Inglourious Basterds Movie Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 56
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
Chuck711 8/19/2009 6:24:18 AM

It takes a certain intellect, style, and culture to appreciate Quentin Tarantino.  Quentin isn't for everyone in the same way that college isn't for everyone.  Some people were simply meant to be Walmart greeters and janitors and enjoy Michael Bay movies, and that's okay.

dragon261 8/19/2009 6:43:22 AM

Tarantino's films are self indulgent crap I wouldn't even waste money renting any of his shitty films. He ripsoff every 70's movie he ever saw and calls it an homage. I hope this movie tanks...And Brad Pitt would be getting half the work he's getting if it weren't for him screwing that boney bitch freak of nature Angelina Jolie.

Hobbs 8/19/2009 7:12:23 AM

Wow, whats up with all the hate?  You haven't even seen the movie yet. 

silversurfer 8/19/2009 8:46:11 AM

This is going to be a huge success, because it's QT and this could be a nice shot in the arm...Some people don't get QT but it would be hard to deny Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and Kill Bill 1 and 2...

Looking forward to this one....

gauleyboy420 8/19/2009 10:00:30 AM

I like QT movies, I think he is a visionary director, Love all of his movies (Deathproof being the weakest link IMHO) BUT being a fan of Michael Bay movies, like I am, I'm gonna respect everyoones opinion, (and not bash on what people like and dis like, as I get a lot of flack for liking TF 1&2, and other movies thta many maniacs railagainst)

If you don't like his Movies thats fine, some people like Coke, some like Pepsi.

I like it all.

gauleyboy420 8/19/2009 10:01:19 AM

I do have to say though...dragon, I don't think Brad is getting work because of Angelina....

Why all the hate?

DaForce1 8/19/2009 10:31:25 AM

Chuck711, if by a 'certain intellect, style, and culture' you mean beer-guzzling, brainless frat boy that still has cinderblock furniture and eats Cheetos found in their navel, then I agree with you. Anyone that has watched the same movies that QT has (and I have) knows that he just rips scenes from obscure movies that are buried on the back of videostore shelves. After all, that's what QT was before his scripts started selling; a videostore clerk.

With that said, I learned long ago that QT-directed movies are best watched with a remote in hand, and finger on the fast-forward button. This way you can get past the verbally, self-indulgant masturbation and get to the small amount of story buried within. Reined in by other people and a different (and competent) director, QT's writing can be used effectively to make a good movie (True Romance is a case in point). Given free-rein, you get two movies (where only one was needed) because of the drawn out ridiculousness of verbal diarrhea and complete lack of a capable editor (in other words, Kill Bill 1 and 2).

This movie is going to be beat out by District 9 (barely) this weekend. It may have a longer lifespan than a Kevin Smith movie (which ironically are the same fans of QT's work), but not much longer than that.

I await the flames from the usual peanut gallery here.

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 8/19/2009 10:46:28 AM

People are crazy.

Brad Pitt getting twice the work because of Angelina?  What?  Brad Pitt was and is a bigger star than Angelina.  That's the stupidest thing I've heard all day. I just woke up, though.

Shadow, you don't think that the 'torture' of Nazis is warranted in this movie?  They did a lot worse to the Jews and I think they probably deserve a lot more than whatever this movie may depict.

All the people complaining about QT's 'verbal diarrehea' miss the point, I guess, because I think the dialouge is the best part of the movies.  And that's what he's all about it the dialouge.  I mean does anybody remember the beginning of Resevoir Dogs - that was all the first fifteen minutes was and it was great.  But to each their own.  I guess your boats float because of different reasons than mine.  But you're the type of people that probably have no patience and want your crap NOW, NOW, NOW aka The Typical American.  Where I am The Atypical American as are many but not most on here.  I think that the same people that hate QT films probably hate foreign films and films with subtitles - which aren't necessarily one and the same thing, mind you.  I bet you all hated Let the Right One In - it was boring to you, wasn't it?

I forgot what else I was going to say.

 

ponyboy76 8/19/2009 10:48:57 AM

Why all the hate? Well, because that`s what most people like to do, hate. They can't help it. People who hate QT are usually elitist pricks. I`m saying usualy, but not always

Opinion is one thing, full on hate for someone is defintiely another but what ever. In my opinion, QT is one of the greatest autuers of our time. To not put him up there with directors like Cameron, Speilberg , Kurosawa, Eastwood, Scorsese Lucas, Jackson,and Peckinpah is just seemingly ignorant. You may not like his movies but you can not deny the man's talent as a director. Yes, his personality is one of a weirdo who does talk alot, but that's just him. Yes, he borrows, steals from other movies. He fully admits it. Scorsese stole from a bunch of his favorite movies and directors in alot of his movies too, including his new one , Shutter Island. No ones complaining. QT is an easy target because he is weird and he talks alot of shit. Anyway, I`m deinitely going to see this on Saturday.

Niehn Niehn Niehn!!!
I say, "YES YES YES!"

And Brad Pitt has been getting work way before he was going out with Angelina Jolie. Fight Club, Seven, True Romance, Interveiw with a Vampire,, Legends of the Fall, 12 Monkeys. Should I go one? I smell plain retarted jealousy. Haterade

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 8/19/2009 10:50:16 AM

Oh, yeah, about the stealing from movies.  That's what I wanted to complain about.  He doesn't steal he pays homages - like he says - and he's not the only one.  Hell, I'll give you one director that "stole" from a lot of movies and it's the King Kong of all sci-fi  movies to maybe one third of you haters - I imagine - and that's George Lucas' Star Wars.  He "ripped a bunch of stuff off" and admits it and there even a show on the History Channel about it.  But I never once heard you all complain about that.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.