Mania Review: The Cabin in the Woods Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 37
<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  
InnerSanctum 4/11/2012 8:34:56 AM

 Diss Tucker and Dale?  I LOVE that movie.  You must have misunderstood my post.  I was talking about how anyone can make a "cabin in the woods movie"  ala Evil Dead remake, with a solid parody and a "Scream" twist now added to the subject.  

violator14 4/11/2012 8:55:49 AM

Wow!!! i am gonna see it this weekend too now. I have some guesses about who this mystery "Deranged genius" mastermind is. It's ranging from Emperor Palpatine to Jigsaw to Bugs Bunny. I can't wait to see who it is!!

shac2846 4/11/2012 9:19:34 AM

 Have been looking forward to this since it was announced years ago. It is weird the movie is getting alot of praise and because of MGM's financial troubles the damn thing almost got shelved entirely. So glad they worked that out (and the hobbit) going to see this first thing friday.

millean 4/11/2012 10:12:46 AM

Once I saw the previews, I was sold on this.  Glad to see that Vaux likes it so well, but we can have drastic differences of opinion form time to time.  Nevertheless, I still want to see this.  However, it will more than likely be a rental.

Will there be a review for Lockout this week?  The first time I saw an ad for that, I thought it was a candidate for Syfy's Saturday night lineup.  However, the more I see of it, the more interested I am.  Not expecting much from it, but looks like it might be a good "silly sc-fi fun" movie.

hanso 4/11/2012 11:03:07 AM

 Millean, I don't think it would even be silly Syfy fun, probably just Syfy bad.  Go see the instead is my advice to you good sir.

spiderhero 4/11/2012 1:35:03 PM

This review settles it: I'm going to see it in theaters. I don't want to wait and have it spoiled for me.

InnerSanctum 4/11/2012 3:18:12 PM

 I was reading some reviews and people seem to either love it or hate it.  I like that division.  Means it is something that evokes emotion.  I look forward to catching this soon.  

iceknight52 4/11/2012 4:47:08 PM

The trailer for this film did nothing for me but Rob has definitely got my interest. Might actually have to sneak out this weekend and check it out for myself. Hope it's really as good as this review built it.

ThunderG0d 4/12/2012 5:52:24 AM

Outstanding review! I read it to ensure that my anticipation to see the film would not be rewarded with a dud.  Now I'm even more jazzed to see it.  Thanks Rob!

jyansr 4/13/2012 2:09:48 PM

I just got back from Cabin, and since it seems no one else has seen as of yet I won't try to spoil anything. I may have been expecting too much from Rob's A , and left the theatre a little...disappointed I guess. I'm not saying I didn't like the film, but... there was one point in the movie where they lost me..

Although it had the usual horror movie trappings,  which I get was part of the whole homage, it was seen from a different perspective, and I thought that part of the movie was fantastic.The moments of humor were well placed throughtout the movie,as well. I think I must have been one of the few who liked Whedon, or was at least familiar with his past work,  becuase I found a lot more of the movie humorous than did my fellow movie goers. I believe what Rob calls deranged genuis is where they lost me.. I liked everything about the movie up to this point, and I liked everything that happened afterward.. It's just the few mintues inbetween where I was thinking " well this is f**king stupid", and I believe most of the people in the theater felt the same way.  All I will say is System Purge.

The one thing that surprised me the most about the show I went to was the age of the people in the theater with me. A majority of us were older than 40, some into their 50's and 60's. I just didn't see this movie appealing to that demographic.

One last thing. I just liked the fact that Whedon was able to get some of his regulars into the movie one way or another.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.