IRON MAN 2 Movie Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 71
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
shac2846 4/28/2010 9:16:39 PM

Didn't Rob, and basicly every other critic, say that it rehashes too much stuff from the first one. I think that's judging it on it's own merits. Maybe I missed something MrJawbreakingEquilibrium  but if the movie is rehashing the same stuff from the first one then I think people have a right to call it out. And if it is really rehashing alot of stuff from the first which is what I've been reading it isn't boading well for it's own merits. And you talk about the story but that's what they've been saying, weak story.  If  you're not bringing something better to the table there really isn't a reason to come back. Why come back just to retread things you have already done? The most successful sequels always kick it up a notch while adding on to what came before. From what I understood reading many of these reviews the film just doesn't stick to it's own story. It spends too much time being a big set up for future marvel movies. I'll judge for myself. I'm still going to see this but it's kind of a bummer that it's getting mixed reactions.

spiderhero 4/29/2010 4:13:07 AM

Reserving judgment till I see it.

Darkknight2280 4/29/2010 4:31:20 AM

REVIEWS ARE POINTLESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are for people who cant think for themselves! And Sheeple!

monelonmonday 4/29/2010 5:30:49 AM

 you guys are fickle,every column before this wonder if they are going to do this or that in regards to future marvel movies now its "this movie is promoting the future movies to much" as far as rehashing the first ,this is suppose to be right where the first leaves off,how much do your lives change day to day?watch it for what it is a good comic book movie with an uncritical eye unless of course its another wolverine or it plays too heavy to what they think yhe fans want

Wiseguy 4/29/2010 6:01:59 AM

Now I'm looking forward to MacGruber

Of course that'll be after I see IM2 about 5 times

midwest216 4/29/2010 6:41:20 AM

good review. Watching the trailers and reading the hype and interviews, I figured this to be decent if not safe film with countless references to the upcoming Avengers movie. Especially with the over-marketing campaign, I dont expect this movie to reach the wow factor of the first but I hope it doesnt disappoint like the second Transformers did imo.

TheStormrider 4/29/2010 6:57:20 AM

I like when a comment rehashes their point of rehasing all throughout their comment:)

I could be a minority,  but I like building plot threads using multiple movies, mediums.  So the advertisement aspects probably wont be embedded enough; at least for me.

I thought the first ironman was excelent.  My only gripe was the end battle was a little contrived. 

Ironman in the ironman universe has yet to reveal a villain,  or technology that can rival the suit.  Therefore to make a sequel,  you either have to weaken the suit,  add a new qualified rival,  or have the turmoil be internal. 

I didnt care for the 'weakening of the suit' in the first one.  The new rival,  looks promising and if they can manage to bring forth some inner turmoil (which the reviews seem to state they were unsuccessfull with the demon in a bottle references really striking home effectively weakening the strength of the film) you would have a great rounded story.

I hope all of the new movies clearly show they are gearing up for something bigger.  A movie that moves past the genre fans, pushes past the need explain what, why and where to everyone,  and instigates some legitimate action and drama.

 

shac2846 4/29/2010 7:22:11 AM

Hey Stormrider if the shoe fits, right? I'm actually getting married on opening day of IM2 so me and all of my friends and family are gearing up to see it the day after. I'm looking forward to it, just saying it seems to have more to do with future movies, which is cool I guess, than it does with Iron Man himself. And I have been binging on IM comics over the past two months and I know there is a mine of great stuff out there to pick from.  

akiraakobus 4/29/2010 7:25:38 AM

Wow a C in other words this film probably will have a B or A rating from most people, either way this film will be huge, and will probably only be topped by Toy Story as far a the Summer Boxoffice goes.

As for the Black Widow character just being thrown in, well yeah thats pretty much to be expected for some of the characters who cannot carry a franchise on their own, they probably will be added in as the franchise progresses theres doesn't necessarily have to be some huge reason for every character to be there or be the focus some are literally there just for the fans, nothing wrong with that.

shac2846 4/29/2010 7:44:40 AM

Actually after Toy Story 3  I think Inception might steel the summer, we'll see though.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.