Mania Review: The Amazing Spider-Man Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 154
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
monkeyfoot 7/3/2012 7:48:18 AM

Just skimmed your review 'cuz I don't want to know too much. I see though that you mostly liked it. That is the sense I'm getting from other reviews: it is too soon to re-boot but director Webb did a great job.

I'll see it probably this weekend. I guess we'll also see if the general public want to see it as well. A holiday opening certainly won't hurt.

GenghisKong 7/3/2012 7:52:42 AM

Initially underwhelmed by the concept, I now find myself looking forward to this movie. The trailer looks pretty awesome and appropriately "comic-booky". Still hate the costume re-design.

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 7/3/2012 8:01:19 AM

We already have it here in Japan.  I liked it but I think it iss too soon for them to have Carnage. Maybe they skip Venom because of Venom movie coming out soon. I don't know. Plus I don't know who the guy with the knife with the lion on his chest is.


InnerSanctum 7/3/2012 8:01:50 AM

I guess my apathy towards the film reduced the excitement factor for me.  However, the good reviews indicate that this will make a fun matinee film after the hype has died down.  

TheFuzzyDan 7/3/2012 8:02:43 AM

It's nice to read at least one review that doesn't slam the Raimi films.

hanso 7/3/2012 8:03:01 AM

I did the same thing Monkeyfoot, been staying away from reviews just glanced at this one.  Although, I did see Rob say Maguire & Dunst had electric chemistry or something, and I don't think they did but whatever.

Anyway, can't wait for this, catching it hopefully today if not 2morrow for sure.

Oh and Monkey, they are predicting $120 million for the 6 day weekend so it looks like the general public does want to see it.

 

InnerSanctum 7/3/2012 8:25:04 AM

 My main question...how many times does Spiderman take his mask off?  That really bugged me in the first three films.  He just can't keep his damn mask on.  

InnerSanctum 7/3/2012 8:26:06 AM

 Man, don't any of you guys do cookouts and see firework shows for the 4th?   I think I can wait for Spidey.  

jsmulligan 7/3/2012 8:40:10 AM

 I'm with you, Genghis.  Didn't care for the idea of rebooting the series already and seriously dislike the costume redesign.  Lifelong Spidey fan, but wasn't looking forward to this at all.  Recent trailers and some decent reviews have started to turn that around.  I will say, the fact that he's still in high school and the trailers looks like he's more quippy address two of the issues I had with the originals.

With Raimi's background, I always thought the Lizard would have been a great choice of villain for him to do.  Don't think I'll ever understand why they went with the Sandman instead.  Mysterio would have been a great fit as well.

shac2846 7/3/2012 9:09:46 AM

 Maguire and Dunst was positively electric? Yeah I was thinking the same thing Hanso. Was never really a fan of Raimi's films, Spider-Man 2 was good but to me got lost in part 1 and 3. Been waiting for this ever since I heard Webb was hired as director. Sounds like he did a good job. 

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.