Mania Review: The Campaign Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 30
<<  <  1 2 3 >  >>  
InnerSanctum 8/10/2012 10:25:34 AM

 gorish83:  Don't blame Rob for the Total Recalls bad reviews.  And, really, is it necessary to put yourself above everyone else and lable them "sheep"?  I'm sorry, but I hate that crap.  Total Recall got handed bad reviews across the board.  Obviously, some people went to see it and enjoyed it.  I didn't see it, not because of the bad reviews from a majority of the critics and viewers (I disagree many times with them) but because I didn't give a rip about the film.  It looks like and probably is a rental.  The actors are "B" list and the director has proven time and time again that he should be regulated as straight to DVD.  Now, saying a movie wasn't that bad isn't saying it is good either.  I see a lot of attacks on Rob because of his reviews.  I rarely see people saying they will not see a film because of his reviews.  Saying other posters are sheep and follow his gospel obviously shows how little you actually read other poster's comments.  It is his opinions, just like you have your opinions.  Just don't lash out in order to prove a point.  Disagree with Rob...I think that is fine.  But, why not try telling us why you thought the movie was so darn good and counter his review?  

spiderhero 8/10/2012 10:52:51 AM

Ha, ha, ha. This movie is so engaging to people that the thread has gone off it to talk about OTHER movies.

almostunbiased 8/10/2012 10:54:58 AM

I wasn't really makiing fun of Rob, in fact I never quoted him.  But you can't say these are B actors, they are top billed actors and in the right movies they do excellent work.  Have you seen Collin in Phone Booth or .  Have you seen Kate in Much ado about nothing or Emma or dare i say it Pearl Harbor (yes she was good in that).  Have you seen the Illusionist, Jessica was good in that.  The rigth film and director makes the actors what they are.  I've seen some amazing actors do some shoddy work in some poor movies.  But don't say they are B actors.Plus I have a crush on Kate so back off, lol.

shac2846 8/10/2012 12:42:51 PM

 Kate is married to the director but I'm pretty sure you know that almostunbiased just a reminder. I've seen a tabloid photo of her on the beach and she wears a swimsuit that says "property of mr. wiesman"

 

I'm looking forward to Bourne Legacy. You may could argue you've seen it before but not with a decent director. I think Gilroy is going to do the bourne franchise justice. Having said that Campiagn is getting some great reviews and I like the idea that they don't take sides politically. May have to check it out.

Wiseguy 8/10/2012 12:50:58 PM

I will be checking this out tomorrow or tonight as I try to catch up with some older films that may be on the way out of circulation at the theater

but saw Bourne Legacy last night. No review, wtf?  Loved it. Honestly I'm not a huge fan of the series but do like it. This one to me is the best by far. Renner was great and Rachael Weisz could not be sexier, there's something simple yet elegant about her that I find fascinating. Anyway great action, especially the last half hour.

almostunbiased 8/10/2012 1:19:59 PM

That's good to hear wise.  I was going to see it today, but not sure now and weekend is not looking good.  Maybe Monday.

And Shac2846, yea I know, and I'm married too.  My wife knows about Kate and I, lol.

Alkesandr 8/10/2012 3:49:10 PM

Where's the Bourne review?  I don't come here to get reviews of Will Ferrell comedies.

goirish83 8/10/2012 7:06:53 PM

@InnerSanctum,

I wasn't trying to be above anyone with my comments, but last week a lot of posters fell right in line saying that TR sucked without seeing it.  That's all.  I would never think I was better than anyone on this site, actually I listen to a lot of the fellow posters opinions more than Rob's (Hanso, Wiseguy are 2).

hanso 8/11/2012 12:37:38 PM

 I'll take this review even if it doesn't belong. Saw the flick yesterday and I agree with Rob's review. I'd say it's the 2nd best comedy I've seen this summer (Ted is first). But I dig Farrell and Galiafanakis. If you don't like them then I'd imagine you'd wont like this movie.

Anyway, I laughed a ton with those two crazy bastards. The scene with the kids confessing their "sins", Cam Brady's phone message, Brady's reaction to seeing his son call Huggin's dad, were all damn funny imo. Definitely check it out if you looking for a few laughs.

GoIrish spitting some truth man. Lot of mofos be hating without having seen sh.it. I would include myself in this that's why I'm changing my game up from now on and will see more flicks at the theatres without checking out reviews. Even stuff I know I'm likely not to dig like next week's The Expendables 2. I'm seeing it anyway.  

 

CaptAmerica04 8/11/2012 12:59:14 PM

Will Ferrell is about as funny as my unwashed ass crack.

<<  <  1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.