Macross Collection: Macross Plus 1 & 2 -

Anime/Manga Reviews

Mania Grade: A+

0 Comments | Add


Rate & Share:


Related Links:



  • Audio Rating: B
  • Video Rating: A
  • Packaging Rating: A+
  • Menus Rating: C
  • Extras Rating: N/A
  • Age Rating: All
  • Region: 2 - Japan
  • Released By: Bandai Visual
  • MSRP: ¥9800 @
  • Running time: 97/99
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Disc Resolution: 480i/p (mixed/unknown)
  • Disc Encoding: MPEG-2
  • Series: Macross Plus

Macross Collection: Macross Plus 1 & 2


What They Say
For a content review of this marvelous series, I'd recommend you check the Region 1 reviews. Here you'll find a comparison between Region 2 and Region 1 releases.

The Review!
Sooo, what's the difference between the cool region 1 release (by Manga Entertainment) and the region 2 release (by Bandai visual)?? Besides $100, the differences are more than subtle.

The audio for this release comes in crisp clean Dolby Digital 2.0, both the Japanese and English languages. Obviously, the English track is far better on the Region 1 release.... with one BIG exception. If you recall, Manga didn't receive the music track for episode 4, so they released it dubbed with pieces of the soundtrack for episodes 1 to 3. Well, the guys at Bandai Visual in Japan have REMASTERED that dub, now with the original music. They kept the voices and sound effects, and although it's not in Dolby Digital 5.1, it's a relief hearing this episode as it should have been (I still prefer the Japanese original w/subtitles though).

The Macross supplement found in disc one comes only in Japanese, and it's a great addition that links these series with the overall Macross Saga. If you don't know what the Macross: A Future Chronicle is, it's basically a summary of the Macross story now including Macross: the Movie, Macross Plus, Macross 7 and even Macross II.

The video for this release is what you'd come to expect from Bandai: very bright, clear, sharp contrast, no video artifacts, with less color saturation than the Region 1 release.

The packaging of these DVDs is a great reason to buy this set. Each volume includes 2 discs (yes, each episode was released in a single disc) in a bookcase. Volume 1 has a cardboard slipcase with an amazing illustration of the YF-19's cockpit. As you would expect, volume 2 has an illustration of the YF-21's cockpit. The inside of the bookcase is covered in dark gray foam, and on each side you'll find one episode in a jewel case. I believe this packaging follows the packaging of the Japanese release of the TV series (3 box sets) and Macross 7 OAVs. That way you'll have a huge collection of similar great looking cases.

The menus are VERY simple, just a reproduction of the slipcase artwork (YF-19 for episodes 1 & 2, YF-21 for episodes 3 & 4). On the same screen you have the audio options and scene access. For audio options you have 3: Japanese, English and English w/ Japanese subtitles. For scene access options, you have the "normal" chapter access and a music track selection. This music track selection is a nice touch, and the only one with a different screen (it displays the track name and number). Using this menu,
you can go directly to a scene on the episode where a particular track is used on the BGM (and you can even find music not included in any of the 4 soundtrack CDs).

A great buy if you're a Macross fan and don't mind paying 3 times the cost of the Region 1 release.

Japanese language track (2.0),English language track (2.0),Japanese subtitles,Macross: A Future Chronicle (Ep. 1 only),Previews for next episode,Music track access,Information booklet (vol. 1 only)

Review Equipment
Mitsubishi 60'' projection TV, Sony DVP-S7000 player
(switches release), Onkyo TX-DS555 Dolby Digital receiver, Monster S-Video and audio cables and Sony speakers.


Be the first to add a comment to this article!


You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.