Mania Review: Conan the Barbarian Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 40 of 84
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >  >>  
VTGamehendge 8/20/2011 1:52:53 PM

Just got back from seeing this.  I thought it was pretty sweet and I grew up watching the original two films.  It was definitely more violent than either of the other two.  Also, I thought Jason Momoa did a pretty decent job with the character.  And anyone who talks shit about Momoa's acting needs to go back and watch the original Arnold films.  He didn't exactly deliver Oscar-worthy performances either.  I really don't understand why all these critics are hating on it so much.  I don't know what they expected to see.  I mean, it's a Conan movie.  It's sword fights and tits and blood-and-guts.  All-in-all, I recommend it.

VTGamehendge 8/20/2011 2:02:37 PM

Also, I have to admit that it's not really worth seeing in 3D, but that's the only way they're showing it here in Richmond.  At least at the theater I went to.

bobjohnson221 8/20/2011 3:24:29 PM

I guess I just couldn't get past the rubber baby at the beginning...

 

BigDogTitan 8/20/2011 3:42:18 PM

Do not let lhis review keep you from going to this movie.  When the movie finished my first thought was that whoever made the previews for Conan should be shot.  I would give it a grade of "B".  I grew up reading the Howard books and I have to say it felt like "Conan".  I have to agree that the whole "I love you" line was out of  character, but everything else worked fine.  Momosa is better when he doesn't speak, but otherwise he made a great Conan.  I was pleasntly suprised and I really hope they do make another.  As far as comparing it to the Arnold movies, I personally liked it better.  I think one reason fans like the Arnie versions so much is because it's the only time we got to see Conan on the big screen.  I also agree it's hard to top James Earl Jones as the villian.   I also thougt the 3D was better in this movie.  I don't know if it was the theatre or just filmed differently.  Go see it and judge for yourself.

TheStormrider 8/20/2011 3:46:46 PM

 For the record,  I havernt seen it,  likely will,  and dont think the conan versions are all that great.  

I actually like Rob's review, and usually his reviews are spot on for me.  I may like a movie more, or less,  but my 'liking' it doesnt really play a huge role in the 'grade' of something.  

Ive stated before id like to see a 5 part rating system like games.

Acting 3/5

story 4/5

Effects 2/5

Soundtrack 3/5

editing 4/5

overall watchability 3/5

That would alleviate and make it easier to rate movies like transformers.

Ahh well,  preaching to either the choir or an empty chair:)

 

SarcasticCaveman 8/20/2011 3:54:06 PM

I really just can't get past the previews.  Don't see myself spending money to see it at the theater.  Not trying to hate on it or hate on anybody who enjoyed it...I'm glad you enjoyed it, but don't try to use your enjoyment of it to convince the rest of us that it's a good movie.  Hell, two of my favorite movies of all time are Krull and The Ice Pirates, but I know they're sucky.  I still watch them every once in a while, but I know they're terrible and it's only my nostalgia that keeps me watching, and I never try to convince anybody else that they're good.  I believe in the case with new movies such as this, it's not nostalgia at play, but rather hope beyond hope that the movie will be good.  Again, glad some folks in enjoyed it, but I'm not seeing it.

karas1 8/20/2011 4:05:10 PM

keith, if I'm not mistaken, Conan the Barbarian was Arnie's first film and he was hired for his bodybuilder muscles, not his oscar quality acting.  He did the action scenes really well.  But his actual acting was sub par. 

However, he was surrounded by some fine actors, Valeria was excellent.  His thief and his wizard were top notch.  And what can you say about James Earl Jones' performance other than terrific.

Arnie's abilities as an actor improved pretty quickly until his later films when he gave some fine performances.  But Conan the Barbarian wasn't one of them.  Hey, everybody has to start somewhere.

Now, Mamoa isn't Oscar worthy either.  But I watched him improve over 4 seasons of Stargate Atlantis (he wasn't in the first season).  By the time Atlantis wrapped he was putting out some fine performances.  I'm looking forward to seeing what he can do with Conan.

SarcasticCaveman 8/20/2011 4:08:13 PM

 Actually, weren't the Hercules movies Arnie's first?  They didn't even let him do his own speaking, they had him dubbed over.

hanso 8/20/2011 4:10:12 PM

 Trailers, previews, made it look like complete sh.it.  Can't see why anyone would want to see it based on those things.  Netflix all the way for this.

SarcasticCaveman 8/20/2011 4:11:27 PM

 Yeah, Kara, Hercules In New York (1969) was his first movie, credited as Arnold Strong, his Mr. Universe name.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.