to get a bit more exciting.  Though if my memory serves, they have not shown two events regarding Jon that I believed important that I thought would have happened by then if my memory serves.

I had pictured Melisandre's shadow assassin slicing Renly's thoat, but dead is dead.  They have definately revealed Margeary Tyrell to be quite ambitious much earlier than the books.  I have to say that dress they had her in looked rediculous. 

Over with Dany, we should see soon what was my favorite part of reading her chapters, though I curious to how much they'll show.  I just want to see a harp player, mainly.  I do think her dragons should be a bit bigger right now.  Still small enough to perch on her shoulder but maybe half again their current size. 

Bran's part this week was small, but offered some clues to the future. 

bennyhill 4/30/2012 8:45:57 AM

 isgrimmer, we're all very impressed that you've read the books, but this is an episode review.  Please refrain from skipping ahead or pointing out how they did it differently in the book.  You never know, they may later include the scene.. just not in the same way or in the same order that it was presented in the book.  I know there is a spoilers alert at the beginning of the review, but that should be a spoiler warning for those who haven't yet watched the episode, not for what later happens in the story.

isgrimner 4/30/2012 9:02:31 AM

you know what, I think I stay vague enough.  I'm not going to change.  Skip my posts. 

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 4/30/2012 9:09:11 AM

You are pretty vague - Isgrimmer - but when you mention people that are still in later books you kind of give away that they won't die soon.

swisshammer 4/30/2012 9:32:44 AM

My favorite part of the episode? Jaqen's interaction with Arya. I'm reading the book now, so it gave away a little of what's to come for me, but I thought it was brilliant. He's like a tougher, more dangerous, and scarier Mad Mardigan. Love that character.

Also, the shadow killer was AWESOME! Very good effects.

I thought Margerie's dress was pretty hot. Although, they could put her in anything and she'd make it sexy.

heath0920 4/30/2012 10:27:54 AM

I continue to be more and more impressed with the talents of the child actors on the show. Bran comes across as convincing and serious in a role that right now would be easy to turn into a repeat show each time. "I'm the cripple and I get carried from place to place." But the boy who plays him seems thoughtful, serious, and more than a little spooky which I think works great. And then there's Arya. I certainly enjoyed her parts of the novels but the actress who plays her might be my favorite of the cast, even more than Dinklage. Jon's my favorite in the novels, but I look forward to her more and more on the show. Considering how dark her part of it is and how mature a tale with which she's involved, I am impressed! 

raulendymion 4/30/2012 10:39:18 AM

Yeah, where do they find these actors? Not one line was in need of a reshoot despite, as you point out, heath, the maturity of the material.

There's not a wasted line in the entire show. The dialogue is simply unparalled in modern television. And every set is a work of art.

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 4/30/2012 10:49:07 AM

The kids are awesome. I'm just worried how it will look when they all hit their growth spurts.

But what about what they did with Brienne? She turned out AWESOME. No reviewer so far has mentioned her and how they transformed a model into an ugly warrior knight that looks like she can really kick ass. I wonder where all the haters are now.

 

POSSIBLE SPOILER

On another note - does anybody that has read the books ever have the impression that Joqen is supernatural or something?

raulendymion 4/30/2012 12:21:27 PM

Yeah, and her fight scenes are damn good! I wonder how much of that is actually her (the actress).

 

fatpantz 4/30/2012 1:16:15 PM

Lord Tyrion king of trolling: "Marcella is a sweet innocent girl and i dont blame her at all for you" Queen: "You are always so clever, always with your schemes and plots" Tyrion: "Schemes and plots are the same thing."

I love listening to all conversations with Peter Dinklage.  He is so quick and dry with his wit and truly the star of this show.  Who am I kidding, every single character on this show is amazing!

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.