Game of Thrones: VALAR MORGHULIS Review - Mania.com



Game of Thrones: VALAR MORGHULIS Review

Mania Grade: A+

51 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: VALAR MORGHULIS
  • Starring: Gwendoline Christie, Peter Dinklage, Sibel Kekilli, Raw Leiba
  • Written By: David Benioff (creator), D.B. Weiss (creator)
  • Directed By: Alan Taylor
  • Network: HBO
  • Series:

Game of Thrones: VALAR MORGHULIS Review

Season Finale

By Jarrett Kruse     June 04, 2012
Source: Mania.com

*SPOILER ALERT*SPOILER ALERT*SPOILER ALERT*SPOILER ALERT*SPOILER ALERT*SPOILER ALERT

The Game of Thrones Season 2 finale was a truly epic TV event. This was the kind of climax episode that will have both geeks and regular folk talking at the water coolers for the next few days. At the end of last week’s battle at Blackwater, Pop Tywin Lannister (Charles Dance) rode in to King’s Landing claiming victory in putting down Stannis and his approaching army. What a difference a week makes. King Joffrey has stripped his uncle Tyrion (Peter Dinklage) of his Hand of the King title replacing his grandfather in his stead. Soon we learn that Tyrion’s near fatal injury was at the hand of his merciless sister Cersei. Tyrion is in bad shape and recovering when a visit from none other than the Spider (Conleth Hill) reminds him that his deeds will be remembered regardless what history may say. This was a major character departure for Lord Varys as he even brought Tyrion’s beloved Shae to his side. What the Spider plans to gain from these niceties is yet to be seen but he is one cool customer.

In his recovery from his loss at Blackwater, Stannis is again at the side of the dark sorceress Melisandre (Carice van Houten). She assures the defeated Baratheon that his victory is imminent but it will be a far greater and darker war than expected. Upon looking into the fire (and escaping death at the hand of Stannis), Melisandre sees what is to come and shares her vision in the flames with him. Whatever was in that fire had Stannis’ eyes widen and if Melisandre is involved I get nervous. It was prescient that they covered this as it seems like this is something that is going to be a big factor next season. At Winterfell, Theon is in quite the fix trying to worm his way out of the hole he has dug for himself. In a scene that had me in hysterics, Theon gives a convincingly rousing speech to his troops to continue the fight before being hit over the head by his own men. Classic. 

Catching up with Arya is when we hear the namesake of the episode “Valar Morghulis” said by Jaqen H’ghar (Tom Wlaschiha). The elusive mystic warrior gives the young Stark a “magical” coin and tells her to utter the phrase to any man from Bravos and he will then appear. Jaqen then shape-shifts right before our eyes into a completely different person! Awesome. The other Stark tots did not fare as well as Bran and Rickon along with Hodor and Osha bid farewell to Maester Luwin after he was stabbed by Theon’s men. It was a bittersweet moment when they move on. Their one last true link to Winterfell has now been severed. 

Although we were all complaining about Khaleesi ‘s continued whining about her dragons the last few episodes, it proved to be the lull we needed to think she was out of the game. In a brilliantly executed sequence at the House of the Undying, we are treated to a breathtaking and magical retrieval of the three dragons. With her Targaryen blood boiling, Khaleesi rises again and viciously seeks revenge on Xaxos. As if this scene was not enough of a show stopper, we are taken a world away to the icy freeze where Sam is marooned by a blizzard with only a rock to stay behind. Forcing himself to look at the approaching force, Sam sees a brilliant army of FX majesty as the White Walkers are finally revealed. Although clearly spotting him, the walkers continued on their march of the undead.  It looks like winter has finally arrived. Now how many days left in summer?


COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 51
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
muddseye 6/4/2012 10:10:37 AM

Excellent episode!  I havent read the books but dont want to as I dont want it to sully my experience.  IM just saddened that I have to wait 42 weeks for new Thrones...

muddseye 6/4/2012 10:11:12 AM

Oh and Long Live the Half man!

Wiseguy 6/4/2012 10:20:29 AM

OK I've been staying off the reviews cause too many here that have read the books can't shut up and I was growing tired of navigating around spoilers

Anyway awesome series, haven't said it in a long time so yeah best series in the history of history, like SpongeBob would say

Varys really really surprised me. This guy has got game thou, much respect. He manages to keep his head and even better keeping the bullseye off his head all the time playing the game as they put it. I wonder if he was the one that lead Cersei astray with the wrong hooker.

Tyrion, what can I say what others haven't. Just awesome. Having been this close to death and targeted by his sister then having Shae stand by him maybe'll knock off some of his cynicism, but not too much cause that's what makes him him

Wiseguy 6/4/2012 10:28:20 AM

Why didn't Sansa leave with the Hound? Funny that she thought she was getting a free pass once Joffrey opted for that other girl. An ever worsse future may in store for her. I thought Baelish was going to propose to her there for a minute, figured can't have the mom I'll have the daughter

The Theon speech was funny but saw that coming a mile away

And lastly to my friends that have read the books, yeah I know I just finished talking about your loose lips;), but I need to know what happened to Theon. Was he turned over to Robb;'s men or was he dragged back to the Iron Isles. Nothing more please, I don't want a big spoiler just his immediate status

rambis1979 6/4/2012 10:35:29 AM

Mini-spoiler!!!

All the books kind of blur together but things happen different in the book when Theon loses Winterfell. He is not delivered to Robb. He is assumed to be dead once he loses Winterfell.

Wiseguy 6/4/2012 10:40:13 AM

Dead? that's a pity. I almost felt bad for him. He turned into a terrible person but I mostly blame the guilt trip his pop and sis put on him. Then again he did kill those 2 kids

Wiseguy 6/4/2012 10:41:46 AM

Man I'm having withdrawal issues already. Damn I LOVE THIS SHOW, I would marry this show if I could, I want to sleep with it, snuggle with and have sweet passionate love with it

violator14 6/4/2012 10:56:16 AM

damn so happy with this finale as well. very satisfying with how Theon's story ended, the dragons finally kicked some ass, Rob marrying his nurse chick, and last but not least... zombies!!??!?!? ZOMBIES!?!?! Awesome!!! However too bad for Tyrion who got majorly screwed, but im sure he'll bounce back like he always does. atleast he's alive, cuz he's by far one of the most interesting characters on the show. I'm really glad I jumped on the bandwagon a month ago cuz this show is turning out to be one of the best!

Wise- I wouldnt mind having sloppy seconds after u have you have your way w/ the show in bed. Just make sure you clean it up well. haha

swisshammer 6/4/2012 11:10:17 AM

Violator: They're not zombies, per se. They can think and react and move in ways zombies can't. But yeah, they rise from the dead. I wasn't expecting that we'd see them, though, having read the book. They changed quite a few things from the book, but it seems to be working out ok.

And how about Jaqen H'gar?!?!?!?! I'm really crossing my fingers and hoping that we will see him again soon. That guy is a serious bada$$ and easily one of my favorite characters.

Wise: Here's a little more of an explanation of what happened to Theon in the book (so don't read on if you don't want to know how different it is): Theon didn't kill Ser Rodrick in the book. He kills Mikken the smith instead. So Ser Rodrick is sent by Robb to take back Winterfell with some men. In order to hold him off, Theon threatens to hang Ser Rodrick's daughter from the walls of Winterfell, right in front of him. So Rod doesn't know what to do. He backs off and then later that night is attacked by Roose Bolton's bastard son's army. He's kind of a renegade and doing stuff for himself. He brings Theon the dead Rodrick and a few of his top men as a sign that he is helping Theon. When Theon lets him into Winterfell, Bolton's bastard takes Theon captive and burns down Winterfell and kills Maester Luwin. The rest pretty much happens the same from there out.

violator14 6/4/2012 11:17:24 AM

Swiss- hey ya wtf is up w/ that guy?!?!?! My wife and I just straight call him the Ninja dude. He has powers or something?? That guys is so mysterious and awesome in such a weird way that he cracks me up.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS