John Carter Blu-Ray Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 41 - 50 of 51
<<  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
cinemaman72 6/8/2012 8:29:44 AM

The only parts of this review I agree with is that the opening was too long and Disney messed up with changing the title to just 'John Carter'. Other than that, this movie was actually pretty damn good, the problem is that it needed to be GREAT by Disney standards (pulling in Avenger's type money). To anyone who hasn't seen it, rent it of buy the blu ray and judge for yourself instead of listening to someone else's view point.

almostunbiased 6/8/2012 8:37:54 AM

Okay I just read this review and I have to make fun a little.


"Convoluted plot"? There really wasn't much rolled up. The plot or plots of the movie, 1st him wanting to get home, then him saving the day, and then him wanting to get back aren't overly complex and due to the nature of the movie being told as a story in a journal leads to a little disorder, but easily followed.


"Jumbled mess of hanging plot threads"? I found nothing unanswered. Obviously you were either sleeping during the movie, thinking of something else during the movie, or you simply didn't understand the movie. Nothing was confusing about this movie when it ended, obviously some mystery was interwoven into the movie to keep you hanging, but all questions were answered. You’re searching for flaws here.


"It drags on without doing anything to forward the action"? The action perhaps, which leads me to understand why you were so confused about the story if action is all you are looking for. It did however give you insight on his character, intelligence, abilities, and back story. I enjoyed the beginning, even thought it was funny.
 

In short, you missed the joy of the movie, and though I will grant that it is a visual movie for sure, it’s much more than that. I have never heard of John Carter of Mars before this. I am not a fan boy of the book or comic or whatever this came from, but I was a fan of the movie. Was it a classic, NO, but was it a good movie, I think so, but that is just my almostunbiased opinion.
 

I'd give it a B plus.

chervil 6/8/2012 8:39:17 AM

I had read the books and loved the series.

The film was pretty true to the theme of the books, but the marketing was complete garbage.
If you weren't familiar with the books, there was no way you were going to understand what was happening or why, just from the trailers.

Anyone who hasn't seen this yet is really short-changing themselves if they give it a miss just based on some negative reviews.
And again, most of the reviews weren't overwhelmingly negative, they mostly just pointed to the fact that it didn't live up to the hype (what hype?) and that it wasn't the blockbuster its budget should have produced.

That said, it is a great popcorn munching flick.
Sure it has plotholes and cheesy parts.
Sure there isn't a lot of depth to it.
But that is what makes it a great popcorn movie.
Mark my words, this will end up being a cult film, like Buckaroo Banzai (which also performed poorly at the box office) Tron, Tron Legacy, and many others.

I will definitely be snagging me some Blue Ray goodness.

And I echo the fact that this is my second fav. movie of the year, right behind Avengers.
(of course, I haven't seen MIB3 yet, and TDKR has yet to "rise", so....)

almostunbiased 6/8/2012 8:57:35 AM

How much money does a BIG movie make of of Blu-rays and DVDs?  I have no idea.

almostunbiased 6/8/2012 8:59:07 AM

Oh and just saying I think you did have some valid points in your review.  We obviously just don't enjoy the same things all the time which is cool.

tjanson 6/8/2012 10:10:51 AM

Almost....Oh and just saying I think you did have some valid points in your review.  We obviously just don't enjoy the same things all the time which is cool.

I can live with that!  :-)

InnerSanctum 6/8/2012 1:20:51 PM

 Holy crap.  Disney can't even get the Blu-Ray cover for this movie right.  It looks like a hack job.  

dnbritt 6/10/2012 9:59:51 AM

This same site gave this move a B before it came out.  Talk about the "experts" influencing the opinions of each other.  Granted, it's a different reviewer, but to go from a B to a C- seems to me to be a case of jumping on the bandwagon of panners.

InnerSanctum 6/10/2012 10:44:43 AM

 You know, I watched this two times at home and I really enjoyed it.  Sure, it isn't a perfect film, but it is the vein of films such as Sinbad.  Just a fun adventure movie.  It had its slow moments (the opening not being one for me) and it had some plot holes (should have not strayed from the source material).  I'd definitely give this a solid B.  I'm just disappointed that we will not see the further adventures of JC.  The reason the packed so much into the film is because they expected sequels.  I don't know why so many want to beat up on this film...it is rare to get sci fi/fantasy films like this and we should be grateful.  

Bronze 7/10/2012 3:26:03 PM

I was pleasantly surprised by John Carter when I saw it, I smiled throughout the film and walked out with a feeling of satisfaction I had not felt in years after watching a film. It was just good fun and the word which kept repeating itself in my head as I watched it was "charming".

Kitsch is a weak lead, but eventually I warmed up to him. The film is clunky at times, they tried to cram too much into one film, but it's just good fun over all. B

<<  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.