Mania Review: Green Lantern Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 40 of 137
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >  >>  
karas1 6/17/2011 8:59:53 AM

I think it's not a DC vs Marvel thing, it's an "is this movie good?" thing.  90% of the public out there couldn't care less if the character comes from Marvel or DC.  They don't read comic books anyway.

90% of the public had never heard of Iron Man.  They knew nothing about the character when the movie came out.  But it was a really good movie!  It hit all the right notes, had good FX, was written well and Downey knocked it out of the park with his portrayal of Tony Stark.

Now, Green Lantern may be considered one of the big guns among DC fans but ask the average Joe on the street about him and they'll say "Who?"  He doesn't have the brand recognition of Batman or Superman.  So to attract viewers this movie will have to be good.  It will have to get good word of mouth.

It doesn't help that there are so many superhero movies out this summer.  People who have already seen Thor and X-Men First Class may just get bored with the genre and save their money for a movie that's a little more different.

I'll go see it, but I may wait for Tuesday when my local theater has $5 matinees.

redvector 6/17/2011 9:07:38 AM

I'm glad that someone else feels like I do about DK's box office benefited more from Ledger's performance and  untimely death. Take that out of DK and it just isn't that good and wouldn't have made half the money it did. If I were a betting man I'd give the edge to Avengers. Because of the build up to something that's never been done before in film, a shared universe superhero movie.

kswizzle 6/17/2011 9:16:48 AM

 I loved Thor. Green Lantern was...well...eh. I put it on par with Spiderman 3, wasting opportunities, poor narrative. But in it's feel it's more like Spiderman 1. But we all know what that means...GL2 could equal Spiderman 2 (the only one I like).

Wiseguy 6/17/2011 9:54:23 AM

I'm much more a Marvel guy than DC but I love them both. If you love comic books, superhero comic books, traditional Mavel/DC suoerhero comic books you will love or at least like this movie. Fuck Nolan and his Batman, that's the furthest departure from a comic book film there is but that's why so many people like. For us that still love comics then you'll be pleased with this.

I loved this film, LOVED IT. I'm a GL fan and even I could live with the changes they made. I'd put it almost right up there with THOR, a couple of steps behind maybe. I just don't get the hate but too many people have the same disease Stan Marsh was diagnosed with in South Park, C.A.

Btw, the 3D was awesome, the film looked pretty terrific

I'm already begging for a sequel. Sinestro Wars baby.

 

Wiseguy 6/17/2011 9:57:26 AM

OMG, I'll repeat this but Transformers 3 is going to rule the box office. The 3D is just pure magnificence and the action is just Bay at his best. This film  is going to eff Harry Potter right up the poop shute and through your eye balls

jedibanner 6/17/2011 10:14:18 AM

Well, it didn't take long before someone mentionned TDK and how it's ''apparently not on par with the comic'', which couldn't be further from the truth.

But hey, I don't hide it that I'm a Marvel guy but try to see comic movies as much as I can (still trying to erase the experience of Green Hortet).

The idea though that opinions may vary is one thing but, when the general consensus of an opinion seems to grow more and more, that's a sign.

Millions and millions and millions of people loved TDK and the new Star Trek, fans and non-fans alike. A small quantity of people didn't. It's your right and it's fair...but when most people appear to like the same thing regardless of the background or knowledge of these people, it usually means something.

Like Karas1 mentioned, GL might be knowned in the geek workd but outside of this, most common mortal isn't appealed by this unless it gets a great word of mouth and the movie is worth seeing.

So far, GL is far from that so, all this to say, the movie is getting what it deserves and it's sad for the comic world (but it's DC so for me, it's not as sad).

flyinroo 6/17/2011 10:34:35 AM

Like a lot of people here, I am more Marvel than DC. But that doesn't matter to me over all...I want a good movie. I'll catch Green Lantern and give it a chance, but from what I'm reading, I don't expect much. As movies go, DC doesn't have a good track record at all. Nolan's Batman movies are incredible imo and I can not wait for the next one and hate that it will be his last. Superman has never been one of my favorite superheroes, but I enjoyed the first 2 Christopher Reeve movies, and, believe it or not...I did like Superman Returns. I really want to see Man of Steel, I think it will bring new life to Superman and reinvgorate a JLA movie. I personally am not at all excited about a JLA movie, considering the way it has been approached. Marvel was brilliant in how they have moved towards The Avengers. Building movies for each character that have all been very good, and then bringing them together in one movie. But we see that on the DC side, they want to make Batman, Superman, and Green Lantern...but not tie those movies into a JLA movie is just crazy, and bad business. So to all the haters of all the "haters", I have to say that, though some movies based on Marvel characters have been bad, at least Marvel studios have set the bar for how comics should be brought to the big screen and please their fans.

gopherblaster 6/17/2011 10:40:52 AM

 Who cares about Marvel Vs DC??? When these movies sucks we all lose, the fans.

Also Avengers out grossing DKR? Who gives a crap? Since when do dollars dictate a good movie or not?  Titanic was number 1 all time for a few years

InnerSanctum 6/17/2011 10:44:50 AM

 I'll start off by saying that GL is one of my favorite DC heroes (next to the Golden Age clan).  I've read the early Green Lantern/Green Arrow comics since I was a kid.  Loved Hal.  Tolerated Kyle.  

I'm sorry, I could care less if it was Marvel or DC.   A bad movie is a bad movie.  And, GL was a bad movie.  I don't know how anyone could seriously defend this flick.  I think just about every review has hit on what made this a stinker.  CGI does not a good movie make.  And, even if they'd cast another actor, this movie would have still stunk up the room (I think Bradley Cooper lucked out on this one.)  I wouldn't hold out hope for a sequel.  Sinestro should have been the villian in this first film.  The animated film was much better than this tripe.  And, they introduced the GL Corps and also managed to work in a solid motivation for Sinestro turning on the Guardians.  Thor was far superior and even it wasn't close to being near as good as XMFC (I give Thor a B and XMFC an A.)  I hope Cap is the one that stands above all others.  And, finally...don't let Reynolds near another comic book movie.  Not ONE of his ventures has even been remotely good.  

How you hate on Nolan is beyond me.  He owned the Batman franchise.  Both his Bat films reign as the two best superhero movies made.  Might be why so many people loved them.  It was really not a departure at all.  The other Bat films were a departure.  Nolan just brought a sense or realism that was badly needed (and has been portrayed in various Bat stories.  If you ever actually read some of the graphic novels.)  The Joker was spot on.  Even with the changes in origin.  He was dangerous, scarey and darkly humourous.  

Say what you will, but this WB  film was a Green Turd.  How do you make such a fantastic character such an unlikable, whiney jerk? How do you make him so boring?  You really have to try. Or, don't and hope that fanboys will eat up what ever #%^# you serve them.  This is Spidey 3 bad.  Maybe worse. 

  

 

SarcasticCaveman 6/17/2011 10:51:55 AM

 I'm still going to check it out.  Rarely have I ever agreed with any grade given by Rob (no offense, man, just different tastes apparently), and considereing that the most I know about GL is from the animated movies and a high school buddy, I think I will still enjoy it...plus I love the cast.  

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.