Mania Review: Django Unchained Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 44
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
Kensai331 12/28/2012 5:57:44 PM

 Pretty Goddamn entertaing film in my opinion. Not my favorite Tarantino flick, but I'll be up for buying the Blu-ray when it's released. 

blankczech 12/28/2012 11:10:54 PM

 They say it's good to find a movie reviewer you agree with so that when a new film comes out you can check out that person's reviews to see whether you want to run out and see it or not.  

Based on Rob's recent reviews he's not the reviewer for me (we definately don't see eye to eye).  He thinks Les Mis is the movie of the year (it only got a 72 on the Tomatometer - and many reviewers said it was awful) and now his written review of  Django seems lukewarm (despite his B ) and I liked it a lot.

SmokingFrog77 12/29/2012 2:19:48 AM

For my $0.02 I think Rob is the best reviewer out there. But then, I tend to like things that don't necessarily rate highly on the tomato-meter.

doublec 12/29/2012 2:31:50 AM

 I frequently disagree strongly with Rob but when he's right he's dead right. He comes near to a thought I've had for a while about Tarantino here: that one of these days the consensus on one of films is gonna be "it's just a bunch of guys sitting around talking" and once that happens his career will never be the same. Once people stop caring about the dialogue they'll notice how bloated and crude his movies can be at times.

violator14 12/29/2012 5:13:05 AM

 I agree with this review 100%. A little tighter editing and not such a dragged out ending, and this would have been one of my faves of the year. He's also dead right about the Samuel l Jackson role. It was pretty amazingly done considering it could've blown up in their faces. 

I do think Rob took Leonardo's performance for granted tho. I thought it was Oscar worthy IMHO.

vitieddie 12/29/2012 5:15:36 AM

I've always noted that his films had too much jaw wagging ...

monkeyfoot 12/29/2012 5:38:13 AM

 This is also on my list to see. Don't know if I'll see this or Wolverine/Maximus/Catwoman singalong today. Rob's review seems to match what I was expecting from this: good but may not try for a second viewing.            

At least this is way better than Spike Lee's review. He won't see it but gave it a negative review anyway. That is beyond idiotic. He'd be screaming if somebody reviewed one of his films without seeing it.

Wiseguy 12/29/2012 5:42:28 AM

We're back on Rob's taste? Just because he's got a platform doesn't make his opinion more or less worthy than anyone's else. Even I end up agreeing with him a lot of times at least grade wise. Can't speak for all his points because I rarely read his reviews, that goes for all critics. I usually just jump to the grade or a brief summation at the end. Most critics are just too in love with themselves IMO to read their entire essays, well at least prior to seeing the film, afterwards it's ok

Anyway in this case's grade I tend to agree, maybe I was expecting too much, but I may go even slightly lower. I thought Schultz acted out of character towards the end and that alone bothered me to no end. I won't get into spoilers yet and give folk time to catch the film. QT's cameo also bothered me, him doing a cameo isn't a big deal just stop taking on lines.

Bottom line to me worth it but definitely not his best work as some would have you believe.
 

Wiseguy 12/29/2012 6:11:15 AM

monkeyfoot if you want an emotional kick to the mouth go see Les Mis. You know what QT offers so if you want some of that then yeah. Not saying one is better than the other just that they're worlds apart but Les Mis will make you feel.........Les Mis is better ;)

redvector 12/29/2012 6:18:18 AM

 Premiering a movie like this on Christmas day barely a month after children were slaughtered in hail of bullets was stupid. For that reason it deserves to bomb. I don't often agree with Spike Lee but he's right in this case. Plus it stars Jamie Foxx a two faced racist asshole.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.