IRON MAN 2 Movie Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 71
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
Rheul_home 4/29/2010 9:00:32 AM

I don’t think having our expectations lowered a bit is a bad thing. Im sure we will all enjoy this on its own merits. I like the idea of the Avengers set up being more than just a phrase squeezed into the movie... I'm still leaving work early to catch an early evening show with the Mrs. And will in all likelihood see it again with my friends when the hubbub dies down.

Blackwolf 4/29/2010 9:09:37 AM

 Here is my biggest complaint for people who are professional critics, for the most part they are people who have never written a story, made a movie, acted in a part, created anything that was their own and put it out there for people to rip on. Look every time a sequel comes out they think it has to be bigger and better than the original, this of course this leads the studio to think it must be bigger and better (cause they are watching the reviews) and then the director thinks it has to be bigger and better. Some where in all this the story is lost. What made the character and the story great is given way to more villains, more CGI and a sh&^ story. 

I agree with what was said previously here, people need to quit being "sheeple" and fu*^ing think for your  selves. IM2 could have gotten and F and I would still go see it cause it probably means that I would give it a B. There are people who thought KICK ASS was a great movie, I thought it should have been called HIT-GIRL and WHINY LITTLE &%$#. (Kick Ass as a character had no redeeming quality that made me feel anything for him as a hero, nothing.)

Go see the movie and make up your own mind and (and i need to do this myself) stop reading what critics think, they bring nothing to any craft other than there opinion.

tjanson 4/29/2010 9:35:43 AM

I honestly think Rob is being kind...I think its going to blow big time and that really irritates me because the same pattern is being followed once again when it comes to superhero film sequels...more more more...more fights, more explosions, more villains, more heroes, more of everything except a really good story.  Did Jon Favreau direct this or Joel Schumacher?

invisioner 4/29/2010 10:02:38 AM

 Good job. As a reviewer myself, you have to base grade on what is out there as well as overall performance. A grade C to me says it is at the level of the first movie, with a B or A being much better than the first, kinda like Star Trek the Motion Picture and Star Trek II from that.

invisioner 4/29/2010 10:06:37 AM

 Actually Dark Knight, I think reviews are helpful, especially with how expensive movies are today. I pay careful attention to WHO says WHAT. If I respect the level of sophistication from a reviewer, I see what they say, and judge it by what I know I like or respect in the production of a movie. Then, I decide if I am going to spend my $8 (matinee) 12.50 (reg) or $17.75 (3D) or .75 (netflix)

Reviewers help me save money.

EagleManiac 4/29/2010 11:31:16 AM

I ask the same question that has been asked before: Why DOES a sequel HAVE to better the original film? Not too many times are we goingto have Empire to Star Wars or Spidey 2 to Spidey 1, so if Iron Man 2 is a lot of fun, and has a lot of great moments, then what the hell else do we need? It extends the story, adds some new characters, and has bad ass action. This is a COMIC BOOK movie. It's supposed to be FUN!! That's all that counts IMO!!!

 

I can't WAIT to see this one!

And then bring on TRON: Legacy!!!!

 

violator14 4/29/2010 1:02:18 PM

I feel the same way u do Invisioner.

quick question for the review haters. If u truly don't ever care what critics or reviewers have to say, then why bother even clicking on the reviews/articles and bashing their opinion? Just  curiosity i guess?

Blackwolf 4/29/2010 1:16:12 PM

  That's right Eaglemaniac, if your thinking about the money then your not in it for fun. You want somebody who thinks like you to think FOR you so you don't have to do it yourself. I truly believe that critics are for, the most part, lazy people and cheap skates. By now if you've seen the clips and don' know what to do, you really don't want to see it, so don't go see it. I know right away whether I'm going to see a movie or not, critics hold no sway for me either way. As for why I look at them, call it curiosity if nothing more. I find it fantastic that someone would base what they do off someone else opinion. I'm just a free thinker I guess.

shac2846 4/29/2010 2:02:56 PM

And I ask the same question I did earlier, if you're not going to advance the story and make it better why even make the sequal. If you're just going to rehash the same shite (Pirates of the Carribean 2&3 anyone) why put in the effort. Granted I'm sure Iron Man 2 will be better than those damn pirate sequals but how do you think Empire, Spidey 2, Terminator 2, Star Trek 2, and TDK came out so well. The filmmakers took the time to craft a story that added to the first but was at the same time better. That's why you come back to make more. That's why there are so many lackluster sequals floating around and so few gems.

You're right  Violator, and I also stick my original comment, if the movie had been a home run critics would be saying so, I'm sure that includes Rob Vaux if memory serves me he gave the first one an A. I'm sure he wasn't under fanboy pressure to do so.  

DarkXid 4/29/2010 2:33:56 PM

To the writer of this article:

Your review shows thoughtfullness and some familiarity with the original film and even some of the source material. 

Other reviewers out there have ripped the film with such loose generalities and understanding, and even a pompous air of superiority- that I have wondered if they actually watched the movie or just sat there bored playing with their phone/popcorn/selves--trying to get together enough material so they could bash it afterwards but eventually giving up.

 The first review I read made me want to shoot them in the kneecaps and ask them to "dumb" their review down for me as I am one of the little people who don't understand all them big scary words or the pretentious, self-important idiots who have overblown delusions of their value to society as movie critics. 

You show no signs of that, so I thank you.  But, yeah, I could use a chair on you....

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.