Mania Review: Green Lantern Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 51 - 60 of 137
<<  <  3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >  >>  
InnerSanctum 6/17/2011 11:26:34 AM

 Why is DC doing a massive reboot of the their books?  Why not just go the Marvel Ultimates route?  So, will all the stories from the past become cannon?  Not something that would draw me back into the comics.  

70's from the "average joe"?  I'm not trusting that rating because the audience rating on Hangover 2 was 94 percent vs. the critics of 35 percent on RT.  And, that was one of the worst films I've seen in a long time.  Even paid off fanboy sites like AICN are panning the flick.  I have to say, I've only read maybe four posts that have liked this film on various sites.  Not one has given a reason why (Harry Knowles gave a weak effort and, of course, tied it into his childhood. Why I even visit that site is a mystery.  But, I digress.)  Fanboy or not....this movie stunk.  I could list off why, but I think Rob and many other critics have hit it on the nose.  And, I usually think Rob is rather generous in some of his reviews.  For anyone who liked it....what was good about it in your opinion?   Is it simply because it was GL on the screen?  Because, despite my enthusiasm to see a GL film, this was just a bad movie.  And, I'm an average joe who doesn't vote on Rotten Tomatoes (much like plants, I think that number can be manipulated.  Or, people really aren't that discriminating in their tastes.)  

I'm very disapointed.  Not just that I feel this is a failed attempt, but the fact it impacts all comic book related movies in the future.  Eventually, the movie audience is going to lose interest and it will be the fans that lose.  I'm keeping my fingers and toes crossed for CA and the Avengers.  I think those will be the films that decide the future of comic book movies that maintain the comic book feel.  

shac2846 6/17/2011 11:33:07 AM

 Actually InnerSanctum they are acknowledging previous story arcs from the past. Newsarama has been doing interviews with the writers of the various books and they have all stated this. In fact the first round of bat books will use the killing joke in the new story somehow. If you haven't you should go to Newsarama and see the list of books that are coming out in september. There will likely be some duds but there are a whole lot of the 52 book launch that look really good. Which is another reason why this GL movie reception is bumming me out. If the flick was successful it could have gotten people interested in DC's new launch. 

ElBaz13 6/17/2011 11:36:51 AM

@innersanctum

No Bat-nipples. Not sure why you bring that abonimation up. The Batman I like is the 90s animated version. It took from Burton's vision and established him in a DCU and great comicbook elements that didn't make it "realistic" a la Nolan (see Clayface). I would grab elements of all to make a great Bat-flick. Burton's look and sound. Nolan's action and cast of actors. Geoff Johns as consultant to make a good DCU story. That would be a good Bat-flick.

@shac2846

Sure, Dark Knight raked in cash without the shared universe thing. Hey if you like it, be my guest. I said this many time, I prefer the DCU Batman.

SarcasticCaveman 6/17/2011 11:39:41 AM

 I don't know, ElBaz13, I'm not sure I generally liked Burton's overall look...it may be closer in some ways to the comic, but I don't want any modern super hero movie taking place in a city that perpetually stuck on a winters day in the 1930's.  Just my two cents.

jmw2814 6/17/2011 11:45:10 AM

I am a huge GL fan and I thought it was great. It was a fun movie. My only gripe was the music seemed off at times. But I enjoyed the hell out of it.

InnerSanctum 6/17/2011 11:58:14 AM

 shac2846:  Thanks for directing me to the site.  I'm curious, I didn't see anything about the Justice Society and how they fit into a relaunched five year super hero time frame.  Interesting.  Younger looking heroes.  I might check out the JLA.  However, spandex heroes kind of lost me about a decade ago.  

InnerSanctum 6/17/2011 12:02:20 PM

 Actually, it wasn't that long ago.  I can't remember when Morrison took over the X Men.  However, I've mostly just picked up the occasional graphic novel.  I enjoy a good self contained story.  

shac2846 6/17/2011 12:06:17 PM

 I hear you. I got back into comics with Grant Morrison's Justice League. I mostly get trades now but I'm going to give this new DC launch a try just to see where it goes. And yeah, the JSA is one of the only things I think they're keeping in the dark for now but I don't think they're scrapping it just letting it rest until the launch is underway. 

SarcasticCaveman 6/17/2011 12:09:58 PM

 I liked a lot of the writing that Morrison did with the X-Men, but I wish he would find a new artist to collaborate with.  Seriously, in Grant Morrison's X-Men, WHY did Wolverine look like a Latino 50's greaser?  Seriously, he looked like he would have cut the T-Birds in half as they're midway through singing "Grease Lightning".

InnerSanctum 6/17/2011 12:15:39 PM

 SarcasticCaveman: You made me literally laugh out loud.  I had a lot of problems with his run on the series.  Primarily, his focus on the secondary characters.  I also hated the changes he made in the Beast.  Turning him into a giant cat just didn't sit well with me.  He even used a litter box.  I loved the iconic look of the old, blue furry Beast.  But, during that time, I'd bounce around from title to title.  I loved Geof's affection to the past.  His JSA was a favorite.  Interesting to see him involved in a project that is rebooting a lot of titles.  Anyway, with the cost of comics increasing I found myself spending more for them then I was getting out of them.  So, now I just wait to hear the good word on a series and pick it up in trade form.  Always open to recommendations.  

<<  <  3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.