Mania Review: Django Unchained Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 44
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
Dazzler 12/29/2012 7:46:02 AM

I am really starting to hate Jamie Foxx.  obama kissass.  That should not effect my opinions of movies...but when you are that hardcore liberal it tends to bleed on to the screen.  Same way for Sean penn and war traitor Jane Fonda. 

So a white director can't use the "n" word in their movies but black ones can? 

Shogunn2517 12/29/2012 12:16:18 PM

  You people need to go watch a Charlton Heston movie and chill the heck out. Seriously, there aint nothing Jamie Foxx, Quentin Tarrentino(and hell lets throw in Spike Lee for some inexplicable reason, as if he had anything to do with the making of this movie), there was nothing any of these guys did COMBINED that's any worse than what anything Mel Gibson does on a lazy Saturday night.  But that does not prevent anyone from still watching a Lethal Weapon movie or any of the Braveheart Trilogy when it comes on TNT.  And to not think Hollywood is not filled with a whole ugly history of disgustingly blatant racist and anti-Semitic behavior and it all started with Jamie Foxx being a supporter of the President of The United States is beyond silly. Half the time, you can't even keep the justifcation of your haterizing In the proper perspective. It's like the people mad at President Obama for being a Muslim... As if that's something to be mad at anyone about, even if it were true.

 First of all, Jamie Foxx, or Sean Penn(whatever he has to do with anything) or even Spike Lee never said Tarrentino couldn't use that word in his films. Not once.  Secondly, Spike Lee's problem, along with Tavis Smiley(and seemingly Redvector too or anyone who's gonna judge the movie without seeing it) is silly.  I'm curious if Redvector complained about the Hobbit or Jack Reacher when they were released with violence throughout it all or is it just the movies staring black people?  Moreover, people like Spike Lee hate the movie because they think it's something it isn't. The movie does not make a mockery of slavery or what black folks had to go through. In fact, it did the exact opposite.  Other than Amistad and Glory, what other movies has their been that shoes this part of our history?

That said, I do agree with the reviewer, but for reasons a lot of you can't understand and I'm not sure he can articulate. It's not to be insulting, but it's not easy to explain in a way most can understand. But the movie did do what it does really well, it just made ME cringe at some of the worse parts... And they weren't the violent or harsh slavery parts either. 

redvector 12/29/2012 12:43:25 PM

 My dislike of Jamie Foxx is only part of my problem with this film. If you go reread my post. My primary reason is we've just had a mass shooting of children and that Christmas day was the wrong time to release this movie.

makabriel 12/29/2012 1:16:22 PM

For the record, they did postpone the premier of Django because of the school shooting.  And, as horrible, despicable and utterly wrong that event was, life does move on.

doublec 12/29/2012 2:26:10 PM

 "Braveheart Trilogy"?

hanso 12/29/2012 4:41:20 PM

William Wallace doesnt die at the end.  They took his life but not his freedom.  The sequels deal with Wallace's freedom reanimating William's body to set the wrong things right.

TheRiffs 12/29/2012 4:52:03 PM

IMO i thought this movie was an A, but i do understand Robs points at the sane time. Reviews dont decide wether or not i see the movie or not, if the trailer shows me something i like then im sold. Django i would agree may not be considered the best film of the year but it was pure entertainment and now im off to see it again.

Shogunn2517 12/29/2012 6:49:09 PM

 Redvector, if you reread my post, you can see I asked you about the violence in The Hobbit or Jack Reacher, which also released this week because it's absolutely ridiculous for you to just point out Django Unchained because you don't like Jamie Foxx. And if you want to talk about Newtown, we can talk about Newtown, but to point at a movie or a video game or toy or whatever is silly.  It's a movie. It had absolutely nothing to do with hat tragedy. 

The Braveheart trilogy is the Mel Gibson movies, Braveheart, Braveheart Ii: The Patriot and Braveheart III: We Were Soldiers.  All the same thing pretty much. Mel Gibson goes back in time and kills badguys. 

Wiseguy 12/29/2012 7:14:39 PM

I say we stop the world everytime there's a shooting...... for about 4 weeks. No tv, radio, movies since most have some sort of violence or reference it. Also stop all book and comics sales. Newspapers too for that matter.

Les Miserables has the audacity to show an actual kid gunned down

Please stop with all the pc My condolences to all the victims' families but kids believe it or not get shot every day and roughly 100 per year are 12 or under. Because it's a mass shooting it makes it worse? Or is it because most of the daily shootings are inner city kids as opposed to the ones in Newtown?

wish 12/30/2012 12:15:13 AM

There has been way more violence, murders, and wars before films and video games ever existed than there has been since films and video games were invented so that arguement goes straight down a shithole so anyone thinking they are being smarter or holier by suggesting we get rid of violence in such things better think about that for a few seconds.......

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.