John Carter Blu-Ray Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 40 of 51
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
tjanson 6/7/2012 3:26:25 PM

So only a review that is positive is an honest review? that's silly 

Hobbs 6/7/2012 3:58:43 PM

I blame the 10 min intro they released right before the movie came out.  It was over the top in acting, music, pretty much everything.  It was the main reason why I didn't see it but everyone is telling me it gets a lot better after that.  I understand the first 10 mins wanted to show you he was a fighter that never gave up but man, that was some bad laughable sheet. 

So I think it leads back to marketing.  Horrible marketing to the point the suits said lets put the first 10 mins of the movie on the net and if what I'm being told is true it was the worst 10 mins of the movie.  Everything they did for this movie backfired on them.

I'll probably check it out sometime this summer when I can get it for a buck at the redbox.

karas1 6/7/2012 5:50:45 PM

The first 10 minutes didn't seem to have much to do with the rest of the movie.  They could have cut it way down and gotten him to Mars earlier and it would have been better.

ElBaz13 6/7/2012 6:29:10 PM

@Hanso

Yeah sort of cold blooded but Janson misses the point. He calls it a blu-ray review while all he is doing is copying and pasting a movie review that could have been printed in March this year when the movie was out.

I'm only redirecting to sites that have the full reviews of the actual blu ray release and grades on the not only movie but the video quality, audio quality and extras.
 

samson 6/7/2012 7:00:17 PM

This wa a fun movie. Not great, but enjoyable. I was hoping for a sequal when  left theater. Too bad that won't happen.

On another note, Lilly Collins would make a great Wonder Woman. I didn't know who she was until this film. Everytime she popped up on screen, I thought, "Wonder Woman."

tjanson 6/7/2012 7:06:34 PM

Elbaz...I'm NOT missing any point.  My reviews ALWAYS take into account the extras and are noted at the end of the review but no we do not list a separate grade for the film and extras.  Maybe that is something we will look at doing.  As far as video/audio quality...It's a Blu-ray of a recent theatrical release.  Were not taking a 75 year old movie and putting it on blu-ray.  i don't choose to bore readers with technical specs about aspects, quality of the blacks, different Dolby settings etc...In fact without the solid extras my grade would have been lower than it was.

Betenoire 6/8/2012 2:39:33 AM

 ...the hell? It just ate my post. 

...screw it. There was some praise in there for Tjanson and how he writes reviews. If he wants to know more, he needs to prod someone to fix the commenting system here so it stops eating posts. 

tjanson 6/8/2012 8:05:03 AM

Betenoire...LOL  Finally someone coming to my rescue and the mania message bug chews it up! 

Wyldstaar 6/8/2012 8:12:17 AM

tjanson- When it comes to John Carter breaking even, I think you're failing to factor in a number of things.  While the movie budget was $250 million, Disney spent another $100 million on worldwide marketing for the flick.  Then there's the box office numbers.  The studio doesn't get to keep 100% of the box office.  While in the domestic market, they generally keep 90-95% of the take the opening week, this isn't the case in the foreign market.  The take from overseas varies from one country to the next, but it averages out to only about a 50% cut for the studio at the end of the day.  Even with the sales from Bluray, DVD, VOD, premium cable and then regular cable, Disney will take years just to break even.

That said, I liked the movie.  It wasn't fantastic, but it wasn't the trainwreck everyone said it would be in the media.  As much as I enjoyed the film however, it was a one and done for me.  I don't have any interest in seeing it again, much less buying a Bluray.

almostunbiased 6/8/2012 8:18:37 AM

I just saw this and I thought it was good.  Really good.  Not sure why people didn't enjoy it.  I was never bored and putting the fun action aside, it had an interesting understory of the nephew reading the journal.  Heck I'd even go see another if they made one.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.