Mania Review: Cowboys and Aliens Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 35
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
raa2001 7/29/2011 12:31:15 AM

 The effects look good and I was hoping it was a good movie even though I wasn't really hyped to see this movie, but C is about what I was expecting.

Darkknight2280 7/29/2011 4:31:28 AM

Wasnt planning on seeing this and just like other reviews it had no effect on my decision.

XeroWarp 7/29/2011 5:40:19 AM

 Kinda the review I was expecting. The trailers didn't look very inspiring. 

lazarus 7/29/2011 5:50:06 AM

I am not sure what people are expecting, It was a summer sci-fi flick that was what it was supposed to be. Not like it is supposed to be mind challenging, it gave me exactly what I thought it would be. I saw this Tues at a screening and it was a fun flick. Wife has this major wet spot for Harrison Ford so that also was a bonus. Anyway I personally give it an A-. Ford and Craig play off each other very well and the way Craig adopts an American old west demeanor and accent is nothing short of amazing.

lusiphur 7/29/2011 6:09:06 AM

 This was the review I was expecting too, XeroWarp.  But, as lazarus said, It's a summer movie.  Not great but not terrible.  Maybe I'll go to the 10am cheap matinee ($5 here) this weekend, if I have time.

rogue188 7/29/2011 6:21:28 AM

Well that sucks. I expected more.

kswizzle 7/29/2011 6:45:51 AM

 the trailers themselves didn't sell this movie. it looked more like cowboys vs transformers. I thought there would be actual aliens, not just flying machines

pekstrand 7/29/2011 8:56:03 AM

 I'm pumped, I won my bet. On the way home from seeing this, we were talking about reviewers and I jokingly told my buddy no way Rob "I Love To Write Reviews For Controversy's Sake" Vaux gives this movie better than a C. After seeing it last night with me, he was sure old Rob would give it at least a B . I win. The movie is much better than this review would indicate. There's quite a bit of subtle humor, excellent action and story build that the review seems to dismiss. There is a slight drag to the film nearer to the beginning, but it quickly picks back up. Craig is great in the "Clint Eastwood" stranger role and Harrison Ford is as wonderful and belligerent as ever and does really well with both the humorous and dramatic scenes. For me the only downside was Olivia Wilde and this is mostly because she is somewhat expressionless regardless of the part she plays (See Tron). If you like westerns you'll like this movie. The look and the feel scream Old West and the aliens simply add an exciting touch. I agree with Lazarus as well. It's a good, solid Summer movie!!

fatpantz 7/29/2011 9:05:41 AM

Did anyone see the Harrison Ford/Chewbacca clip from Jimmy Kimmel??  Freaking hilarious....I wish someone from Mania would post it, it is up on youtube and worth the look....laughed so hard

Hulkfan4ever 7/29/2011 9:16:36 AM

Ha Ha! Love that fatpantz! Ford says "Daniel Craig is my wookie bitch now!" Too funny!

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.