Mania Review: The Amazing Spider-Man Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 154
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
extzero 7/3/2012 10:12:01 AM

 Hanso, yes there were

momitchell7 7/3/2012 10:13:12 AM

From the review it sounded like a really good, well put together movie... if that's the case,  why just a B? It shouldn't be simply because of the fact that it's too soon on the tails of Raimi's films - it should be judged on it's own merits. 

I'm looking forward to seeing it and it sounds like a movie that I'm going to enjoy! 

Wiseguy 7/3/2012 10:35:37 AM

I love LOVE Raimi's first Spidey, for me it ranks amongst the titans of superhero films, the sequels not so much.

Having said that I'd put this one just a hair below Raimi's first.

It felt a bit disjointed during the first half for an origin film, like when you realize you have powers and start exploring them. In that aspect it felt a bit unexplored. But the second half more than makes up for it. Needless to say that's just my opinion. But yes I loved it overall. And I have to admit that Spidey and a well done Spidey film can be the best about the genre because it hits all the targets wit his personal life and the conflicts his alter ego creates and the fact that he's not invincible. I'd rate it about an A but I'm pretty easy and a huge Spidey fan for the aforementioned reasons

Will see it again during the weekend for sure

fft5305 7/3/2012 10:40:54 AM

I was really meh about this movie when it was announced. The more I see of it, the more I want to see it. I've actually even gotten used to the costume, which I hated when the first pic came out. A lot of it probably has to do with the casting of Emma Stone (yum!) as Gwen. Too bad she's going to have to die at some point. That being said, I won't be able to catch it tomorrow, but will definitely check it out (2D) this weekend.

Wiseguy 7/3/2012 10:51:24 AM

Let me say that the film isn't sticking to the comics so don't make assumptions

Also surprised at the big crowd last night, figured it would be light considering the day of the week

noahbody 7/3/2012 11:11:04 AM

It was good, kinda had a been there vibe with the origin and then the rain scene... 

Didn't care for the Lizard to much, hid look or the CG

Best Stan Lee cameo ever!

spiderhero 7/3/2012 11:31:16 AM

It'll probably be next week before I can catch this. Still not excited though. Sure it will be nice to see Martin Sheen bite the dust, but he's no Uncle Ben to begin with. Stone is very talented and I'm certain she is as good in this as I've heard. I like Garfield, think he's fine for Peter. Just don't like the costume, 3D shots or the whole "I'm distrustfull of authority figures" theme Webb loves to talk about in every interview.

I wish Marvel would just buy back the rights to their properties so they can do theri own thing. They haven't had a dud yet & I would love to see what their brain-trust could do with Spider-Man, the FF & the X-Men.

RodThunderBalls 7/3/2012 11:47:14 AM

I just got back from the flick and loved it. I liked this Spiderman so much more than Tobey's. Tobey was good, but he didn't have that whip crackin' whit that was great about Spiderman in the comic book. Tobey was much too sedate. And Emma Stone, sooo much more likeable and adorable compared to Kirsten Dunst. I know, two different characters, but as female leads, Emma was so much more enjoyable to  watch. I still love the first and second Raimi Spidermans, but this one holds its own and on I would say is on par with those two.

On it's own merrits, this movie is quintessential Peter Parker/Spiderman more so than the Raimi versions. Like I said, I love the Raimi versions, and love his directing style, but I feel like this captures the essence of Spiderman moreso than the others. Obviously, things are going to be revisited because it's a rehash of his origins, but how much more can you reinvent this wheel without completely leaving the realm of cannon?

CaptAmerica04 7/3/2012 12:56:33 PM

I was gonna skip this, but with such a positive review from Rob, I'm having second thoughts.

wormlander 7/3/2012 1:05:56 PM

Best aspects of this movie: 1) Peter Parker is finally done right 2) Gwen Stacy is finally done 3) The Lizard is the best Spiderman villain yet

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.