Mania Review: Cloud Atlas Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 52
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
makabriel 10/26/2012 12:31:04 PM

Wow.. Take 3!

The Escapist (google it) has a really good tottally opposite review on their site.

 

shac2846 10/26/2012 2:25:36 PM

Wallyrus, I wonder if you even read rob's review all the way through because if you had you would see his objection wasn't with addressing themes, and I doubt seriously they went over his head, it was the way those themes are crammed down the audiences throat which is what I have been hearing from some friends who have seen it and from differing critics. Are you really trying to make a connection between people who believe in creationism and not understanding the movie? That seems really reaching. I enjoyed Tree of Life but I wouldn't think anybody dumb for not enjoying it or understanding it. 

If you look on RT it seems like this movie has critics pretty much split down the middle which usually means there is a good chance it could be good but man from the early toronto reviews I was thinking it was going to be huge, and I was on of the skeptical ones after seeing the first trailer. Sounds like the filmmakers may have bit off more than they could chew. Going to see it tonight despite the review but I'm going to a cinemark that doesn't charge full price. 

redhairs99 10/26/2012 3:19:23 PM

 Wallyrus, I think you are missing the point of  "movie review."  It's always been and always will be based on the reviewers opinion.  It's not objective/unbiased journalism.  It's an opinion column.  Whether you agree or disagree with Rob, it's your choice.  He may bash a movie you totally love.  It doesn't matter "because it's an opinion," like an a$$hole everyone has one.

kennynine 10/26/2012 4:28:02 PM

 I enjoyed the book and I enjoyed the movie. I felt the change in narrative structure helped the story flow. It was pretty impressive that they managed to tell six completely different stories at once. I recommend seeing this film. However, I am a white guy and I do have a Buddha statue in my apartment. Whatever that's worth

hfc7036 10/26/2012 5:33:47 PM

 Yep, this is one of those LOVE IT or HATE IT scenarios.  Opinions wil be what they want to be, but in the end, we all have to decide for ourselves.

jetpackjesus 10/26/2012 6:14:46 PM

Clearly this is a film where your mileage will vary.  I read a review on another site that I frequent (and generally respect) that called this the year's best.  He also said it won't work for everyone and that some people will invariably take issue with the makeup and effects.    

This sounds like one of those movies where you just need to decide if you want to take a chance on it.  You'll probably either think it's great, or you won't like it at all.  Unfortunately, there's only one way to find out which way you'll go.  

thezillaman 10/27/2012 12:25:36 AM

 glad i smoked a big bowl before watching this movie. WTF is going on man??..this shit was crazy.  gotta say though Rob was a bit to harsh on this review then again it's Rob he's a "HATER" almost 90% of his reviews are always negative. maybe Rob needs to smoke a bowl or two and chill, naahh he needs an ENEMA..

Betenoire 10/27/2012 1:28:54 AM

-Violator14 Actually look up some of those critics reviews that films pull tag lines off from sometime. I had one film I watched recently that was so bad I wondered how the hell they had the two splash quotes on it and then found they cherry picked them carefully out of some not flattering reviews. I imagine almost any reviewer who gets quoted for promotional copy a couple of times will likely have at least one quote pulled out that makes them scratch their head and feel like the audience is going to be mislead.

And Rob- lol at "Springtime for Hitler". I actually had that part flash through my head while watching a different movie last week that was so bad I thought they must have intended to do that. 

wallyrus 10/27/2012 10:56:58 AM

 SHAC2846:

\\...his objection wasn't with addressing themes.\\

He complains when movies "take themselves seriously". This complaint denotes an uneasiness with the themes being presented and with film as an art-form in general.

\\Are you really trying to make a connection between people who believe in creationism and not understanding the movie?\\

There is a connection between people who believe in creationism and not understanding, period.

 

REDHAIRS99:

\\"It's not objective/unbiased journalism. It's an opinion column."\\

True, but not all opinions are equally valid. If Rob's opinons were actually based on some sort of rational thought then they might be of some merit, but they're not. He complains from a position on what a movie SHOULD have been but never justifies why that is necessarily so. For all his validity, he may as well be complaining that there aren't enough titty-shots. Rob's reviews are arbitrarily vitriolic.

wallyrus 10/27/2012 11:06:30 AM

I read reviews because I want to make an educated decision about which movies to go see.  I honestly do not mind if a review is negative but it had better TELL ME SOMETHING ABOUT THE MOVIE.  There is nothing in this review, in particular, that let's me know Rob actually gave Cloud Atlas an honest watch.  This reads like a review of a movie trailer.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.