Mania Review: Cloud Atlas Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 40 of 52
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
thezillaman 10/27/2012 5:27:41 PM

 i can never watch any movie based an whatever the review is, if that was the case i would never watch any fucking movie. 

ObiWannaJones 10/27/2012 6:09:40 PM

 Wallyrus, how can you state that "there is nothing in this review, in particular, that lets you know Rob actually gave Cloud Atlas an honest watch?"  His picked the bones of this movie clean.  I agree that his reviews are generally negative. This was not only negative, it was pretty thorough in the criticism.  

Wiseguy 10/28/2012 1:21:27 PM

You people make me laugh, same old argument. Rob's opinion isn't worth more than anyone else's. If you're intrigued by the film go see it if not don't. But to try and somehow justify it by Rob's opinion is idiotic, we know opinions are just like assholes and Rob's stinks as much as anyone else's.

rottentomatoes users rate it 4 out of 5 or 8 out of 10 for those used to a 10 point scale. imdb users rate it a 8.4 out of 10. So there you have over 40 thousand folk rating it an 8 or higher.

I'll be seeing it later because this weekend was very busy and with the looming storm there was work to be done. I loved the book and I never let any critic decide for me when it's a film I want to see, especially some cheap ass web critic, they're a dime a dozen
 

ThrillerSam 10/28/2012 3:11:17 PM

 Wise took the words out of my mouth.

conundrum 10/28/2012 4:12:07 PM

@akiraakobus - Toronto FIlm Festival?  That would be why.

conundrum 10/28/2012 4:15:20 PM

@wallyrus - I think you posts are starting to 'insisit upon themselves' too.  Your opinion has also been noted.  Move on.

wallyrus 10/28/2012 5:46:27 PM

Merely having an opinion does not automatically make it worth hearing.  Some opinions are more valid than others, Rob's reviews lacks credibility.

wallyrus 10/28/2012 5:50:17 PM

This review does not cover a single detail not available in Cloud Atlas' advertising. Apart from his complaints about the make up... (Bitterness over being fooled by the casting, perhaps?)  ...the only other critique he makes, reworded repeatedly to fill up space, is that the various storylines are not cohesive. However, this film explicitly ties its pieces together thematically. So, he either suffers from the cinematic equivalent of colour blindness or he never saw the ending. Either way, he has no frame of reference to form a worthwhile opinion.

TheRiffs 10/28/2012 6:12:23 PM

I saw it last night and i can honestly say for the first time i wanted to walk away from the movie. But since i payed a full 15$ i couldnt leave and had to sit there for 3 hours in absolute boredom. The story is blah, the actions scenes are plain, and the acting is just whatever. I dont understand, i had such high hopes for this and i was completely let down in every single way. IMO this was one of the worst movies i have seen and i wish i could get those 3 hours back.

almostunbiased 10/28/2012 6:12:57 PM

I heard a reviewer on the radio say:  They took a great story and made it more complicated than it already was.  That never sounds good.  Well honestly I wasn't looking forward to this so i don't care, but sorry for those who have read it and were looking forward to this.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.