Hellsing Box Set - Mania.com

Anime/Manga Reviews

Mania Grade: B+

0 Comments | Add


Rate & Share:


Related Links:



  • Audio Rating: B+
  • Video Rating: A-
  • Packaging Rating: B
  • Menus Rating: B+
  • Extras Rating: B+
  • Age Rating: 15 & Up
  • Region: 2 - Europe
  • Released By: ADV Films UK
  • MSRP: £49.99
  • Running time: 325
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Disc Resolution: 480i/p (mixed/unknown)
  • Disc Encoding: MPEG-2
  • Series: Hellsing

Hellsing Box Set

By Paul Jacques     October 09, 2004
Release Date: September 20, 2004

Hellsing Box Set
© ADV Films UK

What They Say
The Hellsing Organization ? frontline operatives in a shadow war against unspeakable evil! Led by Sir Integra Hellsing, grand-daughter of the notorius vampire hunter, they protect Queen & country with a number of secret weapons, but none more fearsome that the rogue vampire, Arucard! Joined by Seras Victoria, a former policewomen now vampire sired by Arucard, they must defend both themselves and the nation from enemies on all sides ? including the past ?.

The Review!
This is the full 4x disc original, presented as a single Collectors box set.

I listened in both English and Japanese, and both are excellent (224Kbps), with the Japanese language having a tad more bass. It has to be said that the music is one of the highlights of this series; the opening tune is "Cool the world without logos" Yasushi Ishii, the closing theme is ?Shine? by Mr. Big. As such the audio is no different from the original release.

The very modern video presentation is still clean and pleasing to the eye, with no visual problems detected. Only a 16:9 presentation could of made it better. As such the video is no different from the original release.

The new front cover has Arucard, Seras and Sir Integra in pose. The rear has no stills as it has to list the features for the 4x disc contained inside. A welcome addition is that the box is clear and so it comes with a reversible cover, but this B side cover is not as visually interesting as the A side. The disks themselves have the original printed graphics of Arucard. This new box set lacks the original mini posters, so I?ve marked it down slightly in this area.

Following in the tracer steps of the previous disk we have (Arucard?s) bullets for option hotspots, whilst accompanied by the same spooky incidental music along the lines of "Ave Satani? (the chant music from Omen). The background picture is of a grinning Incognito. We still have a tiny distortion in the incidental music (right channel), but you?re hardly going to be hanging around the menu long enough to notice. That notwithstanding, the links all worked without issue. As such the menu is no different from the original release.

All discs contain the original extras (please see review of original release for full details), and no new material has been added.

Content: (please note that content portions of a review may contain spoilers)
As nothing new has been added please read the reviews of original release for full episode details.

Well, it has to be said that this box set doesn?t really bring anything new to party, and in fact you loose the mini posters from the original release. I think ADV should have put in a toy\ figure\ giant poster\ .357 Magnum (erm, maybe not), this would have made it special. If you have the original series keep it and pass this box set by, this is for hard core fans, newbie?s and people who persistently complain about shelf space.

Personally I like collections; they make sense in both space saving and monetary terms. If you don?t already have Hellsing (why not?) then this is the perfect time to pick it up the complete set in one fell swoop.

Japanese Language 2.0,English Language 2.0,English Subtitles ,Magazine Art,Clean ending,Concept art collection,Weapons,Staff interviews

Review Equipment
JVC 28" Pure Flat Wide Screen TV, Pioneer 454 Progressive Scan code free DVD player, Logitech Z-680 THX DD/DTS receiver & Speakers. Secondary equipment, 21? Sony Trinitron monitor, ATI 9700pro & PowerDVD v4, Creative Audigy 2 & headphones.


Be the first to add a comment to this article!


You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.