Mania Review: Green Lantern Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 61 - 70 of 137
<<  <  4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >  >>  
Inferno 6/17/2011 12:25:42 PM

After poorly reviewed films like Daredevil, Electra, Batman and Robin, Catwoman and Fantastic Four to name a few, i'm surprised you people think that this will slow down the industry's intentions to release more comic based films.

Let's face it, as long as those movies make money they will always keep making them. Look at Spider-man and Pirates of the Carribean, for example. Hell, even Terminator Salvation was made after Terminator 3.

My friends and I are going to watch it tonight despite these reviews because I loved The watchmen despite what the critics said.

Innersanctum, Jay garrick and Alan Scott were replaced by Barry Allen and Hal Jordan years ago and that increased sales. So did Wally West replacing Barry Allen and Dick Grayson replacing Bruce Wayne. There have been changes for years so DC's relauch in September is nothing new. Besides, Superman: Earth One is still on the bestsellers list and was from day one. There's a reason the editiors ultimately decided to update these books.

ElBaz13 6/17/2011 12:37:49 PM

Ha ha ha! I hate the cat-like Beast too!

And yes, the Grant Morrison run artist was Frank Quitely. Fun artist but not meant for X-men.

 

redvector 6/17/2011 12:45:27 PM

I agree about 3D until they improve the tech it's just not worth the extra price.

goldeneyez 6/17/2011 1:50:36 PM

  I can't find who said it, but someone said Warners should drop everything and just focus on Superman Batman. I couldn't disagree more. I think probably the things that are most important are Story, Director, and Actor in that order. If you have a crappy story, it wouldn't matter if Steven Spielburg himself directed it or someone with the acting chops of Harrison Ford (in his youth) starred in it.

A well written story will get you past mediocre direction and acting talent. Warner could decide to make a moive about Detective Chimp tomorrow and if the story was tight with a decent director and actors they could probably make a hit... as opposed to taking a well known property (Superman Returns which I actually liked) with a week story decent actor and decent director. Some of it is luck planing too. Imagine what would have happened to Ironman if it opended the same weekend as Avatar (Giant Blue Smurfs as opposed to element bending folks).

I really feel like you have got to start with a good story if you want to go anywhere meaningful... then again there have been some turdtastic movies storywise that have made tons of cash (Transformers for me... Star Trek for Karas1, Independence Day, etc.)

SarcasticCaveman 6/17/2011 2:03:44 PM

Agreed, goldeneyez.  Case in point in theaters right now, Super 8.  Good story, good director, capable and mostly unknown/underexposed actors in the major roles.  I really enjoyed it anyway.  I'm not saying the dude from Friday Night Lights or Noah Emmerich are unknowns, just not huge star power like you expect summer blockbusters to have.  Warner Bros. should definitely strive toward finding good stories for their characters.

Kadet2002 6/17/2011 2:09:00 PM

Who should play Thanos?

aucturas 6/17/2011 3:16:41 PM

i dont know why everyone loves the marvel movies, cause they make money, really , is that the reason.  the x-men films stand as one of my biggest dissapointments in movie history, ive never liked iron man and the studio ruined spiderman with number 3.  I think comic movies need to be just like the comics or whats the point of seeing it, call it something else, cause what ive seen, there has been no x-men movies in my opinion.  DC has its flaws, like superman returns and batman and robin, but in general there better movies than marvel.  batman begins, TDK, the first two batman in 88 and 90, of course superman 1 and 2, watchmen not to mention the best animated universe you could hope for.  I thought green lantern was good, not the best thing in the world, but i see all these critics dissing the movie cause it should have been written more for the masses then fans of the comic, screw that, i want a movie for the fans. and on a side note, i know its not a comic movie, but my all time most hated movie in existance is Avatar, piece of crap

Jasinner 6/17/2011 4:18:22 PM

Let me first say I like Ryan Renolds, but I think he is the primal flaw with this movie. I am going to see it in an hour so I will admit I am prejudging, just like 90% of the people who have commented so far.

With comic movies that have made the critics and fanboys happy the lead actors were right for the part, and mostly unknown. Hell, aside from Jackie Earl Haley and Jason Patrick I can't even remember the names of the other actors in Watchmen, and I watched Scott Pilgrim four times before I realized "hey, the vegan is Superman!" I think when a character already caries a heavy mythos if you put an actor in the role who is already well known and has his own mythos it detracts from the story. Most of the folks I work with don't know anything about Green Lantern, but they all know who Ryan Reynolds is. Sometimes a big star is the right person for the job, lets face it Patrick Stewart is Professor X, Robert Downey Jr is Tony Stark/Iron Man, but Ryan Reynolds just isnt Hal, he's not Hal! Genre fans had been watching Stewart as Picard in a mentor/leadership role for years on TNG, and Downey had been in constant trouble for his drinking and partying betraying his talents, but now your telling me Van Wilder is gonna be the stick in the mud Hal Jordan. I can see him as Kyle or even Guy but he's not Hal.

I'm going to try not to think of the pantless Van standing on the roof of his dorm, or the fat guy in Just Friends, but when I saw Paralax in the preview I kept thinking "It looks so ANGRY!"

Jasinner 6/17/2011 4:21:25 PM

 And one last thing about Mr. Reynolds. Hasn't he already misplayed a comic book role twice!? Hannibal King in Blade 3 and Wade/Deadpool in Wolverine origins. 

InnerSanctum 6/17/2011 4:26:12 PM

 Jainner:  Yes, Reynolds is a curse to comic book movies.  

<<  <  4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.