HWA Announces Lifetime Achievement Awards - Mania.com

Book News

0 Comments | Add


Rate & Share:


Related Links:



  • Series:

HWA Announces Lifetime Achievement Awards

Preliminary Ballot for the 2008 Stoker Awards

By Tim Janson     January 29, 2009

Author Bram Stoker, well known author of Dracula.
© N/A
The Horror Writers Association has announced the recipients of their Lifetime Achievement award, to be presented during this year’s Bram Stoker Awards in June. The recipients are Chelsea Quinn Yarbro and F. Paul Wilson. 
Yarbro is best known for her vampire hero, Count Saint-Germain. She is the first woman ever to receive the International Horror Guild’s Living Legend award. She also was the first woman elected president of the Horror Writers Association. Yarbro's novels are notable for laying the groundwork for the recent upsurge of "paranormal romance" and trans-genre fiction.
Wilson is best known for his Repairman Jack series of novels, though those are only a part of his more than 40-book canon. In 1979 he won the first Prometheus Award and claimed a Porgie Award in 1984. He won a Bram Stoker Award in 1999 and has been recognized by the American Library Association and the New York Public Library.
The Lifetime Achievement Award is the most prestigious of the Bram Stoker Awards, given by the HWA in acknowledgment of superior achievement not just in a single work but over an entire career. Past Lifetime Achievement Award winners include such noted authors as Stephen King, Anne Rice, Joyce Carol Oates, Ray Bradbury, and Peter Straub. Winners must have exhibited a profound, positive impact on the fields of horror and dark fantasy, and be at least sixty years of age or have been published for a minimum of thirty-five years.
This year’s Stoker Awards will be held June 12 – 14, at the Burbank Airport Marriott Hotel and Convention Center in Burbank, CA.

Here's the preliminary ballot for this year's awards.

Superior Achievement in a NOVEL
COFFIN COUNTY by Gary Braunbeck (Leisure)
THE SHADOW YEAR by Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)
GHOST WALK by Brian Keene (Leisure)
THE REACH by Nate Kenyon (Leisure)
DUMA KEY by Stephen King (Scribner)
JOHNNY GRUESOME by Gregory Lamberson (Bad Moon/Medallion)
WATER WITCH by Deborah Leblanc (Dorchester/Leisure)
BAD MOON RISING by Jonathan Maberry (Pinnacle)
DEAD AND GONE by Harry Shannon (Delirium Books)
THE PRICE by Alexandra Sokoloff (St. Martins)
THE MAN ON THE CEILING by Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem (Wizards of the Coast)
Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL
BESTIAL: WEREWOLF APOCALYPSE by William D. Carl (Permuted Press)
APRICOT BRANDY by Lynn César (Juno Books)
MIDNIGHT ON MOURN STREET by Christopher Conlon (Earthling Publications)
VEINS by Lawrence C. Connolly (Fantasist Enterprises)
ETERNAL VIGILANCE by Gabrielle S. Faust (Immanion Press)
THE GENTLING BOX by Lisa Mannetti (Dark Hart Press)
MONSTER BEHIND THE WHEEL by Michael McCarty and Mark McLaughlin (Delirium Books)
FROZEN BLOOD by Joel A. Sutherland (Lachesis Publishing)
CRIMSON ORGY by Austin Williams (Borderlands Press)
Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION
THE LAGERSTATTE by Laird Barron (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy)
THE SHALLOW END OF THE POOL by Adam-Troy Castro (Creeping Hemlock)
MIRANDA by John R. Little (Bad Moon Books)
REDEMPTION ROADSHOW by Weston Ochse (Burning Effigy)
THE CONFESSIONS OF ST. ZACH by Gene O'Neill (Bad Moon Books)
ORPHEUS AND THE PEARL by Kim Paffenroth (Magus Press)
BEHOLD THE CHILD by Harry Shannon (Brimstone Turnpike)
JUST LIKE HELL by Nate Southard (Thunderstorm Books)
POPULATION ZERO by Wrath James White (Cargo Cult Press)
ORGY OF SOULS by Wrath James White, and Maurice Broaddus (Apex Book Company)
Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION
THE LAST WORD by Maria Alexander (Sins of the Sirens)
CONSUMED by Michael Louis Calvillo (Horror Library Volume 3)
PETRIFIED by Scott Edelman (Desolate Souls)
MECHANIX by Christopher Fulbright (Bound for Evil)
THE LOST by Sarah Langan (Cemetery Dance Publications)
THE DUDE WHO COLLECTED LOVECRAFT by Nick Mamatas, and Tim Pratt (Chizine)
THE HAVEN by John Palisano (Horror Library Vol. 3)
TURTLE by Lee Thomas (Doorways)
THE BLOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD by Paul Tremblay (Chizine)
THOSE EYES by Mark W. Worthen (Thinner Than Mist)
Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY
THE UNDEAD: HEADSHOT QUARTET edited by Christina Bivins and Lane Adamson (Permuted Press)
LIKE A CHINESE TATTOO edited by Bill Breedlove (Dark Arts Books)
HORROR LIBRARY VOL. 3 edited by R. J. Cavender (Cutting Block Press)
ABOMINATIONS edited by Tim Deal (Shroud Publishing)
BENEATH THE SURFACE edited by Tim Deal (Shroud Publishing)
UNSPEAKABLE HORROR edited by Vince A. Liaguno and Chad Helder (Dark Scribe Press)
Superior Achievement in a COLLECTION
THE NUMBER 121 TO PENNSYLVANIA by Kealan Patrick Burke (Cemetery Dance Publications)
MAMA'S BOY AND OTHER DARK TALES by Fran Friel (Apex Publications)
JUST AFTER SUNSET by Stephen King (Scribner)
LITTLE CREATURES by Michael McCarty (Sam's Dot Publishing)
OTHER GODS by Stephen Mark Rainey (Dark Regions Press)
THE AUTOPSY AND OTHER TALES by Michael Shea (Centipede)
SHEEP AND WOLVES by Jeremy C. Shipp (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
FOURTOLD by Michael Stone (Baysgarth Publications)
GLEEFULLY MACABRE TALES by Jeff Strand (Delirium)
ENNUI AND OTHER STATES OF MADNESS by David Niall Wilson (Dark Regions Press)
Superior Achievement in NONFICTION
SHADOWS OVER NEW ENGLAND by David Goudsward, and Scott T. Goudsward (BearManor Media)
BRAM STOKER'S NOTES FOR DRACULA by Robert Eighteen-Bisang and Elizabeth Miller (McFarland)
SPIRITS AND DEATH IN NIAGARA by Marcy Italiano (Schiffer Publishing)
THE NEW ANNOTATED DRACULA by Leslie S. Klinger (W. W. Norton)
BEAUTY AND DYNAMITE by Alethea Kontis (Apex Publications)
CHEAP SCARES by Gregory Lamberson (McFarland)
ZOMBIE CSU by Jonathan Maberry (Citadel)
MODERN MYTHMAKERS by Michael McCarty (McFarland)
A HALLOWE'EN ANTHOLOGY by Lisa Morton (McFarland)
THE BOOK OF LISTS: HORROR by Amy Wallace, Del Howison, and Scott Bradley (Harper)
Superior Achievement in POETRY
THE NIGHTMARE COLLECTION by Bruce Boston (Dark Regions Press)
THE PHANTOM WORLD by Gary William Crawford (Sam's Dot)
VIRGIN OF THE APOCALYPSE by Corrine De Winter (Sam's Dot Publishing)
THE FLAYED MAN AND OTHER POEMS by Phillip A. Ellis (Gothic Press)
ATTACK OF THE TWO-HEADED POETRY MONSTER by Mark McLaughlin and Michael McCarty (Skullvines Press)
GHOSTS OF THE FUTURE by Darrell Schweitzer (Borgo)



Be the first to add a comment to this article!


You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.