John Carter Blu-Ray Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 51
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
Wiseguy 6/7/2012 10:11:19 AM

tj I'm referring to most of the so called genre fans. Most seemed more happy predicting and seeing the movie flop. While most and I do mean most of the folk that I have spoken to or have commented that have actually seen the film liked it.

Wiseguy 6/7/2012 10:19:04 AM

shac I recall reading a similar piece on comparing JC and Battleship and the one that I tend to agree with more.

John Carter was a passion project, one by a visionary with creative ideas and risks.

Battleship is more a result of the usual Hollywood fare. A film by committe and by the numbers to appeal to the lowest common denominator.

Don't get me wrong, I like films like Battleship as much as the next guy. But I can see the suits approving and nodding as the film comes off the assembly line while chewing on their nails and instead of supporting trying to distance themselves from JC.

To add to that Disney promo head was dismissed and there was a new group during the time that the heaviest promotions should've been going on. But being that the new suits had no attachment to the film they weren't trying. I mean where were the Mcd or BK cross promotions or the toys. With a 250mil film you'd think all this would be in order

rogue188 6/7/2012 10:54:05 AM

This movie was definitely worthy of a B. I was thorughly entertained and had fun seeing it in the theater. I can't see how this was a flop at all. Was it thought-provoking? Not really. Did it have a few logic holes? Yes. Regardless, I have seen many other movies get much better ratings on here that did not deserve it. I would say give this movie a try before making judgment calls. Its not a waste of your time.

 

InnerSanctum 6/7/2012 11:01:14 AM

 Hey, I read all of the Carter books too and would have LOVED for this to have been a bigger success.  A lot of great stories will now go unseen on the movie screen.  I understand some had high expectations, but, like I said, most joe movie goers didn't even know the character or that these were based on a series of books.  I'll be honest, when I saw the trailers, it looked like they couldnt' make up their mind what this movie was about.  One moment a cowboy and next a guy fighting a giant monster.  They should have given it the proper treatment ala The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (now that first film got the treatment.  Too bad they didn't keep it up for the sequels.)  Let's just admit...they didn't seem to have faith in the film, nor how the hell to marekt it to genre fans.  

InnerSanctum 6/7/2012 11:03:52 AM

 And, be happy this version of John Carter got made.  At one time, Harry Knowles over on AICN had his pudgy little fingers in the project.  Then we would have had an incoherant film that rambled on and droped the "f" bomb every other word.  Simply because that guy can't express himself and can't write and article without it somehow involving his childhood.  Can't stand that site.  Anyway, I think this film suffered from the Rocketeer syndrome.  Both fun films that Disney didn't know how to market.  

tjanson 6/7/2012 12:17:00 PM

to clarify I did not call JC a flop.  I said while it made its money back it was a disappointment.  I'm sure Disney counted on making more than a $20 return on their investment. 

jedibanner 6/7/2012 1:18:41 PM

I still have not seen that dud and don't plan on it.

Marketing...interest...title...whatever reason affected the movie, it's clear in my mind the interest was not as large as what they though it would be and that was the end of it.

I'm a sci-fy type of guy and still, that movie had no interest for me.

And again, the fact they put more theatre with 3D then 2D killed any people who may have considered to see it because it was more focused on 3D theatres....then again...since not many people saw it the 2D rooms were probably empty anyway so, my point may just be that I hate 3D.......I really do.....DAMM 3D!!!!!

hanso 6/7/2012 1:38:08 PM

 That's messed up ElBaz, you said Janson's review wasn't good and then told people to go to another site to check another review.  In the words of Rick James, "Coldblooded."

Still haven't seen this flick cause I couldn't get around to it when it hit the theatres.  Will give it a go when those bastards at Netflix send it over.

Oh and Carter didn't make any money cause you gotta add the marketing costs which pushed the thing to $375 if I remember correctly.

tjanson 6/7/2012 1:48:42 PM

Hanso yes that's true.  Marketing not included in with the film budget but with overseas revenue it will likely still break even. 

Jedi, I STILL have never seen a 3D movie in a theater.

JacenBlade 6/7/2012 2:23:51 PM

I will be buying this blu-ray today.  I thought the movie was fantastic and being a fan of the books I really don't think they could have done a better job.  This movie was getting picked on long before it was released.  Not many critics had the balls to give it an honest review, most just went along with the fashionable thing to do at the time and bash it.  Disney definately screwed up the marketing for this film so they deserve a lot of the blame too. 

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.