Mania Review: Dredd Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 49
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
XeroWarp 9/21/2012 4:18:26 PM

 On second thought, think i'll just wait for it on PBS.

jppintar326 9/21/2012 4:22:33 PM

 The 1995 version of Judge Dredd is a guilty pleasure.  To me, it was too similar to Stallone's far superior Demolition Man with Wesley Snipes and Sandra Bullock.  That movie had a stronger story and seemed a better fit for Stallone him than Judge Dredd.  I don't have any interest in this new movie because I just can't get excited.

DaForce1 9/21/2012 5:19:59 PM

 Fuck Stallone and his sh!t version of Judge Dredd. I say this as a fan of the comic book starting back in 1986 when I was introduced to it in my local comic book store. This version of Dredd is the correct one. Not only that, it was better than The Avengers. Yes, I went there. The story is tight, moves along a good pace, and the ultra-violence of Dredd's world is captured on screen for the first (and correctly too) time. 

You don't like bleak, dystopian futures? Then this isn't for you. The movie is set in a Fascist state, and you get enough cues at the beginning of the movie to realize this isn't going to be some clean and shiny future world complete with bad  one-liners, spandex, and Rob Schneider. 

This movie was essentially "Training Day" Judge Dredd style. That's how I'd boil it down into one sentence.

GoonofGotham 9/21/2012 6:00:17 PM

 I give Dredd an A- for bein nothing but great fun.

Never thought I would say it, but I enjoyed it more than all the big budget comic book movies from this year, TDKR included.

On the other hand, I give this review a C-

DaForce1 9/21/2012 7:33:50 PM

If anyone wants to read a really great review of the movie, head on over to i o 9 (sorry for the spacing, Mania doesn't like competition). Sorry, Rob, but as plenty have said here before, your reviews are seriously lacking and questionable.

 

zalder 9/21/2012 8:21:17 PM

Sigh...silly fun movies shoudl be judged the same as others and marked down for being simply silly fun.  Rob continue actually reviewing movies well and don't bow to the pressure to dumb things down for the crazy easily entertained masses.

Roqueja 9/21/2012 8:27:25 PM

Allow me a quick reiteration.  From what I've gleaned from the trailers, the plot is the same as Raid.  Cops enter hostile territory, door slams shut behind them, nefarious boss dude orders every no-goodnick in shouting distance to end cops in a permanent fashion, action, action, action, the only way out is to take out the nefarious boss dude, action, action, action.......

I may not have the plot from the trailers or reviews, but that is what was impressed upon me from what I have seen or read.  If it's a totally different plot great.  It isn't an overly used plot really, it's just that The Raid popped into my head while looking into Dredd.  I'm looking forward to seeing the slo-mo shots, they look pretty wicked.

hanso 9/22/2012 12:21:20 PM

 I thought it was pretty sweet.  Simple action flick with Dredd kicking ass all the way to the top. Only thing i didnt care for where the slomo effects.  Wouldve also liked to have seen more mutants in the building.

momitchell7 9/22/2012 3:12:28 PM

This ws one of the goriest movies that I've seen... Damn! I'm not a fan of recent horror movies, so I might be in the minority here, but bloody hell!

That said, I really enjoyed this - a lot. I didn't see it in 3D, but I wish I had and will probably see it again. It was easy to see that it would have been beautiful in 3D, as it already looked amazing in 2D - great visuals!

It would have been nice to see Mega City as portrayed in Stallones, with the mutants, the tech, scorched Earth, etc., but I understand the budget constraints. I hope this one does really well at the BO, so we get another, big budget version.

SOooo... if you're on the fence about seeing this, please go! That way in the next one, we can get an even bigger Dredd universe.

BTW - Olivia Thirlby looked quite nice in a few scenes!

InnerSanctum 9/22/2012 4:08:14 PM

 This has been getting pretty good reviews.  It has been compared to Raid: Redemption...which is what I suspected, but the "over the top" violence sounds like they are sticking close to the comic.  I'll definitely be giving this a look when it comes out on Bluray.  

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.