IRON MAN 2 Spoilers and Reviews - Mania.com



Comics2Film

30 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

IRON MAN 2 Spoilers and Reviews

Plus: DEAD OF NIGHT, BLOOD NATION, JONAH HEX and more!

By Rob M. Worley     April 28, 2010
Source: Mania


Comics2Film: IRON MAN 2
© Mania

'Iron Man 2' spoilers and reviews. Plus: Director Kevin Munroe talks 'Dead of Night'. Platinum inks 'Blood Nation' deal. 'Jonah Hex' poster debuts and more! A flippin' rerun? Nooooooo! It's your Comics2Film 10.4.28!

 

 

 

More IRON MAN 2 Reviews

The reviews for 'Iron Man 2' continue to pop up online. As we speak Mania's own Rob Vaux is feverishly typing up his on an oily old typewriter in a grungy garage somewhere in Russia.

Meanwhile, we have positive notices from:

  • ComingSoon.net - "It may be hard for anyone to claim that 'Iron Man 2' is nearly as mindblowingly amazing as the first movie was for its time, though it's still better than 95% of the movies based on Marvel Comics characters."
     
  • IGN #1 - 4 (out of 5) stars - "Despite its shortcomings, Iron Man 2 is one helluva good time."
     
  • IGN #2 (AU) - 4 (out of 5) stars - Supported by a terrific cast, surprisingly dense script and excellent effects work, this is another gold star for Favreau's Iron Man.

 

 

BATMAN: UNDER THE RED HOOD Details

Warner Bros has released details of the upcoming animated feature film 'Batman: Under the Red Hood'. The PG-13 movie arrives July 27, 2010. In case you missed the trailer for the film, it's now playing in the Mania video gallery.

The film ships as a special edition Blu-Ray or 2-disc DVD, and also as a less-expensive single-disc DVD. It'll also hit the On-Demand and download markets.

The voice cast has Bruce Greenwood (Captain Pike in the 2009 blockbuster Star Trek) donning the famed cowl as the voice of Batman. Supernatural star Jensen Ackles is Red Hood, and Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother) voices Nightwing. John DiMaggio (Futurama) and Jason Issacs (the Harry Potter films) round out the main cast as The Joker and Ra’s Al Ghul, respectively.

'Batman: Under the Red Hood' is scripted by award-winning comics writer Judd Winick and based on his popular 2005 comics storyline and subsequent comics graphic novel of the same name. Animation guru Bruce Timm returns as executive producer, as he has for all eight DC Universe animated original movies. Director is Brandon Vietti, who served as co-director of Superman Doomsday and was responsible for the first one-third of that film, including the fatal battle between the two title characters.

In 'Batman: Under the Red Hood', Batman faces his ultimate challenge as the mysterious Red Hood takes Gotham City by firestorm. One part vigilante, one part criminal kingpin, Red Hood begins cleaning up Gotham with the efficiency of Batman, but without following the same ethical code. Killing is an option. And when The Joker falls in the balance between the two, hard truths are revealed and old wounds are reopened.

Fans will be treated to an incredible package of DC Universe storytelling as the Special Edition Blu-Ray and 2-Disc Special Edition DVD include the second animated short in the all-new DC Showcase series – which features the popular DC Comics character, Jonah Hex.  The short is scripted by renowned author Joe Lansdale and stars the voices of Thomas Jane (Hung), Linda Hamilton (The Terminator), Michelle Trachtenberg (Mercy, Buffy the Vampire Slayer) and Michael Rooker (Days of Thunder).

'Batman: Under the Red Hood' - 2 Disc Special Edition DVD will have more than two hours of bonus features, including:

  • Featurette – Robin’s Story – It was decided it was time to add a fresh face into the story mix, which turned out to be Dick Grayson, aka Robin. This is the story of Dick Grayson and how he transformed into Robin, with Batman as his father-figure role model.
  • Extended Sneak Peek at the next DC UNIVERSE Animated Original PG-13 Movie.
  • Widescreen (1.78:1)
  • Two title-themed episodes from of Warner Bros. Animation’s 20-year history of Batman television series, hand-picked by animation legend Bruce Timm.
  • Batman: Under the Red Hood Special Edition Blu-Ray will have more than three hours of bonus materials, including all the great extras from the 2-disc Special Edition DVD as well as:
  • Featurette: Death in the House of Batman – The story of how DC Comics heard the fans’ cry that the new Robin was not going to fit the cape, and how the Boy Wonder was scheduled to die.
  • Two additional bonus Batman-themed episodes personally selected by Bruce Timm
  • Digital copy

 

 

Feige talks Marvel Universe On-Screen

During the recent 'Iron Man 2' press coverage, Collider.com got a chance to sit down one-on-one with Kevin Feige, President of Production at Marvel Studios. Here are some highlights.

On the time line of the current movies:

"There is something in ['Iron Man 2'], towards the end, that if you look carefully and this is for people like you and people like me, not the mainstream audience, there’s a clear marker of where Hulk fits in in the timeline," Feige revealed. He also added that this is not the Easter Egg scene (see below) but the upshot seems to be that 'Incredible Hulk' is happening around the same time as 'Iron Man 2'.

On Marvel doing smaller movies with lesser-known characters:

"There’s the development department at the studios right now is actively looking and speaking with people and figuring out post-'Avengers', you know, what characters we were going to bring to life. I’ve talked a lot about Iron Fist and a lot about Dr. Strange and Black Panther and clearly been working on Ant-Man with Edgar on and off for many years. And what are the next batches? Whether they’re Runaways, whether they’re big known characters or not. Blade was a great franchise and it wasn’t us…it was before my time…the first one. But I loved that it was a character that no one ever heard of. Never even had his stand alone book even. He was just an interesting character in Tome of Dracula, right? And that became a very cool, more or less a very cool franchise."

A question that's been on everyone mind since the Disney takeover is: Will Disney/Marvel try to reclaim franchises that are held by other studios (such as X-Men, Fantastic Four and Daredevil at Fox, or Spider-Man and Ghost Rider at Sony)?

"You know all the contracts are different and they’re all very specific.  So for the time being the projects within those other studios are licensed films I think will be there for awhile," Feige said.

It's a very interesting interview (with a funny, awkward divergence onto the topic of 'Twilight') so click through for the entire read.

Thanks to AntoBlueberry for the submission.

 

 

C2F Quick Hits

  • Warner Bros have revealed the new poster for 'Jonah Hex' starring Josh Brolin, John Malkovich and Megan Fox. The movie opens June 18, 2010.
     
  • Check out 10 Great Overlooked Performances in Comic Book Films and TV Shows right here on Mania.com.
  • ReelChicago.com reveals that 'Transformers 3' is set to roll cameras in Chicago starting July 4 and continuing for seven weeks.
     

  • Actor Clark Gregg, who signed a multi-picture deal to plays S.H.I.E.L.D. agent Coulson in various Marvel movies (including 'Iron Man 2') talked with Superhero Hype. He discusses things like the spoilers found at the foot of today's C2F, and also revealed that he will see expanded spy action in the upcoming Marvel movies. "I get to do some exciting things in some of the new stuff," he revealed.
     

  •  

     Actor Paul Ruebens (of Pee Wee Herman fame, natch) is set to lend his voice to the 'Smurfs' movie, according to Deadline.com. The actor is on board to play Jokey Smurf. And we don't recall reporting this before, but Quentin Tarntino is also voicing a character.

  • Thanks to AntoBlueberry for the submission.

 

 

Kevin Munroe Talks DEAD OF NIGHT

Over at the official blog for the movie 'Dead of Night' (based on Italy's popular Dylan Dog comics), director Kevin Munroe fielded questions from the fans and offered extensive responses.

Here are some interesting exceprts:

On the question of the trailer:

"...the big one that is still up in the air is the THEATRICAL TRAILER [emphasis his] – i.e. the one we’ll see before another movie in a theatre. That one is still under construction, and we’ll have to work with whatever studio gets the movie domestically here in the United States as well. And that decision will be coming very soon."

On the famed Dylan Dog villain Dr. Xabaras:

"We won’t see any sign of Xabaras in this film. But I wouldn’t rule it out at all for future installments. This movie is a much more personal introduction to Dylan and his recently haunted past as it happens in our New Orleans setting. But I would love to see the more Xabaras-themed storyline be introduced in coming sequels."

On the the movie's mix of horror, action and humor:

"The hardest part is that I’m really drawn to mixing tones. Be it Lethal Weapon as a balance of action/comedy, Shaun of the Dead as a horror/comedy/action, whatever.  It would be so much easier to just make a horror film. Or a straight comedy. Or action film. But I think Dylan Dog is great mix of them all. Mainly a suspenseful action movie that features horror film characters."

On how he got the job directing:

"I knew Dylan Dog and had read the 6 english translations years earlier and liked them a lot. I read the script and freaked out. It was everything I wanted to do in a live action film, and it was one of those moments when you read something and say 'I know how to make this. I need to make this.'"

Click through for lots more from Munroe.

Thanks to AntoBlueberry for the submission.

 

 

Platinum Signs Treaty for BLOOD NATION

Platinum Studios, the growing comic-to-film concern behind 'Dead of Night' and the upcoming 'Cowboys and Aliens', has inked a deal to transport their comic series 'Blood Nation' to the big screen. According to Variety, the studio has pacted with Alexandra Milchan's Emjag Prods to produce the film.

The comic tells of a near-future world where a country that's infested with vampires is walled off from the rest of the world. After decades of isolation, a team of human special ops infiltrate the country to prevent the vampire plague from spilling out of its containment.

The plot and concept are surprisingly similar to Boom! Studios 'Damn Nation', which signed 'Thor' screenwriters Ashley Edward Miller and Zack Stentz to a deal at the end of last year.

 

 

 

IRON MAN Spoilers!

Now that 'Iron Man 2' is being screened for critics and making its debut in foreign territories, the spoilers are starting to leak out. We present two below - one somewhat interesting, one very interesting. We will put the text of the spoilers in white type for your protection. Swipe the text with your cursor if you wish to read it.

Olivia Munn's role revealed by IGN.com:

We've read the rumors that the lovely Olivia Munn might be playing The Wasp or even the Scarlet Witch in the movie. Not so, says IGN. Instead she plays -- and this will seem like a huge stretch -- a TV personality (possibly named Olivia Munn) covering the Stark Expo. Amazing!

The big post-credits Easter Egg revealed by a bootleg YouTube clip:

The clip may be down by the time you read this, but we'll paint the picture for you. We see a car racing through the desert. We see Agent Coulson (Clark Gregg) on a cell phone making his report. Behind him is a giant, smoldering crater. The camera switches point-of-view and slowly pans to reveal the source of the crater: Thor's hammer, lying in the earth, handle towards sky, looking exactly as it does in the comics!

That's the end of the Spoilers! Please be careful with your comments below...

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 30
1 2 3 >  >>  
Hobbs 4/28/2010 7:01:08 AM

Wise pointed out IM2 was 85% at Rotten toms.  That alone is positive news. 

Not going to click on the spoilers...I can wait a week...but how the heck are other countries seeing this movie a week in advance?  LOL  Here comes the boot leg copies!  Everyone can see the movie about 5 days before it opens in U.S.

DarthDuck 4/28/2010 7:01:43 AM

I firmly believe that Munn is the source of any and all negative reviews for Iron Man 2

Can't wait for Under The Red Hood!

Wiseguy 4/28/2010 7:06:51 AM

I'd love to see a Black Panther movie with Chiewetal Elijofor as the lead. That would be awesome. And even though I don't like him much George Clooney would make an excellent Doc Strange

That final clip of IM2 was cool. I love it. Reminds me of the sequence seen in the FF comics a while back during Civil War

Let me just say that I am extremely relieved with that Munn report. God knows I was dreading having her as a major player

Here's a link to Iron Man 2's secret ending, well used to be secret. The video isn't great so you may want to wait it out if you can resist, I couldn't

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=17526
 

jedibanner 4/28/2010 7:12:21 AM

Ahh, that youtube video is already off...dammit.

CaptAmerica04 4/28/2010 7:12:28 AM

If it's not Kevin Conroy as Batman, I won't watch it. Sorry. It's just simple as that.

Quentin Tarantino is going to voice the little-known "Motherf***er Smurf."

jedibanner 4/28/2010 7:28:45 AM

Well, thanks Wiseguy for the link...it was still up and running. Very interesting ending indeed.

wessmith1966 4/28/2010 9:01:32 AM

Wise...I've talked about a Black Panther movie many times with Elijofor in the lead. That's really a movie I'd love to see. I'd like to see BP in The Avengers (one minor reason is to have a little ethnic diversity in the team) and then give him a movie of his own. Thanks for the link to the IM2 ending. I wanted to wait to see it in the theater, but I couldn't do it. I figured it would be something like that. The next couple of years are going to be a blast for people like me who have been reading the comics for 30 years.

gauleyboy420 4/28/2010 9:25:16 AM

PLEASE POST SPOILER ALERTS IN YOUR CMMENTS IF YOU ARE REFERRING TO THE IM2 SPOILERS!!! PLEASE!!!!!

I haven't read aLL of your comments yet, BUT I THINK I CAUGHT A GLIMPSE OF A SPOILER IN ONE OF YOUR COMMENTS!!!!! IT FUKKING SUCKS, I DIDN't READ THE SPOILERS FOR A FUKKING REASON!!!! POST A GODDAMM SPOILER WARNING!!!

I want to take part in MOST of the conversations on this board, BUT, I'm not reading the spoilers for IM2, I want it to be a surprise, I already have seen too many clips online. Trying to leave a bit of mystery to the film when I go see it.

***********PLEASE POST SPOILER WARNINGS IN YOUR COMMENTS!!*******

 

Rob even asked you all to be careful with your comments.

jfdavis 4/28/2010 9:27:38 AM

Smurfs-Paul Reubens as Jokey Smurf is spot-on casting. I'd love to hear Tarantino as Brainy Smurf. Has that role been cast yet?

Ironman 2- If that's the post credit scene and Stan Lee's cameo in Thor is as reported, the two movies blend right into each other.  Awesome!

Munn casting- I say ho hum to the whole thing...

Rheul_home 4/28/2010 9:37:33 AM

Way to be a d!ck violator14! Robbo should ban you.

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS