Mania Review: Cloud Atlas Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 52
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
HudsonTaco 10/26/2012 9:03:16 AM

 Wow an "F" and it's not even in 3D.

akiraakobus 10/26/2012 9:21:12 AM

Wow this review makes the reviewer look like a total jaded prick, seriously.  I mean the thing has over 80 positive reviews on rottentomatoes, and got a standing ovation at a Toronto film Festival, and this guy gives it an F, what a joke.  I can't wait to see the rating he gives to Silent Hill Revelation another movie I think looks pretty enjoyable, this guy slams so many movies that are actually pretty good his reviews are patheticallly laughable and this one in paticular make him seem like an a$$hole nothing less.

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 10/26/2012 9:26:15 AM

80 positive reviews don't mean crap. They only have 59% of positive reviews. That means almost the same amount of people despise it.

mellowdoux 10/26/2012 10:36:33 AM

 Hahahahahahahahahaha

Best review ever!!! :)

I called it first though! Months ago!
Pretentious, Arty-Farty BOLLOCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Higgy 10/26/2012 11:09:51 AM

Akira if you haven't watched the movie then you have no right to critisize his Rob's rating.  Also, if you don't like Rob's reviews, don't read them.  He's one person among many.

Rob, I loved this review...it was awesome.  I have no plans of seeing it but I loved your bashing of it!

alienstatue 10/26/2012 11:13:08 AM

Like I said before. Rob's reviews are based on how a movie "insists upon itself".

When I go to the movies I don't ask myself "Who was this movie made for? White guys who quote Bob Marley with Buddhist posters in their dorm room?" No, I just go to get sucked into the story and Cloud Atlas did a fine job.

This movie was great. Rob couldn't get past the bad makeup in certain scenes but for me there were only 2 maybe 3 characters that I felt had bad make-up work, but the story had me hooked and the perfomances were great that I didn't even mind it. Not to mention the other amazing visuals.

The narrative of the book wouldn't have worked here on this film. Also, the subtle changes that the movie made makes the movie have a straight forward message IMO, and I like the changes they made, even though I enjoyed the book.

The midnight screening I went too only had a hand full of people which makes me think this movie won't be a financial success. Great film IMO.

alienstatue 10/26/2012 11:18:18 AM

BTW - I respect Rob's opinions in his review, I just respectfully disagree.

wallyrus 10/26/2012 12:02:16 PM

Who else read this review and suspected that Rob has only seen the trailer?

wallyrus 10/26/2012 12:09:51 PM

A big chunk of the people watching movies nowadays STILL think the Earth is less than 10,000 years old, we should not be surprised when the subject matter on the screen goes over their heads.

wallyrus 10/26/2012 12:26:18 PM

Rob, you are a terrible film critic because you lack objectivity.  You should be trying to inform ANY reader as to whether or not they will like this film but instead you try to convince people to agree with YOUR opinion as if you have something to lose.  You resent a movie for even addressing themes that make you uneasy.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.