Mania Review: G.I. Joe: Retaliation Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 76
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
violator14 3/29/2013 7:57:22 AM

 I agree w this review in every word. The action was amazing. And I don't just mean the ninjas. The very special forces esque type action was very on par and very well done. But I still think the whole story could have been done so much better. Well the story itself I suppose could be as ridiculous as imaginable, but what I mean is that it's missing all the great things that made GI joe great.

 For me what made it so fun to watch was that it had a ton of great and very unique characters and abilities on BOTH sides. The Cobra side had a good feel to that tho w stormshadow, firefly, zartan, and cobra commander but still missing so many cool things.

Like how Zartan would always shapeshift into someone else instead of just being one person the entire time. And he also had his subgroup entourage,the Dreadnoks, who always followed him around and got bullied by him all the time. They had the Crimson twins where if one brother was hurt or ejaculating, the other brother would too. Cobra commander's personality was much more dynamic and interesting. He was diabolical but also very amused with his own evil. Snake eyes was much much better this time around without his mask lips, but in the comics/cartoon, he was a much more cooler deeper character who carried this spiritual aura about him. I don't get that at all from the movies. He's just this robot ninja type of dude who just carries out his missions with ninja awesomeness. Of course the whole Duke thing is pretty annoying too.  Fukkk idk...

violator14 3/29/2013 8:06:20 AM

 Oh and also the vast battles with the vehicles and jets was a key element in the cartoon. Hey tried it with this one but obviously due to budget restrictions, or the lame story of how here are only 5 GI joes now has it at only one joe vehicle destroying a few cobra vehicles. 

We also got all those great sub-characters that I'm too lazy to list and all their abilities that are missing from the films as i already mentioned. I mean I know a 2 hour movie can't have a bunch of characters and go into depth, but that's why you plan this shit out accordingly with deep thought and good production and turn this into a multiple movie franchise that is doable! For fukks sake! Why are we so much smarter than these studio people??!! Haha

TheMovieGuy28 3/29/2013 8:23:58 AM

SPOILERS

Okay, so, I will say I enjoyed it, but it was not as much fun as it could have been.

And, truth be told, I saw Olympus Has Fallen just the day before, and was more entertained with that film.

Here's my issue-if this film got pushed back for a year in order to catch some of the Channing Tatum star-rising kitch, and they added additional scenes with Tatum....SPOILERS
 

where the f*ck were those scenes???? The guy had like maybe 3 minutes of screen time. I mean, seriously, did they add a scene with Roadblock's kids? Was it the gun shooting scene? 

There was just, well, nothing memorable about this GI JOE. It was okay. As I said, I enjoyed it. But Fallen was much better. The action scenes, save for the mountainside cliff fight, were nothing new. And it all felt very PG-13.

Plus, I forgot about Snake Eyes' master. God his acting is horrible. those scenes were painful to watch.

And yes, Wyldstaar, Flint had no job. he was just there to freerun. Didn't he look cool freerunning?

FrozenFear 3/29/2013 8:37:44 AM

Ninjas fighting on the side of a mountain!!!! Oh, and a motorcyle that is also rocket grenade!!

monkeyfoot 3/29/2013 9:02:43 AM

Wish, I can appreciate where you are coming from. If I were heavily into the Joes I would be wringing my hands hoping it didn't disappoint me. I feel that for nearly every superhero movie where I'm familar with the comic. But on this I really don't care. From this (or Olympus) all I want is exactly what the trailers and commercials are showing me: big explosions and cool fist and gunfights .

iceknight52 3/29/2013 9:28:01 AM

Okay, based on all your feedback I'm planning on staying away from this one as much as possible. Appreciate the heads up. Maybe some day on Netflix when I'm bored out of my mind.

mellowdoux 3/29/2013 9:38:43 AM

 G.I Jooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooe...

violator14 3/29/2013 10:14:05 AM

 iceknight-it really isnt that bad. If ur up for a good action flick.... SOLELY for the action, you should check it out. THe mountain ninja scene really is one for the books.

Also, when Lady Jaye is in her workout clothes during a street scene, OH MY GOSH!!!!! be aware... instant boner alert!!

GothicStorm 3/29/2013 10:47:08 AM

It's a movie based on a 1980s toy-line and cartoon for God's sake! If you want the classic blue and red lazer fighting and goofy plot then get on Netflix and watch the old cartoon. Hollywood has turned all of us into zombies expecting more and more and more.

Now, with that said, I will take my 12 and 10 year-old sons to see it...if they tell me they hated it then I'll let you all know and eat my humble pie. Until then, your reviews of this overgrown kid's movie are invalid to me.

:-P

GothicStorm 3/29/2013 10:48:44 AM

My 16 year-old daughter want to go see it as well, so I'll post each of their reviews after we return.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.